Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal Chamber are not "Nu Metal"
This band started off with an amazing debut, it was hard hitting, powerful and generally amazing.
They followed this up with another amazing album, Chamber Music, with this album they had decided to head in a new direction, to escape the label of "Nu-Metal", the second album was full of emotion, shown by the actual singing on the album rather than just...
Published on 19 July 2002 by Diana Rayfield

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lighter Days
I wasn't too sure about this cd when I first got it. Sure it has some serious riffs and explosive drumming, but i found it a little repetitive. But there's no doubt 'Dark Days' grew on me. Although the basic style of the tracks are quite similar, there is enough variation in the sound to warrent serious interest. Standout tracks are the single release 'Fiend' which is...
Published on 15 Sep 2002 by Mr. T. L. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal Chamber are not "Nu Metal", 19 July 2002
By 
Diana Rayfield (Teignmouth, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This band started off with an amazing debut, it was hard hitting, powerful and generally amazing.
They followed this up with another amazing album, Chamber Music, with this album they had decided to head in a new direction, to escape the label of "Nu-Metal", the second album was full of emotion, shown by the actual singing on the album rather than just shouting.
They followed up two amazing albums with a third, Dark Days is a fantastic album, which goes back to the "spooky core" feel of the first album, but doesn't forget everything they learnt on the second. It has the heavy undertones, but mixes the growls singing, screaming and shouting of Dez's vocals.
This band are really held together by the energetic frontman, but they now seem to have found their own and each others strengths on this album.
They are amazing
Just because the second album wasn't well recieved, and they haven't been around for the last two years, doesn't mean that they should be forgotten, Buy heis Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unlike the fool below, I've heard this album!, 12 April 2002
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Days (Audio CD)
Back in '97 'spookycore' kids Coal Chamber were one of the first bands to jump on the nu-metal bandwagon with their much-praised self-titled debut. Their cartoon-goth image made them a love/hate band and the attempted 'mature' sophomore album ('Chamber Music') flopped rather badly; understandably therefore 'Dark Days' (their third album) is a very important one. Predictably, they've tried to cross the harder and faster dance-floor driven first album sound with their recent more varied and mature experimental approach.
It's certainly effective on menacingly heavy tracks like 'Something Told Me', 'Dark Days' and the relentless 'One Step'. Dez's distinctive vocals and the usual Coal Chamber sound (loud/quiet structure, with plenty of energy in the bass/drums driving the songs along) providing some of the band's better moments. Elsewhere, the softer approach certainly works too; 'Friend?' for example being far more convincing than similar tracks from Chamber Music.
This is certainly a good album, but one can't help feeling it's a slight re-tread of past ground and Coal Chamber should've been much bigger now with all their early promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CC back in form, 7 April 2003
After a few years touring, Coal Chamber decides to spend some quality time together writing an album people will love one hell of a lot more than 'Chamber music'. (clap--clap--clap) Well done! This album is an absolutely amazing record from the quartet, and is definately one of the best Nu-metal albums of the twentyfirst century. Coal Chamber have the originality of Korn, the power of System Of A Down and the harsh, angry and bitter feelings of Raging Speedhorn. In short, they are everything that is good with nu-metal. The problem is that they don't have the respect or fanbase they deserve. This album is twice as good as - the gods of under 14's - korns last four albums and just as good as their first. With highlights of the album being single 'Fiend', and off the Resident Evil movie soundtrack 'Something Told Me', and definately no dark spots, this is the greatest album the band is likely ever to have.
buyit
buyit
buyit
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lighter Days, 15 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. T. L. Smith "i_am_the_game69" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wasn't too sure about this cd when I first got it. Sure it has some serious riffs and explosive drumming, but i found it a little repetitive. But there's no doubt 'Dark Days' grew on me. Although the basic style of the tracks are quite similar, there is enough variation in the sound to warrent serious interest. Standout tracks are the single release 'Fiend' which is very angry and has some great riffs. Also check out the pit friendly 'One Step', the very different 'Rowboat' and Resident Evil soundtrack fave 'Something Told Me'. If you like a bit of heavy Nu-Metal (Slipknot, American Headcharge etc.) I reckon you'll like it, but 'heaviest-band-I-listen-to-is-Linkin Park' style rock fans should stay clear for fear of being bored, Coal Chamber don't say 'Yo' very much, which may put you guys off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it if u know what's good for you!!!, 23 April 2002
Think of the first album, "coal chamber" and then times it by ten!! thats how good this is! They have really got it right this time and with songs such as "empty jar" and "one step" there are anthems in the making. I'm sure you have all heard "fiend" and know how good it is, well the other songs are the same if not better!! They have chosen great tracks for 'queen of the damned' (something told me) and 'resident evil' (glow). the guitaring and bass on this is superb and you can feel how deep these songs go! You can also see where they have tried to experiment a bit, to great success...unlike chamber music this is spot on! Buy this album if you know what is good for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Review!, 20 April 2002
By A Customer
Amazing. Coal chamber have done it again. they have changed their style again as in chamber music but kept that unique feeling of something special. The track that really got me going was Row boat Which I feel is a very psychedelic, tripy track. If You are a collector of coal chamber stuff like me buy this album as It is a limited edition and one hell of a amazing album. If you have never heard coal chamber before listen to the samples first as this band has a amazing but acquired sound. If you liked the first two albums you will love this new heavier, progressive style of writing.
enjoy
GLEDZ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coal Chamber are not "Nu Metal", 19 July 2002
By 
Diana Rayfield (Teignmouth, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This band started off with an amazing debut, it was hard hitting, powerful and generally amazing.
They followed this up with another amazing album, Chamber Music, with this album they had decided to head in a new direction, to escape the label of "Nu-Metal", the second album was full of emotion, shown by the actual singing on the album rather than just shouting.
They followed up two amazing albums with a third, Dark Days is a fantastic album, which goes back to the "spooky core" feel of the first album, but doesn't forget everything they learnt on the second. It has the heavy undertones, but mixes the growls singing, screaming and shouting of Dez's vocals.
This band are really held together by the energetic frontman, but they now seem to have found their own and each others strengths on this album.
They are amazing
Just because the second album wasn't well recieved, and they haven't been around for the last two years, doesn't mean that they should be forgotten.
Buy This Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna be a classic, 30 Mar 2004
This review is from: Dark Days (Audio CD)
This album is awsome, dark and heavy. For me its one of those albums that you just know is awome from the second you hit the play button. I liked Coal Chamber, and I loved Chamber Music, the meere suggestion that this album could be any less than awsome isn't beliveable. Because thats what it is, one of those albums that I expect to achieve the status of a classic.
I'm not gonna tell you to buy it, because you should already have hit the buy button by time you finished the first line. You really will enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Congrats, Coal chamber, 25 Aug 2002
By A Customer
After 3 years of intense consultaion, Coal Chamber have found the perfect formula for a metal song: take one riff, minimum 3 notes, and play it over and over again. Slam in some frantic drumming. Add one or two vocal lines, repeat all the way through the song. Finally get the bass to play exactly the same as the guitar, with maybe the odd slapped note to liven it up. Follow these instructions 15 times, with the same riff but a slightly different rhythm. Result? A smash hit...
Common advice is when you're in a hole, stop digging. Desperate to win back fans of the self titled debut ( like me!) after there dodgy goth foray, Coal Chamber have dug themselves into a mine that only INNOVATION can help them get out of now. Unfortunately Road Runner doesnt believe in innovation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark days is pure genius. Feed the metal urge!, 7 May 2002
By 
Dark days is the album fans have been wanting but never imagined. Every song breaks new ground with raw, blinding intensity. This album requires a few plays to get into, but it will re-theme your life, much as Omega and the Mechanical Animals did. Do you want to trance with the most dark and powerful music? With the mix that CC always should have had? Fire it up and get LOUD! Don't forget to pump the bass- much of this albums synthesized industrial goodness is in the deepest edge of the bass range!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Days (Bonus Tracks)
Dark Days (Bonus Tracks) by Coal Chamber (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews