Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars70
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2008
What would you do if you and your partner, who you loved dearly were in some financial difficulty and in order to alleviate your difficult circumstances a stranger offered you one million for one night with you? What would you and your partner do? Would you immediately dismiss the proposal, regarding it as preposterous? Would you accept basing your argument on it being only a one-night stand and therefore meaningless? Would you do it for the much-needed money? Or would you refuse saying that money cannot buy love and that such an act would reduce you to the likes of a prostitute?

Confused? Well that is exactly the complex story this film weaves excellently. With a thought-provoking script that manages to challenge our every day perceptions of love and money and the depths we'd go to achieve them, along with some seriously moving moments guaranteed to shed a few tears from the female members of the audience and even managing to throw in a few comic moments this film is something special.

Add that to some superb acting from the small but talented cast and you're in for a treat. One can easily empathise with all three characters from the lonely billionaire (Robert Redfort), who believes he can buy love, to the loved-up couple (Woody Harrelson and Demi Moore) who believe that they are untouchable and that their actions won't effect their "perfect" relatonship.

Beautiful cinematography, memorable music and careful editing make this a very crafty movie.

I'd highly recommend this movie for anyone looking for a mature, deep movie (something hard to find now-a-days)
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
i havent cried so much since 'bridges of madison county', it really got to me this film, it was brilliantly acted and i could see the scenario, not so much the one night thing, but the aftermath being experienced in modern day society. How the characters changed and started to interact less with each other really upset me, You have to watch this film!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 December 2011
An exceedingly rich business man offers a financially challenged couple the chance to solve their money worries, and in the process setting themselves up for life. His proposal?, one million dollars to sleep with the wife!.

Is Indecent Proposal actually indecent itself?, coming from the director of Fatal Attraction (1987), Nine 1/2 Weeks (1986) and Unfaithful (2002), sexual tensions are again the order of the day. Tho derided by critics as a glossy moral poser, Indecent Proposal actually holds up well as an indictment of power, perfectly essayed by Robert Redford's billionaire play boy, John Gage. Gage makes his proposal and knows full well that he's putting strain on that relationship purely for his own gain, it's scheming of the highest order, with Redford superb in the role. Our tortured couple are played by Demi Moore and a surprisingly effective Woody Harrelson. The acting does at times struggle to cope with the quick shift to the twee triteness that is Indecent Proposal's biggest failing. It's not that we are asked to believe in an alternate universe where, Robert Redford has to pay for sex, and a goofy Woody Harrelson marries a sultry Demi Moore. It's that we are fed sweeteners after being served a decent appetiser about the complexities of love and all its devilish emotions. A bit more bravery in the script and Indecent Proposal could have been a very fine picture, sadly it remains a wasted opportunity. 6/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
The truth about this film is you either love it or hate it!... A story of love trust and the most evil thing in the world MONEY!... Liked the film when it first came out i thought Redford was a legend. But as you get older and know what the words love and trust really mean it just reminds you how much someone is really worth to you!... Would you share your wife husband or partner for a price? The truth really is unless presented with this offer you just don,t know!... Good cast and acting and like i said Redford is a Legend...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Although made in 1993, the theme and questions posed by this film are timeless. David and Diana are a young couple very much in love but find themselves in financial difficulty during a recession. During an evening at a casino where they try to win some cash they meet enigmatic billionaire John Gage, who goes on to offer the cash strapped couple a deal: he'll give them $1 milllon for one night with Diana. It's a very tempting offer and would end their money worries, and they are strong enough as a couple to survive just one night.... aren't they?

A moral dilemma and it's repercussions on relationships and lives is played out with strong performances from the leads. Gripping, heartbreaking, entertaining and thought provoking, this offers a lot more than much of the 'fluff' produced today. I thought enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone who enjoys an intelligent film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
Well worth watching. An extremely cleverly produced mind provoking movie, throwing an extremely controversial issue into air. Thoroughly enjoyable to sit down and watch on a cold winters evening :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Excellent film with solid video and decent audio, far superior to dvd:

Video Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1
Original aspect ratio: 1.85:1
Audio
English: Dolby TrueHD 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English, English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback
Region free
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
This glossy melodrama starts off great. The premise is juicy- would you spend a night with someone for a million dollars? Well, that's what Robert Redford is offering young couple Demi Moore and Woody Harrelson. The film guarantees entertainment and there is some, but director Adrian Lyne chickens out and opts for slushiness. Normally I'm critical of Lyne's pornographic touch (Flashdance for example) but it worked brilliantly here, with the casino a place of thrills and the young couple doing the deed on top of a bed covered in money. That scene hinted at the potential for dark fetishism, a chance to explore the relationship between sex and money, but Lyne changes the focus to the question of whether Harrelson can forgive Moore or not. This aspect was a little sexist as it places all the blame on Moore, and it's a far less interesting question than that million-dollar question we all must have asked ourselves at some time.

Don't get me wrong, it's an entertaining film and the slushiness is endearing, but there was the potential for a darker, more morally probing film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
This is one of the very few films I have seen that explores the boundaries of love; whether it can be bought, or if you would do anything for love.

I think the story does the concept the justice it rightly deserves. The actors bring the best - and worse out of the characters and you are taken along with them on their journey. You do feel all the emotions, and you finish the movie feeling different about yourself.

If you enjoy thought-provoking films, where you feel empathy - this is for you.

More importantly, if you want a movie that makes you question yourself - then this will do that for you.

So, if you want to know what you would do, take a journey with these amazing characters and find out. I guarantee you will know the answer by the end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
I have always loved this movie and the ending always makes me cry. Woddy Harrelson, Demi Moore and Robert Redford all give brilliant performances and Harrelson and Moore have great sexual chemistry. This movie will make you question what you would do in David and Diane's situation. The scene where Redford's character talks about the girl that smiled at him on a train that he has always regretted not talking to always makes me sad aswell. In a nutshell this is a very moving, beautifully acted film with characters you root for. It is very disappointing however, that there is only a director's commentary on the extra features. I would have loved some cast interviews and deleted scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)