Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just So 80's
I saw this movie when it first was released in 1984 and recently bought the dvd and it's just as good as I remember. The plot (which isn't very complex) is about a thief who robs a couple of there expensive things and also takes the wifes diary and starts reading them, he then meets her and starts an affair giving her all her fantasies she wrote about in her dairy...
Published on 10 May 2009 by L.J.F.64

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars censored version
I am totally disappointed, I saw the film first on VHS a good few years back and some of the scenes(the hot scenes)were cut in this DVD. This is the same letdown version I saw on television...what's the story here? If I wanted a censored version I could have seen it on tele....terrible waste!
Published on 28 Jan. 2007 by Alexis' fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars censored version, 28 Jan. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
I am totally disappointed, I saw the film first on VHS a good few years back and some of the scenes(the hot scenes)were cut in this DVD. This is the same letdown version I saw on television...what's the story here? If I wanted a censored version I could have seen it on tele....terrible waste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just So 80's, 10 May 2009
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie when it first was released in 1984 and recently bought the dvd and it's just as good as I remember. The plot (which isn't very complex) is about a thief who robs a couple of there expensive things and also takes the wifes diary and starts reading them, he then meets her and starts an affair giving her all her fantasies she wrote about in her dairy.

It's a strong movie with very good performances form the 3 leads
Steven Bauer as the thief, Barbara Williams and John Getz as the couple, the soundtrack(which is so mid 1980's) done by Harold Faultermeyer is also great as it adds to the movie. Overall the movie is a gloosy 80's steamy romantic flic that anyone can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rum N' Raisin...., 5 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
A woman trapped in a boring marriage begins an affair with a handsome man who seems able to read her mind.

She doesn't know that he has broken into her house and read her diaries, where she has recorded her deepest thoughts and fantasies.....

This had the makings of a brilliant eighties movie for me. Great producers, great musicians doing the score, and just made in the part of the eighties where everything was cool, and everybody lived in excess.

So its unfortunate that this film for me sunk like a led balloon. Yes Bauer has the charisma and the looks, but he is awful as the lead, and his delivery of lines and the way he changes just ruins the whole movie.

Is this really the guy I saw in Scarface? He was amazing in that movie.

Plus the fact that the husband does the worst thing imaginable and tries to make a living rather than letting his wife seduce him. What's a girl to do?

Caruso pops up every now and again, with lots of attitude and the soundtrack crashes in and out one several occasions, which is funny for all the wrong reasons.

It's a cheesiest in a bad way, and thank goodness that the producers had Top Gun around the corner.

This had all the makings of a cool little thriller, it just gets more mundane as the film progresses and Bauer is nothing but a miserable child in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its moments...., 7 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
Thief of Hearts is a film of its time - i.e. a glossy-looking 1980s film with a fairly far-fetched plot. In some respects it hasn't worn well - the clothes and locations look almost kitschy now, and some of the acting is quite cardboard - but it has its moments of genuine suspense and eroticism. This was the film where I discovered Steven Bauer and it's a reminder of what a good actor (and darkly handsome fellow) he is - and it's also fun to see David Caruso long before NYPD Blue and CSI: Miami as Bauer's redhaired, somewhat psycho partner in crime. Not the best film ever, but good fun nonetheless....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Desire and Lust", 24 April 2015
By 
Mr. Scott Curtis (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
an overlooked 1980's Masterpiece! early performances from yesterday's stars.. Main characters portray fantastic chemistry in the unravelling of what most humans would agree that when they weigh up the things in life that they want is to be loved..

Lust,Passion and desire for a stranger that in a fleeting moment may catch your eye - but i think the moral of this story is the classic case of "The Grass Is Greener" But, as we all know -that's not always entirely the case. It's only after we cross the line in life, we find what it was that we had and threw it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cameo Caruso, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Jackie Domingo (Swansea, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
Not enough of my favourite character in this film but it is still an essential one to a David Caruso collection. The story is weak, but the characters make the best of it and triumph in their own way. A lovable rogue but with a despicable act of reading a lady's diary and carrying out her thoughts and dreams is nice, but her privacy in invaded by this action and it is unforgivable. Not a well-known film but worth buying for its cheekiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thief of MY heart!!, 28 Aug. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
I discovered Steven Bauer in this very film and was blown away by the role he played. He plays a theif of jewels stealing from the houses of San Francisco's richest residents. One day, after he takes numerous possessions from one house he discovers he has stolen the diary of a woman who is locked in a marriage in which she is wholly unsatisfied. She writes of her dreams of passion and adventure with her ideal man, who at this point is not her huband. Scott (Steven B) enters her life and becomes that man, indulging her in all of her fantasies. Needless, to say, things go a bit pear-shaped as he becomes totally obssessed with her yet she starts to back away, mostly due to the fact that he is such a closed book and won't disclose anything about his life. The ending is inevitable but despite what happens, you know that they will somehow always be a part of each others life...as long as they are alive that is. This really does make you reach in to the depths of your emotions to release your secret desires and fantasies..and the sadness and impossibility that they can sometimes bring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very dated but very well made..., 23 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. Mark C. Brown (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
Came across this by accident and remembered it from TV years ago. Hasn't aged well but story and atmosphere still brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Crc Greenwold "Carl1977" (Weston Super Mare UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief Of Hearts [DVD] (DVD)
A great little known movie, great soundtrack and ok its a bit soft porn who cares I would like to do this myself hahahhahah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this film when I first saw it on TV, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this film when I first saw it on TV. I never forgot it, was very pleased to get my own copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thief Of Hearts [DVD]
Thief Of Hearts [DVD] by Douglas Day Stewart (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: £5.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews