Customer Reviews


379 Reviews
5 star:
 (300)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic.
Fight Club is a stunning and brilliant film about the mind-numbing meaninglessness that traps so many in our consumerist society. The unnamed central character, played by Edward Norton, is looking for a way to escape, and that's when he meets Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt) who, amongst other things, introduces him to the simple joys of fighting. Through the Fight Club they...
Published on 16 April 2006 by David Welsh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for Fight Club
Brought this for school. It arrived on time and does what it needed to
Published 2 months ago by Rebecca Stein


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic., 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fight Club is a stunning and brilliant film about the mind-numbing meaninglessness that traps so many in our consumerist society. The unnamed central character, played by Edward Norton, is looking for a way to escape, and that's when he meets Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt) who, amongst other things, introduces him to the simple joys of fighting. Through the Fight Club they establish, he is able to feel alive again, but there is a lot more to Tyler than meets the eye... Superbly shot and directed, with excellent performances from all the main actors (particularly Pitt, Norton and Helena Bonham Carter), this atmospheric and psychological film is one of the best things to come out of Hollywood in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius!, 11 Mar. 2002
Anyone who has said that they guessed the ending to Fight Club is talking complete rubbish - not just because it twists the storyline into a 180 degree turn, but because it is so completely unpredictable.
Fight Club is in a class of its own. It develops a psychological boundary that is both impressive and, frankly, quite brilliant. Not only does it provoke modern society, but also screams out a message that is seemingly determined to grab the viewer by the scruff of the neck shouting "grow up!"
The film centres around a character called Jack, an insomniac who becomes extremely bored of his life of routine and predictability. That is, until he meets Tyler Durden - a man with a very surreal and twisted outlook on life who introduces Jack to his philosophy on life, with both funny and shocking results.
Fight Club is a film that deliberately laughs in the face of seriousness and as a result, is a film you'll either hate or love. Personally, my outlook on the film was definitely the latter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. I mean...just... Wow., 21 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
You know, I thought "Fight Club" was gonna suck, so I didn't bother to go to the theater to see it. Apparently I wasn't alone because it did lousy box office here in the US. But some friends of mine told me it was "awesome" (of course they think everything is "awsome" - "Dude, you had to see this dead bird; it was awesome!") Anyway, I got the DVD when it came out and... Wow. David Fincher, my new hero, weaves a delightfully ticklish tale from the moment you see Edward Norton's head smooshed against Meatloaf's big man breasts. (By the way, I knew where we were during the opening title sequence, but I can see how other less gifted viewers would say, "I don't know what this is supposed to be, but it's awsome, man!") On the DVD's David Fincher commentary track he talks about how British censorship wags made him recut one particularly brutal fight scene, but they, like their American counterparts, probably just don't get it: the movie's about the frustration of a lost generation of men (young and old alike - though mostly young) yearning for a meaning in their lives, an issues Britain should seriously address because, well, hooligans. Need I say more? I hope no one spoils this movie in any of these reviews because the finale will really blow you away a la "The Sixth Sense". I won't. I'm not a jerk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fincher's greatest?, 21 Nov. 2009
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fight Club, in my book the ultimate bloke film. Last week, we were given Heat on BD and this week we have Fight club - Xmas has come early! I'm not supposed to talk about it but...

David Fincher has a pretty healthy looking portfolio under his belt (Alien 3; Seven; Panic Room; Benjamin Button for a start) but this is at the top of the list for me as his best. Top knotch cast topped only by the quirky, strange and damn right clever storyline. Follow the dull life of a John Doe as he seeks to find out more about himself by...I can't say in case people reading this haven't seen it, but lets say by making soap for now. Suffice to say, it's one of my favourite movies ever and shouldn't be missed. There is no way that as a viewer you will be able to take in everything that happens in a single watch. You'll pick up something extra that you didn't notice last time around, each viewing. Did I he really just say that? Did I just see that???

Transfer is great, amazing levels of dark. We have grain in places if you have a hang-up on that but it is rare.

*** WARNING ***: The ultimate frightener ever appears on this BD the moment you put the disk in (I'm stunned they even got permission to do it!). I suffered a heart attack and therefore am not going to give away what it is - why should others not go through the same as me! I laugh now, but at the time I started to cry.

The packaging says that it's English only, however on the disk we have

Languages: English DTS Master; English 2.0 DD; Spanish Latino DD; French DTS; Portuguese DD

Subs: English; Spanish Latino; French; Portugese; Danish; Finnish; Dutch; Norwegian; Swedish; Mandarin (Traditional)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still profound, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: Fight Club - 2 Disc Edition (DVD)
I've never commented on other reviewers comments as they are personal opinions, but some reviewers of this DVD made such silly statements I felt compelled - it is very much an original piece of work. The fact that it's influenced so many others (and lost it's identity) doesn't diminish it's relevance, it underscores it. And the theme's are even more relevant today - consumerism is at an all-time high. This movie was made in a slump - just listen to Tyler Durden ranting about our generation not having a defining war. That's changed since 9/11, but the feeling of alienation/isolation/boredom through constant consumerist-orientated attacks (adverts) is even felt by soldiers... think of the difference between Apocalypse Now and Jarhead... or Full Metal Jacket and Buffallo Soldiers... Fight Club will be relevant as long as we place such heavy importance on purchase power, and it'll always be a classic. At least until the credit records return to zero...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are not the films you like, 8 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Fight Club [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
when it opened in the U.S to tepid business, there was widespread misjudgement that it was another testosterone-fuelled man-flick about bare-knuckle fighting. don't make this mistake. those who had read Palahniuk's corrosive social satire knew exactly what to expect. the film begins in the Medula Oblongata of the brain and explores every corrupt brain cell of today's culture. nobody is safe - Starbucks, Ikea and their children, which pretty much encompasses most of the developed world's inhabitants, the corporations, the small businesses, educated and uneducated. the main theme is the crisis of middle-class masculinity and is set in an anonymous city, much like Seven, and is a world of oppressive conformity where nobody has the power or will to break away, least of all Ed Norton's lead character. Norton plays an unconsuming drone (in the same vein of Anthony Perkins' Norman Bates in Psycho)and Brad Pitt, the enlightened anti-social (or perhaps anti-society) Tyler Durden. The cast is flawless, with Jared Leto playing a role with more importance than is realised, as Angel Face and Helena Bonham Carter sheds her corset for a female role to die for, displaying all the nihilism and apathy that the film requires. like Bret Easton Ellis' American Psycho, this book was also deemed unfilmable but Fincher's ability behind the camera trashes another dictionary entry. the film ends on as much of an ambiguous point as it can muster, because in the world portrayed on film, nothing can be taken for what it really is. after this, it seems impossible to go back to your ordinary job and your ordinary life and indeed, ordinary films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece which offers more than what is at face value, 10 July 2011
This review is from: Fight Club [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
David Fincher has a number of respected movies under his belt - Se7en, Zodiac, Benjamin Button, and most recently, The Social Network. However, if I had to pick one which has really made an impact on my enjoyment of films, it would be Fight Club.

I'll tell you something it definitely teaches the public - it certainly teaches them never to trust trailers (Not that they needed another reason). The trailer paints the movie as a story about two guys setting up a club where people can beat the everloving snot out of them. To be honest, though, such a synopsis only really encompasses about an eighth of the entire film. There is a whole lot more to it than that. Firstly, Edward Norton's out-of-control mental condition makes him a really interesting character, while his partner, Tyler Durden, is so enjoyably out-of-control and has so many "fascinating" things on his mind that it's hard not to dislike him.

Now, I shan't give away the famous plot twist for the convenience of the viewers, but what I will say is this - it's one of those plot twists which means that your viewing experience is enhanced on repeat viewings - you look at events in a very different light, and I admire plot twists like that. Plus, in my case, even if you already know the plot twist before watching the movie, it's still so enjoyable to see how it's revealed for the first time.

Is it utterly disturbing? Definitely. Suffice to say, you won't even be CLOSE to winning parent of the year even if you let your TEENAGE son watch it. I'm also sure there are even some adults who won't be able to get past some of the disturbing things going on in the movie (Read: Slow-motion distorted sex scene and Edward Norton getting a chemical burn on his hand), but if you can actually keep an open mind and look past that, you have a very nice, very enjoyable movie on your hands. There's a good reason why people are praising this movie left and right, and there's a further good reason why Fincher has such a fantastic legacy behind him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure David Fincher, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Benn Parsons (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a really good film, the blu ray transfer is good, but not great. I don't have the DVD, but I imagine that this blu ray version is only a bit better than that.
What really impressed me were all the fantastic extras. There's everything from the typical directors commentary and photo gallery to a music video and even a documentary about how fight sounds were created, its all really good.
You also have the added extra of David Fincher's joke at the start of the blu ray (Before the fight club menu screen) where a 'never been kissed' menu screen is in its place. I wonder how many people sent it back to amazon thinking it was a film burnt on to a different disc.
Anyway, if you don't already have the DVD, then the blu ray is a good investment, especially for the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this monkey's gone to heaven..., 13 Jun. 2006
By 
Buffalohump (Heart of Darkness) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't believe its taken me this long to get this movie on DVD. It blew me away when I saw it on initial release (seven years ago, can you believe it) but this is definitely one to own on DVD. Why? Because you can watch it over and over again, digging the sheer virtuosity of the performances, photography, music and above all, the brilliant script, which is so incredibly rich it has lost NOTHING in the translation. In my opinion this is one of the few films that is even better than the book, due to the beautifully twisted visual style of Fincher, not to mention the remarkable performances of Norton and Pitt, particularly the latter, who reaches a career peak here. I cannot wait to shove this into the machine again and settle back for more yucks and thrills. This film is a laugh a minute. In fact, its a comedy above all else. You'll only start to pick up on some of the gems in the second or third viewing (a personal favourite is the Norton/Bonham-Carter exchange about the thrift store wedding dress), but of course the classics - you are not your khakis - are all there as well. Do not hesitate to pick this up, at this price it is a world-class bargain and essential to any DVD collection worth a damn. The other classic that goes great with this is, of course, 12 Monkeys, also featuring Mr Pitt in another fantastic performance. They are a great pair. All together now: "his name is Robert Paulson, his name is Robert Paulson..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rule!, 25 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Fight Club - 2 Disc Edition (DVD)
The first rule of fight club is; you have to see this movie,
the second rule of fight club is; YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIE!
"How much do you know about yourself if you've never been in a fight?". This is just one of the many deep questions asked in this action packed, mind boggling, ass kicking movie. Starring Brad Pitt(seven,kalifornia)and the marvelous Edward Norton(red dragon,american history x), this film will take your imagination on a gut wrenching ride, beat the life out of it, and then throw a few clever quotes at it. If you crave action and a mind blowing twist then this is the film for you, oh and if this is the first time you read this review.....you have to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews