Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£20.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2003
For the uninitiated Citizen Smith was a very popular 70's sitcom written by John Sullivan, who later wrote 'Only Fools and Horses' , and starred Robert Lindsay as Wolfie Smith.
Wolfie was the leader of the urban guerilla group the Tooting Popular Front who were just waiting for the right moment to storm to power.
The only problems being Wolfie was unemployed and the TPF only numbered three others ,Ken - an apprentice Buddist, Speed - a hooligan shoplifter and Tucker - a waiter with a Cowboy fixation.
Wolfie's hardest job was trying to avoid marriage to Shirley and avoiding upseting Harry Fenning and his minders, Tootings answer to Al Capone.
Like most sitcoms the episodes get better as the series progresses with the first couple of episodes setting the scene and getting you used to the characters.
The boxset features the pilot episode, which is basically the same as episode 1 but with a diffrent actor as Charlie and some diffrent dialogue, and the Christmas special "A Story For Christmas' which has never been repeated on TV.
The episodes are
Roof Over My Head - (Pilot Episode)
Crocodile Tears - How can Wolfie explain to Shirley That Urban Guerrilla's don't get engaged.
Guess Who's Coming To Dinner - Wolfie can't put off the terrible day any longer, meeting Shirley's family.
Abide With Me - Wolfie and Ken are evicted but will Charlie Johnson take the revolution into his own Home.
The Weekend - Ken plans a dirty weekend with Desiree, the topless Go-Go dancer at the Vigilante pub.Trouble is she's going out with Speed.
The Hostage - Wolfies election hopes are dashed but he has a plan, to kidnap David West the M.P. who beat him.
The Path Of True Love - Shirley ditches Wolfie for a flash capitalist with a sports coat, can he win her back?
But Is It Art - Kens pavement masterpiece is worth a fortune but can the revolution cash in.
A Story For Christmas - Ken preys on behalf of a skint Wolfie and his prayers seem to be answered.
Speeds Return - Speed is let out of prison but Wolfie has some bad news for him, Desirees pregnant and it can't be Speeds.
Rebel without a Pause - Wolfie's looking for a cause that will get the peoples sympathy, then Charlie gets the sack.
The Tooting Connection - Charlie is hunting down a load of stereos that have been stolen from his factory, and Wolfie knows where they are.
Working Class Hero - Wolfies right to work campaign ends in disaster, when the labour exchange gives him a job.
Rock Bottom - Is the Revolution moving to L.A. when Wolfie has an audition to become a working class superstar?
This is a great collection for a fan of the series or anyone that likes the Classic sitcoms, no swearing just lots of laughs.
0Comment|95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
I'm not particularly a fan of Only Fools and Horses, but for me this earlier series written by John Sullivan is funnier and has actually aged better. This is probably because there is some reality behind the characters that remains just as relevant today; after all the hero is at heart a bumbling terrorist.

If you haven't seen it before you'll need to persevere beyond the first 3 episodes as it takes a while to warm up. The pilot is very static and drawn out. And the third episode, which was originally to be the pilot episode of a completely different set-up to a series - essentially a flat-sharing sitcom - has a different feel to the rest of the episodes. But once the series gets going and the formula settles down it provides regular fun and laughs, even if Wolfie's tight trousers are very painful to look at!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2007
The team which brought you 80's based comedy Only Fool and Horse, bring another great piece of hilarious comedy called Citizen Smith based in the preceding years 0f the 70's. The DVD features series 1 and 2 of this hit comedy starring Robert Lindsay (from My Family) as the political activist of a revoluntarily. The catchphrase "power to the people" is frequently used throughout the series.

The principal emphasise of the comedy to a large degree is political as it is based on the movement of a group campaigning against their rights. The way it is approached end up in hilarious outcomes, as the point is they are not clever enough and competent to campaign. That is the real beauty of the comedy. This is gives you a real flavour of what to expect and you will be laughing like anything.

Citizen Smith features 13 brilliant episodes in three discs. The packaging to the DVD is attractively done, with a picture featuring the main character in his trademark cap and jacket. Citizen Smith has all the features to promote its status as a great comedy, which is a great script, funny characters and well structured stories.

I like to finish my review with a quote "Power to great comedy". If you love great comedy to really enjoy, watch Citizen Smith series 1 and 2 to get a real feel what the real power of comedy can do for viewers.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
Just a quick review brought this along with series 3/4 great comedy from a writer who went on to write a smash hit what ever happened to shirleys dad in the pilot episode (artro morris) anyway 5 star rating great dvd
to watch either at weekends or when theres not much on the box.compared to whats on sky these days i would rather watch this than the rubbish thats on sky.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2006
I remember this series from my childhood. But now I do laugh with tears. Superb comedy, english humour as its best. Strongly recommended
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
Great to be able to see this series again cos it was one of my favorites growing up.
I was amazed to find out that it only ran 4 years and only 30 episodes for some reason to me it seemed to be on longer.
I remember all those years ago how disapointed i was when the show finaly stopped and not long after that robert lyndsay was in a new series called seconds out which flopped.
Anyway because of Citizen smith i tried to follow lyndsays career and try to watch most things hes ever been in . for example (Get some in) which was before C.S then after seconds out i think he went back to stage work and serious acting and i had not seen much of him until the Horatio hornblower series.
Now i hear that hes back to his sitcom roots with another popular show on TV now but i have not had the honor to see just yet.
Again great service from Amazon and ive just ordered series 3-4 of citizen smith .
Great nostalgic TV that brings back so many memories and the precursor of Only Fools and Horses for which i have all the series of.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Great to see this classic sit com again, I was a little worried it would appear dated. I shouldn't of worried it holds firm as a great comedy and is still as funny now as it was originally, a real treat to watch and enjoy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Still has funny as l remembered, good quality dvd
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
As a youngster I loved this series. Yes it is a bit dated but it's still funny to a certain generation. Loved watching it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
I lost my set of dvds or someone perhaps borrowed them so I had to replace them as its the second best comedy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)