Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top British Film
This film, together with Get Carter (the original) are the two finest British crime/gangster films you can get.

Bob Hoskins gives his best ever performance as Harold Shand a cockney gangster whos trying to do a deal with an American over the (as was then) wasteland of docklands. Unfortunately while he's in the states one of his gang has upset some rather nasty...
Published on 13 Sep 2006 by S J Buck

versus
36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be VERY CAREFUL with this disc: the aspect ratio is wrong.
"Presented in its original aspect ratio" can be read in the package. But I sincerely think it is a false statement, because a "match frame" comparison with the DVD (which offered a 1,77:1 image), reveals that in order to get the 1,66:1 image offered here, all four sides of the frames have been cropped. It is not a minor thing: they are HEAVILY cropped, there's a big...
Published on 27 Dec 2009 by P. Manzano


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rugby England's No 8 requested this for a Xmas Present!, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Nick Easte rates this film highly - one of his favourites and was requested of his aunt as a 2009 Xmas Present - excellent performance by Bob Hoskins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Use Amazon on a regular basis and have always been happy with the service. I will continue to use them in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Feb 2013
By 
P. R. Tavener (Suffolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film because it was voted in the best 50 films ever in the Telegraph. It's a good film but I have seen better.
It was nice to see a young Charlie from casualty in a major role. Bob Hoskins was his usual convincing east end gangster.
Very entertaining but just short of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not great, 24 April 2012
By 
This was always going to have a lot to live up to. It's difficult finally watching films that have been recommended so heartily, that have taken on iconic status, and that you'll be disappointed with if they're even slightly less than perfect. They're not in a fair competition. If I'd never heard of it, and it had played in an arts cinema, or I'd caught it on TV late at night unexpectedly, I think I'd be raving about it. Even if, or perhaps especially if, it was shot very recently, but set back in the late 70s, I'd love it. I certainly enjoyed it, but there's no doubt it has dated in lots of ways, and not always in a charming way.

The plot shows Hoskins as Harry Shand, a gangster who currently runs London, having got rid of all his major competitors. He wants to use an upcoming London Olympics bid as a way of becoming a legitimate businessman and making a fortune. He has gathered together many of his most powerful "friends", and brought in some American Mafiosa to booze and schmooze, and takes them up and down the river on his luxury boat, planning his route to colossal riches. But things go wrong. His henchmen are being picked off one by one, and bombs are starting to go off, all targetting Harry and his organisation. He tries to keep this all hidden, so it doesn't ruin his bid, his once in a lifetime plan, but as the threats keep coming, he has to balance his negotiations with the Americans with investigating into London's underworld to find out who is behind the carnage. His interrogations aren't subtle, and there's a fantastic setpiece in a meat storage locker, and some wonderful dialogue, almost exclusively by Harry, who alternates horrendous violence with a wistful insistence that criminal honesty ain't what it was, and what's the world coming to...

There's no doubting the star of the show. Bob Hoskins is a tour de force - by turn hilarious and menacing, mostly larger than life and chewing up the scenery, but in a terrific way, and yet finally capable of subtlety and nuance, in a wonderful final scene. He's ably supported by Helen Mirren, with a nice turn by PH Moriarty as an terrifying but silent henchman, and a tiny but charismatic part for the as-then-unknown Pierce Brosnan. The rest of the acting is pretty poor, to be honest, and I was somewhat drawn out of the picture by the woodenness of many of the other people involved.

I enjoyed this, but the woodenness of some of the acting took off some of the sheen. I can't help feeling that the end, which is terrific, raises the film in people's imagination higher than it perhaps deserves to be. The problem is, I'm seeing this now, and therefore have seen many other films released after it, and so I can't really tell what impression it made at the time. I'd imagine it was shocking and different, and these are all worthy reasons for it to be so loved. Coming to it new now, it can't be what it was then, and so it's perhaps unfair to judge it on those terms, but that's what I have to do. It's an interesting and well-made film. I'd say the film it most reminds me of is the (in my mind) far superior Get Carter. It was good to see Hoskins as someone other than the bumbling "it's good to talk"/jessica rabbit-flirting hoskins i'd only ever seen up till then. He's ample reason for watching the film. It's a terrific performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but overrated film, 16 May 2011
The title of this review sums up my feelings really. Bob Hoskins is way over the top for my liking. "Larger than life" is what people usually say of performances such as this but for me, scenery was being chewed a bit too often. I found the script a bit clunky and forced though there are some funny lines. The plot is very far fetched but it rattles along nicely and the ending is a bit of a "larf". I enjoyed seeing the pre development docklands locations and there are no cliched shots of Big Ben or anything(or Dennis Waterman dancing the "Lambeth walk" while eating pie n mash. Or some "such"). To me,this is not in the same league as Get Carter but it is,of course, far better than all that 90's mockney rubbish. Apart from "Rancid Aluminum".Which was boss like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It just feels a bit too Sweeny to qualify as a truly great film, 28 April 2009
By 
Stephen B. Peddie (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given what has actually happened to London's Docklands, Harold Shand could have been portrayed as a buccaneering and fabulously insightful visionary, not the aggressively territorial little gangster he was. But given the marvellously believable, mysteriously thwarted and ultimately frustrated thug Bob Hoskins delivers, we really shouldn't complain.

Hoskins aside, the performance of the players is a little pedestrian at times and the film feels more dated than period. It just feels a bit too Sweeny to qualify as a truly great film, but it is a good one and a genuine classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Long Good Friday, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like gangster films, this one is a bit dated, but no doubt good in it's day, before mobile phones and such.
Quite enjoyable for the nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long boring friday, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Andy (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
I bought this DVD after reading good reviews about it, i was looking forward to it being delivered and when it was i watched it immediately, then after 45 minutes i was bored, it was all too predictable apart from the ending, the ending was the best part of the film in my eyes. Its worth watching but its not in the same league as Goodfellas or Casino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Implied homosexual content, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first saw this film many tears age I found it entertaining - Helen Mirren is one of my favourite performers. Fooorrrr!
However, I intensely dislike homosexual content - I am surprised that I tolerated it at the time. I ceased to watch after that which was very early in the film and threw away the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unoriginal and clumsy, 16 Mar 2010
By 
WSH (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Towards the end of this pointless film, Helen Mirren's character, who in the previous scene has broken down in tears expressing fear for her life in a gangland slaughter, sees her boyfriend (Bob Hoskins' character) emerge from their luxury cruiser covered from head to toe in blood. Does she presume he has been hurt, the only plausible reaction to be expected from her? No, she's seen the script and overlooks that... Hoskins is a Cockney Cagney, but never quite measures up. The plot - a gangster boss's scheme to 'go legit' turns pear shaped - is a well-worn vehicle. The callous brutality showcased in this cinematic outing seems the only reason for its existence - a poor reason indeed. Those tempted to this film by the hope of something more are likely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Good Friday (Special Edition) [DVD]
The Long Good Friday (Special Edition) [DVD] by John Mackenzie (DVD - 2002)
12.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews