Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it on the trolley?!
Feeling down?! Fed up with the kids?! Other half making your head ache?! Then here's your cure: 'Best of Victoria Wood As Seen On T.V.'! I honestly can't think of a funnier collection of clips available on DVD right now. From the downright hilarious parody of morning T.V. 'Margery and Joan': "Some of our viewers have found folding pyjamas and ARDUOUS task leading to...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by J R BROWN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Only For Extreme Fans
Having become a massive fan of Dinnerladies after buying the box set, I though I would try some other of Victoria Wood's work and settled on this best of DVD. However I was slightly disappointed when I started to watch it. I didn't see any of it when it was first shown on TV as I was slightly too young and having seen it now I just don't find it that funny. Sure it has...
Published on 20 Feb 2010 by Claire Limonade


Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it on the trolley?!, 10 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
Feeling down?! Fed up with the kids?! Other half making your head ache?! Then here's your cure: 'Best of Victoria Wood As Seen On T.V.'! I honestly can't think of a funnier collection of clips available on DVD right now. From the downright hilarious parody of morning T.V. 'Margery and Joan': "Some of our viewers have found folding pyjamas and ARDUOUS task leading to lower back pain, depression and, alas, suicide!", to 'Shoe Shop': "Yeeees, we have hens. In the skirting boards!" you don't get comedy this surreal and realistic unless it's from Miss Wood. Julie Walters proves she's one of the finest and funniest comedy/character actresses ever in the UK - just watch the classic "Two Soups" sketch - the "Continuity Announcer" harks back to the days of Birthday Corner on local T.V. and then of course there's the infamous "let's do it!" song: "Barry and Freda"! Add to the mix "Acorn Antiques" ("what was it muesli?") and you can't go wrong. Make yourself a cuppa, lock the kids under the stairs and have a chuckle for an hour and a half!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisit a classic show., 30 Jan 2005
By 
S. Hebbron "S B H." (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is really funny and reflects on a TV series which was way ahead of it's time. When the series was first shown it was not at all popular as it was running the gauntlet alongside old established comedy and comedians (still very popular in the 1980's) I recall it being aired very late on Friday, on BBC2, not the trendy slot back then that it is today!
I guess it was also still fairly unusual for women to be in comedy at this time, hard to believe nowadays but this series dates back to a pre-French and Saunders era, there was no Jo Brand and no Jennie Eclair. It is fair to say that Victoria paved the way for these future great ladies of comedy. The only funny women I recall seeing at the time, other than Wood, were June Whitfield in "Terry and June", and Penelope Keith in re-runs of "The Good Life", or in "To The Manor Born". Good comedy actresses but a world away from this stuff.
Wood's writing and observation are acute and hilarious and her rich tapestry of characters are given life by such wonderful actors as Julie Walters, Celia Imrie, Duncan Preston and Susie Blake. There are even small cameo's by the then little known actors, Jim Broadbent and Pete Postlethwaite!
The sketches are true classics and if you have never seen "Shoe Shop", "Family planning", and "Acorn Antiques" then you really must! Stick with the show for lessor known sketches too, the Julie Walter's character doing a lone sketch to address the "Pie Crust Players" on the finer details of Hamlet is sheer brillance! "Ophelia, That lovely line!, There's Rosemary tis for rememberence, you can't just bung them a few chicken bones and say don't mind me I'm a looney!"
This will cheer up any rainy day! The funny thing is this stuff is not at all dated inspite of being 20 or more years old, ok the fashion is a bit dodgy at times but the comedy, then a very fresh style often called "alternative" is now bang up to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's do it... again, 25 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic collection that draws from both series of 'As Seen On TV'. Highlights include 'Kitty', 'In the Office', 'Shoe Shop', 'Margery and Joan' and of course the excellent 'Acorn Antiques' (plus 'The Making of'). Viewers new to Wood will enjoy the freshness of the comedy after nearly 20 years, and particulary a younger Jim Broadbent's turn in the 'a Fairly Ordinary Man' mockumentary.
Unfortunately this collection offers nothing new to die-hard fans. With no extras to speak of, we are left with a collection of sketches that have been easily available on VHS compilations for years, meaning that some(particularly the 'On the trolley' sketch) seem too familiar. Nevertheless this can be regarded as nothing other than an outstanding compilation. The lack of a fifth star is down to the BBC's complacency rather than any lacking of quality in Wood's sketches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victoria Wood at her Best..!, 14 Aug 2002
By 
Philip Roberts (Brighton - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
It has been a while since we have had a new compilation of 'as seen' and this DVD is a joy! Classic Victoria Wood humour that will have you in tears of laughter. Along with one or two that are on other 'as seen' compilations, there are some brilliant scetches that any fan will be pleased to see. Such as 'The Waitress' and 'the trolly' 35 scetches from the TV series including the continuity announcer and the od acorn antiques thrown in for good measure.
This is a MUST for any Victoria Wood fans, and even those who aren't, just buy it, you will belly laugh, and no doubt know the scene's word for word like us fans in no time! This well put together and layed out DVD proves beyond doubt that Wood is one of the best comedy writers this country has ever produced. The Perfect match between her and Julie Walters stands the test of time, and you could watch this dvd in 5 or ten years, and it will still have the desired effect, it will make you laugh!
Buy it, enjoy it, and experience Victoria Wood at her best..:o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Only For Extreme Fans, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
Having become a massive fan of Dinnerladies after buying the box set, I though I would try some other of Victoria Wood's work and settled on this best of DVD. However I was slightly disappointed when I started to watch it. I didn't see any of it when it was first shown on TV as I was slightly too young and having seen it now I just don't find it that funny. Sure it has it's moments but at just under 2 hours I did start to find it hard to keep my concentration. It's a shame to write this and it seems I am going against everyone else but I think I would only buy it if I had seen it first time round and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present for friend in Spain, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
it was really well received and he said it reminded him of England. I know he has played this several times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love a good cry !, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
No matter how many times I see these scetches I never tire of them. This CD offers a good selection of Victoria's various antics including the hilarious 'Two soups' which always make me cry with laughter, and for which I chiefly bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Victoria Wood as seen on TV, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this show when it was first on. Particular favourites are Acorn Antiques and any sketch with Julie Walters. This is something to watch over and over again. Love it. She is so talented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny, 28 April 2010
By 
R. Woollatt (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] (DVD)
The "Two Soups" sketch is one of the funniest things I have ever seen - absolutely priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD]
The Best of Victoria Wood [DVD] by Victoria Wood (DVD - 2002)
5.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews