Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best PC game I have ever played
WARNING If you only play games for the pleasure of blowing people up / Don't enjoy using your mind in games / Have no idea about politics or history then THIS GAME IS NOT FOR YOU!
Anyone still with me? Good. I can then tell you that THIS GAME IS FANTASTIC! And I dont mean that lightly.
This game explores a whole new genre to be developed for games -...
Published on 26 July 2004 by simaardvark

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What was with the hype?
I agree with previous reviewers. From the way this game was hyped, and also that everyone I knew was talking about it, I was expecting something of the next generation of adventure gaming. Instead what we got was a slow-moving, very text-based game. It's not that it's a bad game, it's just that it kind of felt like we were led to believe it was going to much better than...
Published on 8 Oct 2003 by Jay M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What was with the hype?, 8 Oct 2003
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
I agree with previous reviewers. From the way this game was hyped, and also that everyone I knew was talking about it, I was expecting something of the next generation of adventure gaming. Instead what we got was a slow-moving, very text-based game. It's not that it's a bad game, it's just that it kind of felt like we were led to believe it was going to much better than it actually was.
You don't get to see things happening in real time, you can't influence what is happening when you are viewing the action sequences. In fact the action sequences are only a consequence of decisions you make. For example, you decide to send a scout out to inspect an area; what you are shown then is the scout going out and inspecting the area, nothing else. You know that's what he is doing, so why show it, it's pointless. If he did something else like reporting back with findings during the action sequence, that would be believable and more realistic, but he doesn't.
We all know that this game took a very long time to bring onto the market, there were programming difficulties, etc. Maybe the original idea was for the game that we had hoped for, but due to the huge delay in release and mounting costs for production, maybe the studio chiefs just decided to streamline the game down to basics, just to get it onto the market. And that lead us to the current game which is just disappointing in basic terms.
Maybe if the game was marketed with a little less bravado, then we wouldn't be all feeling this let down as we are now. Just a thought! It isnt' a bad game, just not what we all expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious, but sloooow, 9 Sep 2003
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
I bought this game after being taken in by the lovely 3D city views. Sadly these seem to have nothing to do with the playing of the game, most of which is played from a "map view". Quite a disappointment.
I have always been a fan of strategy/management games like Civilisation, Age of Empires, Command & Conquer etc. but this game is really hard going. Maybe if I persevered it would become more exciting, but I can't see that happening. Don't be taken in by the screenshots, try before you buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best PC game I have ever played, 26 July 2004
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
WARNING If you only play games for the pleasure of blowing people up / Don't enjoy using your mind in games / Have no idea about politics or history then THIS GAME IS NOT FOR YOU!
Anyone still with me? Good. I can then tell you that THIS GAME IS FANTASTIC! And I dont mean that lightly.
This game explores a whole new genre to be developed for games - political strategy - which is much more complicated, involving and interesting than today's politicians show! This is active, revolutionary politics and it is totally engrossing.
The game takes place in a former Communist country loosely based on Ukraine. You play a man who has a personal vendetta against the corrupt, undemocratic President and the aim of the game is to overthrow the government and form a democracy. You achieve these aims by carrying out actions to increase your support and infomation in areas and also to attack other political factions vying for the top job. On the way you recruit other members and can direct their actions too. You can choose between three paths - Force, Influence, and Wealth - to achieve you aims and each path has its own advantages and disadvantages. The system works very well, and means there is plenty of replay value.
The graphics are beautiful. One annoying thing about the game is you do not carry out actions in the gorgeous game world, but you can watch your rallies, hitmen, and strikers from an eye-in-the-sky or at ground level.
The music is beautiful, inspired on Communist revolutionary songs, and helps create the deprived but hopeful mood of the game. The game is also huge. I have been submerged in it for two weeks now, and I still have not completed it!
Overall this is fantastic. As i said above it is not for everybody, but for an intelligent, informed person it is overwhelmingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unsure..., 19 May 2004
By 
E. Reilly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
I bought this game a couple weeks ago after seeing a feature on TV about it. Being such a gaming fan I wondered why I had never heard of this revolutinary game and that it seemed, on TV anyway, that it was just the game I had always wanted to play.
Two weeks on I still haven't got a clue about what I'm supposed to be doing. Yes the aim is to recruite people into your faction and blah blah blah - but that sounds much easier than it actually is.
I think the developers of this game have totally over-complicated it in their quest to break new ground. Unfortunatly the supporting manual is not much help and the supposed game 'tutorial' (just static pages of information - repeated from the manual).
I would have given this game just one star but I am not determined to give up on it yet. I've given it a second star as the potentail is there - you just need a hell of a lot of time and patience to figure it out.
Not for gamers who like instant fun.
Not for gamers who like to think too much whilst playing.
Not for gamers who rely heavily on the game manual or game tutorial.
Not for gamers with hair (you will be pulling it out after an hour's 'play')
Good points: If you want to be seen as someone who is 'in' on video game development it is good to be seen with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth investing time in, 4 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
Back before every genre on the PC could be boiled down to a three-letter acronym, back before 300 worth of graphics card was minimum requirement, all games were this absorbing.
I'm not trying to knock the modern software market, but I can fondly remember a time when PC titles were engrossing, absorbing, thought-provoking, intelligent and utterly compelling, and probably considered boring by many. In many ways Republic: The Revolution marks a return to those classic values.
The bad press first: Yes, you DO need to spend a lot of time with the game, it's not an action-packed reactions test and it DOES require a lot of forethought and patience. However, if you're looking for a title that (unlike many other modern games) DOES try to do something new then look no further than Republic.
You'll also need a fairly hefty PC to run it with everything turned on, though the minimum specs are surprisingly lower than you might expect. Run it on a GeForce 3 Athlon and it'll be more than fine!
There are a lot of bad reviews for this game, not all of them entirely accurate. Micro-management and polictical scheming isn't going to be everyone's cup of tea. But for those of you who do take up the challenge you'll find nothing less than a fully engrossing game, full of subtle humour and deep challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disapointing, 10 Sep 2003
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
From the descriptions of the game I had read in previews, this seemed right up my street - how wrong I was.
There's so much about this game that seems interesting, but has been implemented in such a clumsy and ill thought-out way that turns out to be just frustrating.
Let's start with the lovely 3d screenshots banded about, and printed on the back of the box: Disregard them - they are merely eye candy. The 3d interface is not really used to interact with the game (contrary to what the manual states), instead you use a 2d map with pieces representing your faction members, much like a board game. You give your players orders (which are completed in a strange kind of turn-based/real-time fusion) and twiddle your thumbs while they get on with it. The 3d engine allows you to watch them do their chores, but they are pretty boring. This is not helped by the fact that the characters speak gobbledegook (ah, but with an Easter European twang), even in the cut scenes accompanying important events in the game there is no dialogue.
There are essentially two game elements - issuing a limited number of actions to a limited number of members every now and then, and a strange card type game to decide who wins arguments when they arise. The latter is a bit like top trumps, but er with only one stat, and no pictures.
The manual isn't that bad - it's got a tough job to do. Unforgivably though, there is no tutorial! Only a bunch of graphics that pop up every now and then labelling user interface elements - obviously tagged on at the last minute.
You get the feeling while playing that the game could have been really good. But it's not. Go find some friends and buy Diplomacy (the cardboard version) - does a better job without the need for a high spec PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A matter of taste, 22 Jan 2004
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
As with many things in life not everyone will take a liking to everything.
Republic the revolution brings politics to the PC. And in fairness does a pretty fine job of it too. The 3D world comes under a lot of scrutiny and has dissapointed a few gamers who came to expect more than the occaisional glance to a world which is very easy on the eye, but remember this is not the first game in this genre which uses a 2d screen for the majority of play - for example the impressive Total War series does exactly this.
And remember if becoming a politician and ruling your populous as a generous leader or a cruel dictator (you choose but each action makes a reaction) sounds like your thing - then at the price this game sells for you could do a lot worse than give this a whirl.
The game is a matter of taste - lets face it, football haters won't rush out to buy Fifa! You know what you like - you decide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dull dull dull dull dull dull dull, 1 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
Did I mention this game was dull? Set tasks, twiddle thumbs, set tasks, twiddle thumbs. 2D map, with some dull 3D sequences. So thats about it - dull. Add to that the interminably slow game saves and game loading and you dont get anything very interesting. I've now played it twice for a few hours each time to make sure I havent missed anything and I'm afraid I havent. To the back of the cupboard this one goes, or perhaps wrapped as a Christmas present to someone I dont like very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good if you have the knowledge, 30 Sep 2003
By 
S. Stanier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
Republic: The Revolution is one of the most unique strategy games ever. In it you must take power in post-soviet Novistrana, where a dictator currently rules. You do this by getting revolutionaries to your cause through money, influence or fear.
A prediction from official reviews was that you had to be fairly intelligent to enjoy the game and within minutes I knew what they meant. The game starts with a series of questions that choose your path, and with the knowledge of revolution, you know what is right, however without it this is a bit of a guessing game. Picking up revolutionaries is an intelligent business too. You negotiate with potential revolutionaries through a system of conversation in which you have to choose what do to. Ingratiating and joking are examples of these choices. If you make the right moves, you will get the person to your cause, but what the right moves are going to be depends on the type of person, and it takes intelligence to know what these people want.
The game can sometimes be tedious with long waits for your revolutionaries to do their jobs. Unfortuneately there is no way to my knowledge of speeding up time.
In conclusion, this is a game for people interested or with knowledge of Revolution. Although you may enjoy it otherwise it may become a bit difficult and hard to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to get into- but worth it., 9 Nov 2003
This review is from: Republic: The Revolution (PC) (Video Game)
Yes, this is not the most accessible game. For about the first half hour I was constantly going "What?!" and flicking through the (admitedly poorly ordered) manual. However- it was worth sticking with. The gameplay reminds me most of "Gangsters"- the alternations between an ordered map and panel control system for your allies and a graphical cityscape where you can see your actions take place. The game is challenging and complex- baffling at times- but if you have any interest in a sim of this sort, there is litterally nothing else on the market. A game of enormous scope, though not perfect. If you have patience and an interest in the subject matter, this game is perfect- and represents a highly polished product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Republic: The Revolution (PC)
Republic: The Revolution (PC) by Eidos (Windows 95)
3.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews