Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2014
This CD brings The Jam at their very best. Much criticised at the time for being revivalists, they were nevertheless my favourite of the first generation punk bands (and I used that word unequivocally). I saw them live in 1977 and 1978, and this CD captures the excitement well.Their slogan Fire and Skill is so true, as both the Peel Sessions and the live recordings bear testament. Disc 1 has the Jam in the early stage, with a raw, power pop edge to them. The second CD is more nuanced and melodic, pointing the way to The Style Council and Weller's solo work. Never embarrassed to show a love of both Doctor Feelgood as well as Motown, besides being inspired by seeing The Pistols and The Clash, the band also perform several cover versions with their usual gusto.
This is the power trio at its best. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I knew of The Jam in the mid 80's thanks to my elder brother. At the time their sound didn't do much for me. In the mid 90's I got into Paul Weller solo which led me back to The Jam.

This collection of Beeb recordings is a must for anyone out there who has been a fan of one of the best bands to ever release an album.

As a side not the Paul Weller solo BBC double disc is also a great purchase if you like this one.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
these recordings are probably some of the last officially available
more live albums will see the light of day eventually
this is an alternate greatest hits, so essential for jam fans
I saw them live in '79 and an edited show is included here
with no in the city, all around the world, a bomb or English rose
it would be good to have the complete concert
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
It's the JAM need I say more!........... O.K. I will then, if you've heard 'em before reminisce and enjoy,if you ain't and you're new to Rick Buckler, Bruce Foxton and the other geezer these live BBC sessions will wet the appetite and before you now it you'll be craving for a bit of JAM.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
Fantastic double cd featuting a great variety of Jam tunes. Some tunes appear more than once (different recordings of course) so perhaps they could have replaced those songs with others, but this is still a great double cd and sounds great in the car on a rainy drive.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
Highly recomended to any fan of The Jam; high quality, but at the same time energetic, stripped down, and raw.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2016
I don't really need to leave a comment. Probably one of the best British bands ever, fronted by the legend, Paul Weller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Cannot fault anything recorded by The Jam. Loved them back in the day and still love their music today - Great Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
Great to hear The Jam as they were, brought back great memories of seeing them live in 1980.Any fan of punchy, angry young man, punk/new wave music will enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2016
Not as good as the Paul Weller at the BBC , cd 1, 2 stars cd 2, 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)