Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Calling all destroyers!
First things first: yes, it's a silly title and a daft, overblown cover but like everything else about this album you just can't help loving it.
Bolan's penultimate album reflects his new fame at the time as a TV star and punk godfather. As always, the tunes themselves don't stray too far from the T-Rex formula, but they're packaged with such energy and verve that...
Published on 14 April 2003 by P. Sanders

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bolan in 1976
Futuristic Dragon: After "Bolan's Zip Gun", this was a welcome return to form. This is the second album without the production talents of long time Producer Tony Visconti. Songs like "All Alone", "Calling All Destroyers", and "Jupiter Liar" sound very weak and underproduced; while songs like "Theme for a Dragon" and...
Published on 21 Nov. 2001 by James Choma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Calling all destroyers!, 14 April 2003
By 
P. Sanders "prhsuk" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon: Remastered (Audio CD)
First things first: yes, it's a silly title and a daft, overblown cover but like everything else about this album you just can't help loving it.
Bolan's penultimate album reflects his new fame at the time as a TV star and punk godfather. As always, the tunes themselves don't stray too far from the T-Rex formula, but they're packaged with such energy and verve that you feel Bolan's fresh excitement.
"Casual Agent" and "Chrome Sitar" are full of life, while "Calling all Destroyers" with its whooping sirens and thundering gallop is as fun as it is overblown. The strings and general production on the album are very good too. Despite its simple 12-bar blues structure and lyrics, "New York City" is a fun glam-stomper - especially when the gospel backing singers cluck like muppets (this is a good thing).
Also great are the extra tracks: "London Boys" is another stomper with Bolan looking back at his youthful days. "Laser Love" is a fantastic anthemic single, while "Life's an Elevator" is surprisingly tender.
Underrated. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc returns to top form, 10 May 2009
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon (Audio CD)
Although both "Zinc Alloy" & "Zip Gun" which preceeded this album had some high points & showed Marc's willingness to experiment & attempt to innovate with a funkier, rock / soul fusion sound, they were both overall lacklustre in comparison to what had gone before.
"Futuristic Dragon" however, for me, is a real return to form. This has some cracking tracks (I absolutley love "Calling All Destroyers", what a belting song that is !)& paved the way for the excellent "Dandy" album.
In my humble opinion, this album was the first step in Marc's revival, which continued with "Dandy" & was sadly curtailed by his death.
This record is sadly, often overlooked but really is a Bolan gem - tracks like "Casual Agent" & "Sensation Boulevard" , "Ride My Wheels" & "My Little Baby" are uplifting, often saucy fun - this is a tremendous record. Don't let anyone tell you different !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bolan in 1976, 21 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon (Audio CD)
Futuristic Dragon: After "Bolan's Zip Gun", this was a welcome return to form. This is the second album without the production talents of long time Producer Tony Visconti. Songs like "All Alone", "Calling All Destroyers", and "Jupiter Liar" sound very weak and underproduced; while songs like "Theme for a Dragon" and "New York City" demonstrate Bolan was getting much more comfortable in the Producer's chair amd put out good material. To me, the stand out track is the instrumental "Theme For a Dragon"; a powerhouse instrumental track that showcases a really good mix of violins, violas and cellos behind the band. There's some very good stuff on this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Bolan-produced album, 7 Aug. 2008
By 
D. Hanson "DaveT" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon (Audio CD)
Bolan must have been encouraged in 1975 by the success of two singles he put out, "New York City" and "Dreamy lady", both of which made the UK Top 30. Accordingly both find a place on his album of the following year, "Futuristic dragon". Oddly although most of the tracks that make up this album had been sitting around for more than a year there is a feeling of unity here; the album is more cohesive than its 2 predecessors. One can sense Bolan's re-awakened confidence listening to this record as he started his comeback that ended so cruelly in his death the following year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc Bolan Bounces Back, 3 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon (Audio CD)
Released when Marc Bolan was up credibility gulch without a paddle after two painful years of drawn out commercial decline, this is a hidden gem featuring a set of very strong songs including Sensation Boulevard, All Alone, Jupiter Liar, Calling All Destroyers, Casual Agent, Ride My Wheels, Chrome Guitar, Dawn Storm, My Little Baby and his two brilliant plastic soul singles, New York City and Dreamy Lady. I first bought this on vinyl soon after it came and Bolan was then so unpopular that I did not dare by it from our local super-cool record shop run by hippies for fear of being ridiculed and instead ordered it covertly through the local Co-op. What shame! Almost 40 years on, it is one I return to regularly and it is still growing on me. A great deal about Bolan was misunderstood in the 1970s after his initial run of hits but, as the ultimate realisation of his interstellar soul period, this is an absolutely fantastic genre busting record. It may even be his best album. Very highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bolan back on form, 1 Oct. 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon (Audio CD)
Although both "Zinc Alloy" & "Zip Gun" which preceeded this album had some high points & showed Marc's willingness to experiment & attempt to innovate with a funkier, rock / soul fusion sound, they were both overall lacklustre in comparison to what had gone before.
"Futuristic Dragon" however, for me, is a real return to form. This has some cracking tracks (I absolutley love "Calling All Destroyers", what a belting song that is !)& paved the way for the excellent "Dandy" album.
In my humble opinion, this album was the first step in Marc's revival, which continued with "Dandy" & was sadly curtailed by his death.
This record is sadly, often overlooked but really is a Bolan gem - tracks like "Casual Agent" & "Sensation Boulevard" , "Ride My Wheels" & "My Little Baby" are uplifting, often saucy fun - this is a tremendous record. Don't let anyone tell you different !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so Futuristic, 19 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon: Remastered (Audio CD)
The deceptive title of this album aludes to a concept album.It is with great wisdom that it was never to be a concept.It is merely the gold galatic raver giving us a handful of well constructed and well produced studio gems.Master of the instant song.Stand out tracks are All alone, My little Baby, New York City sees Marc in New York with the line(Did you ever see a woman coming out of New York City with a frog in her hand)The wonderful backing vocals of Gloria Jones ad to the atmosphere of this album.The extended play of Disc 1includes the disappionting single London Boys and the Marc gem Laser Love with a great guitar riff no doubt stolen from a Hendrix record.The bonus Disc 2 is works in progress and out takes Do buy it and wonder in amazment at the master of Bolan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon: Remastered (Audio CD)
Bought for my T Rex mad boyfriend, it is a very good album with more songs to learn and love from Marc Bolan. If you get the chance, see T Rextasy to hear these songs played live and loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit ropey, 14 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon (MP3 Download)
Marcs decline in the mid 70's is understandable considering how bad by his standards this record was. Firstly, and most importantly, the production is so awful that it makes it almost unlistenable. Even through the current re-master you can still hear the weediness of it. Very brittle and tinny sounding indeed. Secondly marcs over-use of cheesy synth pads. Whereas his earlier stuff had some glorious, rich string patterns, these synths are just plain horrible. Thirdly the inclusion of gloria jones, whose tuneless screeching undermines the whole record

And then theres the songs - i know marc was doing a lot of drugs around this period and that definately couldnt have helped him. with the exception of 2 tracks, this is a pretty awful bunch of songs, even the most die-hard of bolan fans must see that.

the 2 aforementioned songs are what saves this album from absolute dross. The single 'new york city' is a throwback to his earlier work and is a fabulous little song. Amazingly, the production seems to come alive on this one track. The second is 'jupiter liar' which again, is a great song which could have sat nicely on 'the slider' were it not for the godawful production and nasty synth patterns. Marcs guitar is evident but he has the wrong sound - if he had only cranked it up and layered the song it would have sounded much meatier. Instead its kind of screeching away not saying much

I fell out of love with bolan after 'zinc alloy' which was so bad it doesnt even bear mentioning - this album continued in the same vein really, saved only by the 2 songs i mentioned. Forget this and get his first four albums plus the tyrannosaurus rex stuff - they will make you a believer if you arent already - this wont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have this again after a number of years, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futuristic Dragon (Audio CD)
This is an album I had years ago so wanted to get it again
It just as I remembered it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futuristic Dragon: Remastered
Futuristic Dragon: Remastered by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews