Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good attempt at bringing the film to virtual reality
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers video game consists of a set of scenarios that you have to fight through. The game is very closely linked to the film with each scenario representing a key moment of the film such as the battle with the cave troll at Balin's Tomb. Most of the scenarios can be played with Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas. As your character completes the...
Published on 26 May 2003 by Mike

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fun but short game
I've always assued a game that is heavily advertised on tv and used the original actors voices to incorporate into it would always be a full game of at least 4 stars. Unfortunately i was wrong.
Firstly, i'd like to say that i had a lot of fun at times playing this game. The good points are:
- its excellent stress relieving game on certain levels as it is...
Published on 11 July 2003 by rosswales


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good item, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox) (Video Game)
Good item would recommend to anyone. Works perfectly, excellent condition and had no problems installing and running it etc. A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as the final game, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox) (Video Game)
This game is a good Xbox game which does function on the Xbox 360 console, but is not as strong as it's successor, the Return Of The King game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hack 'n' Slash Heaven!, 17 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox) (Video Game)
Electronic Arts like so many before them could have taken this licence and released a title that blatantly cashes in on the name, producing a lacklustre bland title with only passing resemblances to the characters and plotlines of the film.
They didn't. Other developers take note. This is how a movie conversion should be done! Its a cliche maybe, but in this game, you really do play the movie. Quite literally infact, as one minute you're watching a key scene from the movie, and then almost seamlessly the film transforms to game graphics and you're fighting in the scene.
What you get for your money, is lovingly recreated scenes from the film, amazing graphics, the best use of sound I've heard on a game, including all of the original actors voice talents, great gameplay, hoardes of blood thirsty orcs and other middle earth denizens to slice and dice your way through.
The action is fast and furious and sometimes there are so many enemies on screen you can, forgive the pun, lose the plot. You start off with very basic moves, but in the best gaming tradition, you can learn more moves as you progress into the game, culminating in some great combos.
Add to all that character development, choice of three characters, Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli, all with their own strengths and weaknesses, the unlockable extras (a nice touch), and what you have is a whole lot of fun. Ok, so its not the most cerebral of games but it is a helluva lot of fun which is what gaming all about!
My only reservation is the longevity of the game but thats a minor point and the only reason I gave this 4 not 5 stars. A quality title and one of the best Xbox games around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an amazing game, 4 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox) (Video Game)
I disagree with everyone who has written reviews on amzon. This is an amazing game with the detail to sword skills is brilliant. You can tell the creators have choosen strengths and weaknesses for each character. Gimli is strong, Legolas has amazing arrows skills and Aragon has gr8 sword skills. this is a fantastic game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance, 17 Mar 2003
By 
M D Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox) (Video Game)
This is the perfect example of style over substance. It looks absolutely breathtaking, and the way the film clips at the start of each level fade into cutscenes is amazing. Sadly, that is the only spark of originality to be found here. The gameplay, if you can call it such, is one-dimmensional, mindless button-bashing of the most tedious kind, and no amount of good looks can save it. There's about as much depth here as in an arcade game from the early Eighties; some people might think that's a good thing, but I like to use my brain once in a while during a game, rather than let it stagnate as it did here. A half-hearted attempt has been made to add an RPG element, whereby you can improve a character's abilities by earning experience points, but it does nothing to alter the fact that 99% of this game is spent hacking and slashing and hacking and slashing... you don't even need to see the screen, really, just keep pressing the attack button and you'll be alright. Considering how much money EA paid for the licence, you would have thought they could have spared a little for the development process. It'll be a hit, no doubt, just because of that licence, but don't let that fool you into thinking this is anything other than a turgid, hackneyed piece of rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome While it lasts, 23 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox) (Video Game)
The LOTR's has gone to be the best film of this century and the games doesn't disapoint. All of your favourite characters from the film Aragorn, Leglos and Gimli are playable and on completion you can also play as Isildur the legendary character seen at the start of the Fellowship.
The game itself it great. The action is intense and been able to used ranged weapons (Aragorn/Legolas-Bow,Gilma-Axes) adds a new dimension to gameplay. The game itself it short and can be completed in an afternoon. After you complete the mission you can play a mission where you work your way up the orthanc at Isengard fighting Uraki and Trolls as you go.
This is a great game, no question! But the fact that it is so short means I only gave it a rating of 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont work, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox) (Video Game)
dont work arrived as stated didnt cost hardly anythiing but it dont work on xbox 360 so it was a wast of money dont work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the lord of the rings the two towers, 17 Feb 2006
By A Customer
the lord of the rings the two towers is an awfull game giving it one stars is still too much if I could I wouldent even give it that it's so terrible the game bores my to death I would try and sell it but I would be wasting my time I probaley would not sell it's so bad so do not buy this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (XBox)
£28.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews