Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD boxset!!!
WHAT A BUY!!
I've been a fan of these two forever (as most people I know are) and this is probably the best thing I've bought on Amazon for a long time! These two comical genius' give everything in their live shows that one would want to see.
Only one improvement could be made, in my opinion; there needs to be more!!
It's called 'The Big Live Boxset', and...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by Ms. Kate Brocklebank

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BBC Does it again! (Disappoint, that is)
Yes, unbelievably, with an archive which would be the envy of commercial TV stations throughout the world, the BBC manages to dig into theirs and produce an extremely mediocre compilation.

Why would a compilation with this title omit their best movie parodies (Exorcist, Whatever Happened to Baby Dawn, The Sound of Music etc) yet include lots of sketches which...
Published on 4 Oct 2007 by Georgie Pillson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD boxset!!!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. Kate Brocklebank "Kate" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
WHAT A BUY!!
I've been a fan of these two forever (as most people I know are) and this is probably the best thing I've bought on Amazon for a long time! These two comical genius' give everything in their live shows that one would want to see.
Only one improvement could be made, in my opinion; there needs to be more!!
It's called 'The Big Live Boxset', and while what it does consist of is hilerious, it ends too soon, consisting of their last two live shows (Alive and Still Alive) and a 15 minute behind the scenes snippet from their last ever tour (which consists of videos of Dawn as she forgets to charge up her camera, and Jen recording herself in the mirror, and talking about Flog it!)
BUT, all fans want more, and at this fantastic price it is worth every single penny!
If you are at all amused by French and Saunders this DVD will be entertaining, amusing, and a pleasing addition to your DVD collection.
Very happy with my product!!
Love these women!!!! :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical!, 29 Nov 2001
By 
C. Jarvis "crisso" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This video features a compilation of F & S's most hillarious moments from the first two series. From the fat blokes to the classic 'kinky boots' sketch this is simply some of their best work my favourites being the geography trip sketch, the hollywood send ups (Saunders as Katharine Hepburn was particularly amusing)and of course the classic 'wagon wheel' sketch which was saved til last. There is loads more to laugh at in this gem of a video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Gin and Orange for Sue, Gin and Orange", 9 Sep 2003
By 
helen (Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of French & Saunders [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
I Loved this DVD. I'm a huge fan of French and Saunders, and was a bit daunted at what to expect reading the other reviews, but wasn't at all dissapointed. I believe F&S were at their comic best in the late 80's early 90's which is where most of these sketches came from. Fantastic stuff. If you like the latest offerings from the girls then this DVD probably isn't for you,but if you're a purist like me, then its amazing. The detail and timing in the 'School Trip' sketch is perfect and very very funny. There are a couple of classic sketches not included, again early 90's late 80's ones (BBC Wardrobe girls, 'its not a Jan Leeming' and "Chambermaid!"), would have been excellent additions. Might as well get on the bandwagon and moan about lack of extras on BBC DVD's, which always drags them down a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie spoofs ever made..., 2 Jan 2004
If you know Jennifer's and Dawn's work you are probably aware of the fact that these two very nice ladies seem to have no fear whatsoever in their acts and won't be ashamed of anything as long as they can make people laugh.This series of movie spoofs isn't any different...they shamelessly take the mickey out of several films like Silence of the Lambs,The Exorcist,Thelma and Louise,Dangerous Liaisons etc...
I for one think that their spoofs of films and celebs are by far the funniest of what they do,just watch their specials on telly now and I'm sure you will agree.
I give it a four out of five,these are probably the best satires ever made and it shows off these ladies neverending comic talent.
The only downer is that it seems like sometimes they didn't even see some of the films and are just running around ridiculing it without really knowing what they're doing.I don't know if this was their intention or not ,but it's bloody good fun all the same.
Their acting is amazing,I was especially blown away by Jennifer Saunders' ability to transform herself into almost an exact copy of the actor that was in the original film.two thumbs up,some of the best comedy ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French and Saunders Experience, 5 Sep 2000
From beginning to end, one cannot help but laugh uncontrolably at the antics of Dawn and Jennifer.
Episodes begin with a 'Movie' send up. These range from "Whatever Happened to Baby Dawn" (Jane) with lines like "What do you think squashy legs!" to "The Exorcist" where everything is blamed on "rats in the attic"!
There is the usual daytime TV send up with Dawn acting as the expert who really knows nothing. There are long running sketches throughout the shows with "Star Test" playing a part as we laugh as F+S mimic 80s celebrities.
All of this combined with the talents of the fabulous Kirtsy MacColl, Raw Sex and the hilarious obsession with "baking legend" Jane Asher adds up to make an excellent comedy product which is well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BBC Does it again! (Disappoint, that is), 4 Oct 2007
By 
Yes, unbelievably, with an archive which would be the envy of commercial TV stations throughout the world, the BBC manages to dig into theirs and produce an extremely mediocre compilation.

Why would a compilation with this title omit their best movie parodies (Exorcist, Whatever Happened to Baby Dawn, The Sound of Music etc) yet include lots of sketches which are not remotely connected with the movies?

I am a strong supporter of the BBC ethic and its method of funding - but some of their efforts on the commercial front show a distinct lack of sense. Instead of funding new series of F&S - which ceased to be funny some time ago - they could exploit the back catalogue to the benefit of those who remember their peak years, and fund more innovative new programming instead which wouldn't get a chance on commercial tv.

Instead, I can only dream of "French & Saunders: the early years" or even better "The complete French & Saunders" DVDs. Still, no doubt these titles would be as misleading as F&S at the movies or the many "Best of..." BBC compilations which are anything but.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queens of British Comedy, 9 Feb 2001
By 
Christine L (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders are simply amazing! It's like they've visited everybody's living rooms and listened to our comments while watching the films and TV-series and then turned them into something incredibly funny.
My two particular favourites are Lucky Bitches and the House of Idiot, they are so spot on! It's scary. I don't want to spoil this for anyone, but if you watched and enjoyed the House of Elliot, you're going to love that bit.
This is a must-have on a cold and dark winter's night!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not what I expected..., 30 July 2005
By 
Ben Ripley (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love French and Saunders and I am always on the lookout for new releases on DVD. I have bought all the titles from the U.S. as well. When I learned of this release in the U.K. I was excited to read...
"A compilation of what Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders do best: mercilessly funny spoofs. Baywatch, Whatever Happened to Baby Jane, Misery, Silence of the Lambs, Alien 3, The Piano are just a few and all are truly hilarious"
...and so I was expecting a DVD of all these clips, perhaps taken from the two part BBC compilation of the same title.
However, I now have it and was disappointed to find out that it was exactly the same as the U.S. release. (Also the same as the BBC video 'The Best of series 4')
This means no Baywatch, no 'Baby Jane' and no Piano. Plus a myriad of other sketches.
However, as a compilation, it still serves as a decent smorgasbord of entertainment with some of the best moments from the duo's fourth series. Personally, I would prefer complete episodes, series by series, but for now, this should satisfy the appetite of anyone who hasn't bought the U.S. editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a swiz! Mostly non-movie sketches from the early 90s., 11 Nov 2012
By 
T. Mcveigh (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
French and Saunders at the Movies. BBC copyright 2005. 100 minutes of material.

Sounds great if you love F&S's excellent parodies of films. Until you discover this DVD covers 5 films only (Misery, Silence of the Lambs, Aliens, Thelma & Louise, and, from the 1999 Christmas Special, Star Wars: The Phantom Menace). And great parodies they are too, even if they are split up into about 3 sections each. But the point is that the majority of the sketches on this DVD are NOT film-related.

Most of the rest of the material is so old, that without the DVD inlay, I would have had trouble figuring out what they were about. Bizarrely, the DVD even includes a sketch about gossipy women comparing Princess Diana to Fergie, (and later a completely unrelated one mentioning Dodi Fayed). Yes, that's right, sketches about people who were dead by late 1997, being released in 2005. There are sketches called "House of Idiot" parodying a TV series called "House of Elliot" which apparently ran from 1991-1994, and a music video sketch that was utterly lost on me until I finally figured out that the inlay title "Dickens Daughters" was a pun on Shakespears Sister - remember them?

There ARE a few sketches that don't only relate to "hot topics of the early 90s", like "The Elizabethans" "End of School" or the Fat Men sketches.

A little note on the back says "Previously available on BBCV5246" My online research shows this was the now-deleted VHS tape "French and Saunders Best of Series 4" released in 1994. From its cover photos, it certainly also included Thelma and Louise, Silence of the Lambs and Misery. It seems to me likely the Beeb has just transferred that ancient material directly to DVD without editing, thrown in the 1999 Christmas special, and re-marketed it in 2005 with the misleading DVD title, blurb, and photos about film parodies.

Caveat emptor. Read very carefully between the 2005 blurb lines "Over the past decade, Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders have hilariously parodied any Hollywood film worth its salt. Gloriously, some of these have been gathered together on one DVD with other hilarious sketches from the fourth television series...."
Shame on you, BBC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best side splitting dvd you'll ever buy, 7 Nov 2004
By 
Alicia (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I'm French and Saunders biggest fan in the whole world so i'll try not to me biased. THIS IS THE BEST DVD IN THE WORLD!
It involves F+S's best clips from their movie spoofs such as silent of the lambs and thelma and louise, which is side splitting, buy this and you won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb116f774)

This product

The Best of French & Saunders [DVD] [1987]
The Best of French & Saunders [DVD] [1987] by Dawn French (DVD - 2002)
3.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews