Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing piece of work
I've seen Muse live, and from the opening 30 seconds of the DVD I felt like I was back in Doncaster all over again! The atmosphere of the live performance appears to have been captured inside that little disc.
Of course I'll like the songs, being a Muse fan... but I can honestly say that the versions on this kick proverbial booty!
The camera work is not 'dodgy'...
Published on 18 Oct 2004 by Nick Greig

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a waste
I love Muse and desperately wanted this DVD. But what a load of **** it is. I'd hoped it was going to be a film of a concert and to be able to see the guys really letting rip. No chance. The style of direction turns, what looks like an amazing gig, into little more than an extended video. If you like the flash-cutting of pop promos, and can stand it for an hour and a half...
Published on 4 April 2006 by Strat Cat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing piece of work, 18 Oct 2004
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I've seen Muse live, and from the opening 30 seconds of the DVD I felt like I was back in Doncaster all over again! The atmosphere of the live performance appears to have been captured inside that little disc.
Of course I'll like the songs, being a Muse fan... but I can honestly say that the versions on this kick proverbial booty!
The camera work is not 'dodgy' as described in a previous review, but innovative. It really doess suit the songs and the way they are played. Besides, if you don't like it, close your eyes and you'll still be at le Zenith.
Must buy for any Muse fan. Simple as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another top-notch release from Muse, 2 July 2002
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Being a Muse fan, I was looking forward to a DVD, and when I heard that one was going to be released I knew I had to buy it.
There are 2 discs, both of which are neatly set out with stylish menus. On the first disc is the concert in Paris. The picture and sound quality is absolutely amazing, and in the tracklist for the DVD is a pick of some of their best songs, and there are also some B-sides on it. The concert starts of with a great performance of dead star, then Micro Cuts continuing through to an amazing finish with Bliss. The camera angles capture the atmosphere of the concert very well.
On the second disc is a documentary and some interactive dicographies. The documentary is about 40 mins and shows what Muse have done on their last tours, and some of their most fun moments on tour. In the backround B-sides are being played. Some bits in the documentary show them doing the photoshoot for the front cover, and other bits include them going camping and fishing.
The interactive discographies allow you to listen to 1-1.5 mins of each song on their albums (Showbiz, Origin of Symetry and the Hullabaloo soundtrack).
Overall this is probably the best music DVD I have seen, and the extras give it great value for money.An essential purchase for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars certainly worth its name, 21 July 2002
By 
Ms Alexandra Gadsby (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Everyone can remember the atmosphere of an electric gig, and many have attempted to capture this in a DVD or VHS.
And Muse have done it.
Simply put, this DVD is stunning. Stunning being an understatement. I've been a fan of Muse since last March, after hearing Newborn, and I've not stopped liking them since. The only time I've seen them is November last year, a few days after this gig was recorded and it was nothing short of an amazing experience. So when I heard about Hullabaloo I was excited beyond belief. Knowing Muse's incredible talent I was expecting big things from them, and I am not disappointed in the slightest.
The opening is exactly how I remembered the November gig, and from that moment and throughout the whole live show I really did feel as if I was present at le Zenith and mingling with the crowd. Every single track is so intense and sung and played with such feeling it's hard to imagine they have any emotion left at the end of the set. The camera work is fantastic and fits each song perfectly. The faster, heavier tracks are backed up with random, milli-second images, flickering across the screen in fast succesion giving the impression of strobe lighting. The slower, more meaningful songs have long, sweeping images of each individual member and the instruments.
This DVD has you sitting in front of the TV (or in my case computer) with your mouth open, shaking your head in disbelief at the talent simply pouring out of them. Far from being 'just another live concert', this is a true experience.
The second disc includes footage from all over the place, showing the band at their most relaxed and often intimate moments.Dom's Slipknot impression is quite possibly the funniest thing I've seen in years. The disc gives an insight into their tour habits and what the band are like when not performing. At times it's astonishing how different they are offstage. It's quite satisfying to see they're not in any way big headed or show-offs, but just three guys with a sense of humour and a desire to please.
I recommend this DVD to anyone, hardcore Muse fan or even if you only like one song. It's truly spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Energetic, Artistic, Quality, and always a leg in the air..., 15 Jan 2003
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I recommned this DVD so much - of course assuming you like the indy/rock genre. It's a well put together package, a stylish case, two DVD's, a nice leaflet. The second DVD contains behind the scenes footage of the band, kinda interesting as they do a lot of messing around, photo shoots, cool stuff. But to be honest it's a nice extra - I always want to watch the main DVD for the live performance.
This starts off with a great ambient introduction, building the crowds anticipation - and mine because I'm immediatley drawn in and become part of the crowd. Then burst's into life with a good selection of their songs, plenty of colour, stage antics, and crowd surfing (hence peoples legs in the air - always on a crowd shot!).
A great DVD to enjoy on your own, maybe as a background companion when your trying to tidy your room or something, or when you have mates around. It fits in very nicley as your all chatting away (assuming it's not at deafening volumes ;)
If you like MUSE, or have heard one or two tracks of theirs that you think "I quite like that." then get this DVD. I didn't really know MUSE stuff very well, and bought this on the strength of one or two tracks I liked the sound of. I was not disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt, Chris and Dom.....what more could you want!?!, 31 Dec 2004
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As every muse fan will know, Muse rule!
They manage to blow peoples minds with their amazing albums, unbelievable lyrics, and chilling sound and Hullabaloo proves their talents. But lets face it, what DVD with Matt, Chris and Dom couldnt rock a muse fans world!?! Hullabaloo gives us not only a live performance but extra footage of the trio back stage(and some topless shots :D). The previously discussed "dodgy" camera work is by no means a problem and proves the fact that the footage was shot while Muse were on the road.
This DVD is a deffinate must have for a muse fan and if you aren't one, you will be after this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extensive extras, and a top-shelf live performance., 14 Mar 2004
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Let's face it, if you've seen Muse live you will know the fantastic energy and effort that they put to the stage. Now, whilst the Hullabaloo performance is a good one, it's always difficult to capture the intensity of a gig on film. It is enjoyable to watch, but for me it became tiresome after a while. Muse fans with love watching who plays what on stage and how they work through the set, but ultimately there's only about half of the live tracks worth watching. Fortunately these tracks are of a very high standard.
Of the special features a couple of tracks have a second camera angle to watch, but in all honesty it isn't worth bothering with. It seems like a tacked on extra, it isn't anywhere near as extensive as it should be. But equally, there aren't many bands that even bother with a multiple angle option. So kudos for trying.
Also on the double DVD are a 40-minute film of Muse footage, a complete discography with samples and a photo gallery. Whilst the film footage is good, it isn't great. It's basically something to watch whilst you listen to a few of the Muse b-sides being played in the background. It is very interesting to see how much fun the band have together, though. And there are some very funny moments.
The other extras are pretty extensive. It's nice to have samples with the discography, so if you didn't own one of the albums you can check out how the songs sound. The photo gallery has a lot to it, but isn't that interesting to browse to a casual fan. Overall, it's well packaged, the cover art isn't brilliant, but it is a nice set. Worth buying for any fan of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hullabaloo [ it says it all ], 5 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Want to enjoy the atmosphere of a rock concert in your own living room? This DVD is for you my friend; First off on selected tracks you can view different camera angles, which is great once you watched it you still have something to look at in a different perspective. Secondly The explosive, Destructive and unassailable music is so incredible that you'll listen on the edge of your seat in awe, the band as a whole are really astonishing I would have to say it's better than the recorded songs in studio. The excellent film footage is really intimate and you feel the whole vibe of the concert wetter it's from the crowd jumping about the frantic guitar solo or the swaying sea of people singing along to Unintended. The track selection is truly inspirational the contrast of the tracks is very emotional including the hit singles: Plug In Baby, New Born, Bliss, Hyper Music, Feeling Good, and Muscle Museum plus 3 new tracks.
The second DVD offers a fly on the wall look at Muse as they travel the world from Photo Shoots to Interviews, From fishing to drunken parties and from interviews to wearing Slipknot and Power Rangers masks (truly funny). Other additional items included are the music discography, which offers quite long previews of any muse songs from all their albums and a selection of pictures with them on magazines from all over Europe.
This DVD is worth while a buy and is the best music DVD I have seen it revolutionises the whole way they have been presented in and I hope it's standard is not ignored. The only other DVD, which meets this standard, is the Beastie Boys one but you can only play that on USA DVD players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muse rule!!!, 2 July 2002
By 
Richard Rainbow "Rich" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I don't really know where to start here. This is such a phenominal live DVD that it defies anyone not to like it!!! (english? What's that!). Anyway, poor english aside, it's an amazing DVD for several reasons. Firstly the quality of the sound is second to none, the only way you could get any better is to have been there. Secondly the performance and quality of the playing is stunning. Muse put out a performance worthy of having the entire show as a live album. The "Hullabaloo soundtrack" accompanying CD, whilst also being amazing, has nothing on the DVD.
My personal highlights are the stunning versions of Cave, New Born, Space Dementia and muscle museum. They really appear to be enjoying the entire gig and are making a huge show if it.
THe second DVD is also really amusing. The impersonation of Slipnot by Dom on the tour bus will have you laughing along with Matt and Chris (Matt sounds like he's about to wet himself!!).
Overall, this is probably the best music DVD I've ever seen, although some of the camera work is a little dizzy making at times!!! Buy it, turn it up loud and enjoy it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars plug in baby and rock on, 29 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is Muse's attempt to revolutionise the Musical DVD by using cameras on the guitars, drums and bass you get a real intimate feel from the comfort of your own living room.
Matt Bellamy launches into the crowd and the camera shows a first person view of him crowd surfing, You see the chords being played on the guitars shooting up and down the frets and you see the drums pounded throughout the song. See them trash their guitars and the stage surroundings in the intensity of the music. The live music from their Paris Concert is amazing from the fantastic new 'Dead Star' and 'In Your World' to the selection of songs from the two previous albums 'Origin Of Symmetry' and 'Showbiz'.
The second disc offers a real fly of the wall feel as it includes much of the touring adventures and happenings in 40 minutes. A wide range of options is also included to let you interest yourself. This disc shows off stage footage from around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Feeling Good' after buying this, 8 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is simply the best, most energetic and well composed concert of all time, leaving you tired out by the end even if you do manage to resist the temptation to jump around.
Muse fans will love this as it features the best songs from the first two albums while managing to capture a more live feel to the music than the recordings for the albums. Furthermore it contains some great B sides such as the opener Dead Star and the bouncy In Your World.
This is a great DVD, and in my opinion a better buy than the Absolution Tour DVD, do yourself a favour and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002]
Muse - Hullabaloo [DTS] [DVD] [2002] by Tom Kirk (DVD - 2003)
10.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews