Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhythm and passion
This is quite simply Peter Gabriel's masterpiece. It encapsulates all that is magical about his music; his love of rhythm, his ear for melody, his love of all musical forms, especially those of Africa. The music is eery and passionate, quiet and immense, bold and beautiful. No home is complete without a copy of this work; I bought it on vinyl in 1989 and then again on...
Published on 27 Oct 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent listen
Didn't buy this for myself but got it for my Mum's Christmas. I have heard it and although not my thing, it is undoubtably well produced with some atmospheric tracks.
Published 18 months ago by Caleyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars At last the MP3 version is available!, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this album many years ago on vinyl. Glad its finally a download. Superb music with Peter Gabriel at his best. Will take you to another place. I firmly recommend you buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passion, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion: Music For The Last Temptation Of Christ (Audio CD)
This is an unusual composition, which absorbs you. You really can't anticipate the music and its really evocative and makes you imaging images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent listen, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion: Music For The Last Temptation Of Christ (Audio CD)
Didn't buy this for myself but got it for my Mum's Christmas. I have heard it and although not my thing, it is undoubtably well produced with some atmospheric tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Stephen Oliver "Stephen Oliver" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passion: Music For The Last Temptation Of Christ (Audio CD)
Wonderfully atmospheric, really captures the mood of the time, the place and the story. Moving, even though I haven't even seen the film - makes me want to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electronics and Jesus - quite a combination, 24 Jun 2009
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion: Music For The Last Temptation Of Christ (Audio CD)
The name of Peter Gabriel probably isn't that high up on most people's lists of innovators in electronic music (it certainly wasn't on mine until hearing this), yet on "Passion" that's exactly what he is.

It's absolutely no exaggeration to say that this is on a par with Brian Eno's best work (and sound-wise there are some similarities too, although Gabriel's less of a minimalist). "Passion" is in parts also reminiscent of Michael Mann's collaborations with Tangerine Dream. Some of Richard H. Kirk's madder, eastern-styled work also springs to mind at certain points, as does a certain Richard D. James (check "Gethsemane").

Yes, it is THAT good. It's genius in fact: although this soundtrack fits perfectly with the film from which it is taken (The Last Temptation of Christ [DVD]) it doesn't dominate it. Even if you've never seen the film, it works as an album in its own right. Plus, this is a model example of how to incorporate so-called "world music" in a way that is truly innovative without ramming it down people's throats á la Paul Simon.

One small complaint though - a lot of the more mentalist world music stuff from the film itself isn't on here, although those tracks do appear on a separate various artists CD called Passion: Sources. Should've made it a double CD in my opinion. Fans of the film may want to buy both titles to avoid disappointment.

A five star rating nevertheless since not only is this a superlative film soundtrack, it's also a benchmark ambient electronic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest soundtracks ever composed., 13 April 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Passion - Remastered (Audio CD)
'Passion' is the brilliant soundtrack to Martin Scorsese's 'The Last Temptation of Christ'. Here, Gabriel extends on both his forays into world music & his previous soundtrack to Alan Parker's 'Birdy'.
I thought Gabriel's music worked very well in the film- which is extremely misunderstood & caused controversy with religious groups who appointed themselves God. So, 'Passion' was overlooked due to the sidestepping of the film by cinemas & studios & it was viewed as a diversion for Gabriel before he recorded the 'proper' follow-up to 'So'.
What I think is great about this music is its ethnic range- taking in music from all cultures & faiths. This is the sound of praise not unlimited to white-Christians. I think it is music that entrances with its holy intentions- something you don't need a priest for...It is also one of the great composed soundtracks of all time- up there with Phillip Glass's 'Koyaanisquatsi', Michael Nyman's 'The Piano' & Lisa Gerrard's soundtrack work on various films (& her work in Dead Can Dance). Even if you don't like the film- which I think stands next to 'The Gospel According to St Matthew' (Pasolini) as THE Christ film- this music is entrancing. It creates its own ambience in the mind & is music that really touches the soul & takes it to other places...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a stunning piece of music, 16 Mar 2008
I first heard this on a friends CD player many years ago and when i finally invested in oen of my own I had to have this. the texture of the music brings you to the heat and passion of the holy week and the beatifully sung choral piece drags you suddenly back to an english cathedral. Never once does this fail to satisfy and has on ocasions brought me to tears with its beauty.
Helen- Aldershot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent CD, 1 July 2000
By A Customer
Probably Peter's best album to date. Shows why he is always years ahead of colleagues. Most tracks such as 'Passion' and 'The Feeling Begins' are entrancing. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a place in any collection, 24 April 2001
By 
Steve (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Even knowing Peter's deep interest in and respect for world music, the style of this album surprised me. The music combines traditional North African and Middle Eastern instruments with Western rock equipment to carve out a wholly unique musical landscape. I can't comment on the use of the music in Martin Scorsese's film "The Last Temptation of Christ" for which it was written, but as a purely aural experience this album delights. The twenty-one listed tracks flow into one another and I can quite happily listen to this over and over again for several hours. The perfect music for refreshing one's ears. Worth a place in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passion: Music For The Last Temptation Of Christ
Passion: Music For The Last Temptation Of Christ by Peter Gabriel (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews