Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars50
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 2 January 2004
If you know Jennifer's and Dawn's work you are probably aware of the fact that these two very nice ladies seem to have no fear whatsoever in their acts and won't be ashamed of anything as long as they can make people laugh.This series of movie spoofs isn't any different...they shamelessly take the mickey out of several films like Silence of the Lambs,The Exorcist,Thelma and Louise,Dangerous Liaisons etc...
I for one think that their spoofs of films and celebs are by far the funniest of what they do,just watch their specials on telly now and I'm sure you will agree.
I give it a four out of five,these are probably the best satires ever made and it shows off these ladies neverending comic talent.
The only downer is that it seems like sometimes they didn't even see some of the films and are just running around ridiculing it without really knowing what they're doing.I don't know if this was their intention or not ,but it's bloody good fun all the same.
Their acting is amazing,I was especially blown away by Jennifer Saunders' ability to transform herself into almost an exact copy of the actor that was in the original film.two thumbs up,some of the best comedy ever made!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on 9 September 2003
I Loved this DVD. I'm a huge fan of French and Saunders, and was a bit daunted at what to expect reading the other reviews, but wasn't at all dissapointed. I believe F&S were at their comic best in the late 80's early 90's which is where most of these sketches came from. Fantastic stuff. If you like the latest offerings from the girls then this DVD probably isn't for you,but if you're a purist like me, then its amazing. The detail and timing in the 'School Trip' sketch is perfect and very very funny. There are a couple of classic sketches not included, again early 90's late 80's ones (BBC Wardrobe girls, 'its not a Jan Leeming' and "Chambermaid!"), would have been excellent additions. Might as well get on the bandwagon and moan about lack of extras on BBC DVD's, which always drags them down a bit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2005
I love French and Saunders and I am always on the lookout for new releases on DVD. I have bought all the titles from the U.S. as well. When I learned of this release in the U.K. I was excited to read...
"A compilation of what Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders do best: mercilessly funny spoofs. Baywatch, Whatever Happened to Baby Jane, Misery, Silence of the Lambs, Alien 3, The Piano are just a few and all are truly hilarious"
...and so I was expecting a DVD of all these clips, perhaps taken from the two part BBC compilation of the same title.
However, I now have it and was disappointed to find out that it was exactly the same as the U.S. release. (Also the same as the BBC video 'The Best of series 4')
This means no Baywatch, no 'Baby Jane' and no Piano. Plus a myriad of other sketches.
However, as a compilation, it still serves as a decent smorgasbord of entertainment with some of the best moments from the duo's fourth series. Personally, I would prefer complete episodes, series by series, but for now, this should satisfy the appetite of anyone who hasn't bought the U.S. editions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMEon 9 February 2001
Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders are simply amazing! It's like they've visited everybody's living rooms and listened to our comments while watching the films and TV-series and then turned them into something incredibly funny.
My two particular favourites are Lucky Bitches and the House of Idiot, they are so spot on! It's scary. I don't want to spoil this for anyone, but if you watched and enjoyed the House of Elliot, you're going to love that bit.
This is a must-have on a cold and dark winter's night!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on 4 October 2007
Yes, unbelievably, with an archive which would be the envy of commercial TV stations throughout the world, the BBC manages to dig into theirs and produce an extremely mediocre compilation.

Why would a compilation with this title omit their best movie parodies (Exorcist, Whatever Happened to Baby Dawn, The Sound of Music etc) yet include lots of sketches which are not remotely connected with the movies?

I am a strong supporter of the BBC ethic and its method of funding - but some of their efforts on the commercial front show a distinct lack of sense. Instead of funding new series of F&S - which ceased to be funny some time ago - they could exploit the back catalogue to the benefit of those who remember their peak years, and fund more innovative new programming instead which wouldn't get a chance on commercial tv.

Instead, I can only dream of "French & Saunders: the early years" or even better "The complete French & Saunders" DVDs. Still, no doubt these titles would be as misleading as F&S at the movies or the many "Best of..." BBC compilations which are anything but.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 29 November 2001
This video features a compilation of F & S's most hillarious moments from the first two series. From the fat blokes to the classic 'kinky boots' sketch this is simply some of their best work my favourites being the geography trip sketch, the hollywood send ups (Saunders as Katharine Hepburn was particularly amusing)and of course the classic 'wagon wheel' sketch which was saved til last. There is loads more to laugh at in this gem of a video.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 30 April 2013
This Double DVD box set contains two fantastic live shows by Britain's funniest ever girls, however the product description listed here is incorrect and as a result I've had to return my copy.

The shows here are Live in 2000 and Still Alive from 2008. NOT THE 1990 TOUR, which I believe is in fact still unavailable on DVD.

Just wanted to let anyone know who, like me, was looking for that particular show.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 1 February 2007
Jennifer Saunders really is the best in this selection. Most of these arnt movies. Many sketches are parodies of the house of elliot, music videos e.g. shakespeares sister (very funny), gladiators,thelma and louise, and films like aliens, silence of the lambs, short sketches that last for 30 secs are also great. The best sketches are silence of the lambs, the house of idiot, and dickens daughters. If you like french and saunders you wont be dissapointed. The christmas special with star wars being the main sketches throughout is very good as that great hilarious scottish woman playing anakin and jennifer giving one of the jedis a scottish accent is brilliant(not ewen mcgregor) . The only sketch i didnt like was the guns and roses one, as it just wasnt funny unless you like to hear somone groaning threw a guns and roses song for two mins.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2004
I'm French and Saunders biggest fan in the whole world so i'll try not to me biased. THIS IS THE BEST DVD IN THE WORLD!
It involves F+S's best clips from their movie spoofs such as silent of the lambs and thelma and louise, which is side splitting, buy this and you won't be dissapointed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2005
Unbelievably disappointing. Had seen it was due to be released and looked forward to it as I thought that it would include everything they have done recently - Titanic, Lord of the Rings, Tipping the Velvet - which have been some of the funniest television moments ever. Didn't have any of them. A lot of the material is really, really, old and not particularly funny.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

French And Saunders: Live [DVD] [2000]
French And Saunders: Live [DVD] [2000] by Dawn French (DVD - 2001)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.