Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another hit, although short!
I have just completed the first of the three levels in this add-on and as before with MOH:AA, I enjoyed it immensely. The excellent, opening sequence really sets the scene and sees you jump out of the plane and parachute down to the ground. From there on the format is much the same as before, except now you are always part of a team and not alone (which I think makes it...
Published on 3 Dec. 2002 by disgusted_from_tunbridge

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
As one of those unfortunate enough not to have access to a high-speed internet connection I was looking forward with great anticipation to the release of the Spearhead Expansion Pack as a way of continuing my enjoyment of what must surely be the best single-player game of recent years. MOHAA successfully combined superb gameplay with great atmosphere and an attention to...
Published on 11 Dec. 2002 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another hit, although short!, 3 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I have just completed the first of the three levels in this add-on and as before with MOH:AA, I enjoyed it immensely. The excellent, opening sequence really sets the scene and sees you jump out of the plane and parachute down to the ground. From there on the format is much the same as before, except now you are always part of a team and not alone (which I think makes it harder!). It is a bonus that there are now British soldiers and British weapons, albeit a small bonus!! The graphics and sound are as superb as before and on my system (pretty high spec. I must confess), I have not had any installation or subsequent crashing problems at all.
Now for the complaint. MOH:AA and this add-on is just too short!!!! I know that this game is designed for multi-players which gives it extra value, but some of us can’t get broadband!!! I finished the first level on easy in about 90 minutes. Is the rest of the game going to be this simple?
If you can afford it and just loved the first game, then BUY SPEARHEAD!! But if your gaming pounds are limited, then I would invest them somewhere else. That’s why I gave it only 4 stars.
Finally, one thing that I enjoyed, although some may just ignore it, is that at the end of the first level and at the start of the second we are treated to a selection of pictures and poems. This is good because it reminds us that this was real, that people really fought, bled and died for freedom. These people were not characters from a video game but were often scared, young men who didn’t really know what was going on, but had courage to do what was required of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Linear and familiar but good fun, 2 Feb. 2003
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to the Spearhead expansion pack, and although it's not a classic there is just enough here to justify a purchase if you love Medal of Honor: Allied Assault.
The single player game comprises of three mini-campaigns featuring a few missions in each. This opens up with a breathtaking parachute drop into Normandy during the early hours of D-Day. This is nicely done and sets the atmosphere well. Early combat is frantic and fast-paced as you fight your way out of the landing zones and on to your objectives. You link up with British paratroopers as you have been separated from your unit and accompany them on their mission to destroy a bridge.
This opening campaign is great as you blow up tanks with anti-tank guns, cross a river in a dinghy, assassinate a Nazi colonel, battle through plenty of German soldiers and finally reach the bridge.
You then jump forward to the Battle of the Bulge in the Ardennes Forest in Belgium. This section starts well but then you come across a tedious mission of manning a gun in a half-track as you fight through German lines. This is tricky and takes many attempts to complete. Basically you need to know where every enemy is to complete it, so it's trial and error gameplay - therefore a bit tedious.
You then have to survive an artillery barrage and hold off a German attack in the woods. The latter is poorly implemented and hugely unrealistic, as only one German setting one foot on the other side of your trench means mission failed, even if you kill him milliseconds after. Daft.
After this it's on to Berlin, where you are now inexplicably attached to Russian forces as they enter the city to finally crush the Nazi empire. This involves a lot of sniping, good use of cover and destroying tanks with sticky bombs. Once you have secured a list of friendly spies you then jump into a tank and get to blast your way out and finally hold an important bridge against German counter-attack. Exciting stuff.
Spearhead gives you new weapons to play with, including lots of different grenades (which I didn't really use much), the British Sten gun and Lee Enfield rifle, Russian rifles and SMGs and also the familiar M1 Garand (blam, blam, blam, pling!) and Thompson SMG.
The British and Russian sections are a good play, but the middle Ardennes part is a let-down and can be very frustrating. Lots of credit to EA for trying to balance out the experience by involving other allies though.
Multiplayer-wise, you get new models and maps as well as a new game mode - Tug of War. There aren't too many servers supporting Spearhead at the moment so it can be difficult finding a game in order to try these out. Worth the effort if you can though.
The Spearhead expansion is a worthy purchase and will extend MOHAA a little further until the sequel appears, hopefully in the next 12 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours of gameplay!, 9 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
As a very dedicated fan of the Medal Of Honor series owning all of EA's ventures on the Playstation 1 and on the PS2,I was thrilled to hear that a new expansion had been released for the PC.So of course I had to buy it,but to my dismay the game only took me about 3hours to complete unlike the original which was a bit more of a challenge.Ok there's a very absorbing atmosphere and the graphics far surpass any firstperson shooting title out on PC at the moment but it's non existant longevity does bring me to the conclusion that is it worth investing £20 for 3hours play? Sure there's replay value but after a day it will probably find it's home nestling under a pile of your 'more immersive' games in your collection(which was the case with me anyway).
Furthermore,I recommend Medal of Honor as a 'landmark of a title'or in different terms a MUST buy but it's sequel I find could of been made much longer(but I expect that's why they call it an 'expansion').
My overall summary is that Spearhead follows the original in terms of graphics,sound and atmosphere but lacks the lifespan the earlier addition enjoyed.So for a couple of new weapons a few new outfits(for multiplayer)and some entertaining levels the choice is yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - ignore the moaners!!, 29 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
MOH Allied Assault was fabulous, but Spearhead is a brilliant add on. The graphics are great, the historical content and story line are spot on. It certainly is a great improvement on previous versions, with comrades in arms fighting alongside you and thinking for themselves, and taking part in Tank and Half-track battles. It was a nice change to turn the German artillery on the enemy too.
I didn't notice that it was particularly short.............if you did then try NOT playing on the easy level!!!
Well worth the time and money. I'm now playing MOHAA Breakthrough and that's fab too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
As one of those unfortunate enough not to have access to a high-speed internet connection I was looking forward with great anticipation to the release of the Spearhead Expansion Pack as a way of continuing my enjoyment of what must surely be the best single-player game of recent years. MOHAA successfully combined superb gameplay with great atmosphere and an attention to detail in a way that few other games do. The hype preceding the release of Spearhead promised more of the same plus more squad-based combat - partly taking its inspiration from the recent Band Of Brothers TV series as MOHAA had done with Saving Private Ryan.
On loading the game my excitement was increased further by the excellent (albeit brief)
first level and its accompanying introduction scene. Parachuting into a storm of fire over occupied Normandy ahead of the main D-Day landings, hooking up with a squad of British Paras, and then fighting your way to destroy a vital enemy-held bridge is all stirring stuff. But the subsequent levels fail to live up to this first impression.
Firstly, there are only three short levels in total. I completed the game, on medium difficulty, in a little less than five hours. Secondly, far from being more open, the levels are if anything more confining than original incarnation. The player is required to complete a sequence of tasks in a set order and is allowed little freedom to use their initiative. Whilst the promised greater number of squad-based missions is in evidence during the Normandy and Bastogne levels, these continue largely to be sequentially-plotted and task-based, requiring the player (and not the squad) to complete tasks in a set-order. The maps as well allow little room for player freedom.
I accepted that the original game sacrificed some elements of historical realism in terms of plotting to exciting gameplay, but I was hoping that Spearhead would look to introduce more realistic combat scenarios into the exciting FPS action (as the blurb seemed to promise). Instead the game divulges further from realism in its plot lines; a lone G.I. hooks up with the Russians in Berlin, single-handedly (no hint of squad action here) storms the Chancellery Building (taking out several tanks and gun emplacements on the way), steals some top-secret documents, finds and abandoned T-34 tank and the drives his way back to the Russians before stopping a Panzer division. Please!
EA seem to have attempted to conceal this lack of imagination in level design by the old trick of incorporating loads of nice new weapons for the player to play with. Whilst this is amusing at first, they are implemented in such an inappropriate way as to further serve to remove any atmosphere or realism. For example, in the Bastogne level you are forced, for some inexplicable reason, to use German weapons.
In summation, I would say that EA have seriously 'missed a trick' with the single-player game here - it could have been so much better. Spearhead is still enjoyable (especially the first level) but EA must score very low for imagination and effort; and [...] this simply isn't value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some quality, no quantity, 13 Dec. 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "mj" (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
So the first installment was pretty spot-on, the second course is however a bit on the small side. Don't get me wrong, what is there is pretty good stuff but there is so little of it that if you were half-good at the original title then you'll knock this little lot off in a couple of evenings at most. Having seen the PS2 release of 'Frontline' I was hoping some of the single player maps (esp. the ones set in the Low Countries) from that title that weren't in MOHAA might've made it across. Sadly this wasn't the case.
The new multiplayer maps seem pretty good and a few new tricks are added (like being able to cart around heavy machine guns and use flak gun enplacements).
Bottom line - if you're not buying this for the extra multiplayer maps, its probably not worth bothering ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spearhead sums up some of it., 8 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
It should be noted that the Spearhead addon is in the strictest sense of the word an addon. Having said that the content of the new missions is refreshing, You have access to new weapons, specifically British and Russian rifles, sniper rifles and sub machine guns which would appear to be quite historically accurate in terms of their power and effectiveness. You also work with British and Russian troops and im pleased to say the British are not made out to be totally clueless as is so often portrayed in ww2 games. The missions are no less immersive than in mohaa and the diverse range of tasks and environments makes for a griping experience often filled with panic and dire urgency. The ability to use any field gun, anti-aircraft gun or tank you come across is also a nice touch not found in the original game. Having said all this though, you will find you complete all 9 missions in less than a day, and while you will enjoy each level you will be left disappointed that it finishes so quickly. The game also lacks a certain realism found in other games such as Project IGI and Hidden & Dangerous, while the game itself is immersive your role within the game feels far too two dimensional. If you love mohaa you will like this short addon. If you didn't then you would be best spending your hard earned cash on another title such as Battlefields 1942 or the forthcoming IGI 2.
;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait Until The Price Drops, 25 Jan. 2003
By 
Paul J. Woolgar (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
Like the original game, this is a very well put together title. The graphics are top-notch, as is the sound and gameplay. On the down side, however, Spearhead is VERY short - you don't need to be a particularly skilled player to finish it in 3-4 hours. Ask yourself, is it worth shelling out [money] for 3-4 hours of play? For me the answer is a definite 'no'. Another annoying factor is that the game is far more heavy-handed with the scripting than the original. you have to do exactly what is asked of you in exactly the way that the computer wants you to. Often, there is only one way through a particular scenario and finding the precise route that you must take to work your way through the scenario can be a tedious exercise in saving and loading, trial and error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medal Of Honor: Allied Assault Expansion Pack, 16 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I think this is the best game i have ever played. It is similar to the first game apart from better weapons and skins. However there are small and large added parts that put together make it more realistic and an over all better game. The expansion pack has new and better single and multiplayer levels to make sure that you don't get boared, more skins so that you can change what your charecter looks like and which nationality they are, and finally there are more weapons so that the battle's will be even more deadly.
It is a super game and i would recommend it to anyone and everyone! So go and order it now! Also if you don't have the main game then you have to have it to be able to play and can now be bourght with the expansion pack as one package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition to MOHAA, 8 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack (Video Game)
Anyone who's played Medal of Honor knows how good the game is and how much its online following has grown. Weather you love its single player or multiplayer mode you are going to love the expansion pack Spearhead. I bought this game the day it came out and was not disappointed by how much it extends Medal of Honor. The single player levels are excellent and have a new feature of being able to control the German artillery to use it against them. There are also a number of new weapons to use all with great new sound effects, and smoke bombs to disorientate the enemy. The multiplayer mode also has a few new additions that make the original experience even better. You can pick up the massive MG42 machine gun and move it to different locals, however when you are carrying it you are very vulnerable and can't use any other gun.
If you are getting tried of the same old Medal of Honor, or you just want something new to the game then Spearhead is a must buy. I recommend this to anyone who loves Medal of Honor, buy it you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack
Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Spearhead Expansion Pack by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews