Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK STAR - The Best !
I was very keen to see this film when it was on at the local cinema, and was not disappointed. In fact I liked it so much I could not wait for the Region 2 DVD release, and ordered the Region 1 version immediately, and also the soundtrack album. I have enjoyed watching it several times, you notice something new each time, The atmosphere at the concerts is tremendous, and...
Published on 17 Jun 2002 by Mrs. G. R. Baldwin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dirty disc
When I first played the disc it wouldn't work. There are a few scrathces but the main problem was how dirty it was. It worked alright afetr a clean but I'm dissapointed at the state the disc was in when sent to me.
Published 7 months ago by Leah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK STAR - The Best !, 17 Jun 2002
By 
Mrs. G. R. Baldwin (Spalding LIncolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I was very keen to see this film when it was on at the local cinema, and was not disappointed. In fact I liked it so much I could not wait for the Region 2 DVD release, and ordered the Region 1 version immediately, and also the soundtrack album. I have enjoyed watching it several times, you notice something new each time, The atmosphere at the concerts is tremendous, and the acting is too. Mark Wahlberg plays a thoroughly nice guy who is suddenly granted his greatest wish, to front his favourite band Steel Dragon. Jennifer Aniston gives a terrific performance as his very supportive girlfriend and manager. This is a film that has been reviewed in all the DVD magazines,and I think they have criticised it most unfairly. It is a brilliantly produced film , with good acting, great music and it makes you feel good too. Don't take any notice of the DVD magazines, give it a try, it's really worth watching , many times !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING, 8 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
First of all let me start off by saying that although Rock star didn't do very well at the box office, I thought it was a lot of fun and it made for an enjoyable hour and three quarters viewing. Loosely based on the life of Tim 'Ripper' Owens, the office supplies salesman who replaced Rob Halford in Judas Priest, Rock Star combines satire, morality, romance and a good old fashioned rags to riches storyline.
So what's the plot? Salesman and ordinary working stiff Chris Cole (Mark Wahlberg) and wannabe rock star has been obsessed for years in his devotion to British heavy metal band Steel Dragon. As part of a tribute band, he is derided by his older brother who feels he should get a real job and his devotion to mimicry is so much that even his fellow tribute band members are sick of him, and they eventually dump him. Comforted by his patient and devoted girlfriend (Jennifer Anniston) Chris swears that he will prove them all wrong but he even he is shocked when he is invited to audition as the replacement singer in the band he adores. Of course he wins the gig and so begins a journey through the world of a rock idol, full of drugs, groupies, drink and general excessive behaviour.
I'm not quite sure why this movie wasn't that successful. Sure it's not the greatest movie you will ever see and it offers no original insight but there's also very little to dislike about it. Critics may complain that it's neither full on satire such as 'This Is Spinal Tap' or that it is full of clichés but this is a movie that doesn't take itself too seriously and does not try to portray reality. Mark Wahlberg is perfectly cast as Chris Cole and Jennifer Anniston gives a very pleasing and likeable performance as Chris's loyal girlfriend, whilst some of the supporting turns (particularly from Timothy Spall as the seen it all before manager) are excellent too. Stephen Herek's direction is perfectly paced and unlike most modern movies it is not overlong and it feels shorter than it actually is. It has some truly excellent moments and you could do much worse than to check this out on a Saturday night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 1 Jun 2002
By 
Jiri Hasman "Jirka" (Breclav,Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Obligatory for all Mark Wahlberg fans!By day Chris Cole(Wahlberg) repairs photocopiers. By night he takes the stage as frontman for a tribute band emulating Steel Dragon, the world's hottest heavy-metal band. Then, suddenly, opportunity rocks: Chris is tapped to become Steel Dragon's new lead singer. Just like that, he goes from small-town nobody to megastar. Just like that, he and his manager/girlfriend Emily(Jennifer Aniston) enter a world crazier than eigther imagined. Stephen Herek directs this knowing, chord-crunching, hair-whipping look at 80's arena rocks and the price of Fame. Filled with the style, strut and feel of an era, Rock Star gets right. Long may it shine.Simple funny story. Mark Wahlberg brilliantly play role Chris Cole in this movie.Wahlberg played and sing!Listen soundtrack with fictious band Steel Dragon (Wahlberg sing)or Chris Cole Band(lead singer Wahlberg) and much more band : Bon Jovi, Kiss and much more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun and cool, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
this is a fun film, the plots not great but the concert scenes are well done and the musc is fantastic. the main comedy in the film the irony that can be missed easily. for example the two tribute bands getting ready to fight one another, each begins to fight there double. defnatly an entertaining film worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dirty disc, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
When I first played the disc it wouldn't work. There are a few scrathces but the main problem was how dirty it was. It worked alright afetr a clean but I'm dissapointed at the state the disc was in when sent to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this film rocks..., 25 April 2009
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
this is a true film to let everyone out there
know it is possible to follow your dreams
and to never give up hope while doing this...
and to reach for the stars and never let anyone tell you different...follow your heart :) :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Rock Star!!, 9 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. Jm Bott (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Star [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
An absolutly amazing film about becoming your idol and realising your dreams. Superb acting and great directing makes this a must see for fans of heavy rock!!! Rock on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will appeal to everyone's inner rock star, 17 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The problem with films featuring "live" concert sequences is that it always looks and sounds fake - the performances are obviously lip-synched to backing tracks and the result is somewhat less than convincing. This is the main problem with "Rock Star". The concert sequences are supposed to convey the excitement of a live gig - and to a certain extent they do - yet Mark Wahlberg is obviously miming to a voice that clearly is not his, and this ruins the effect altogether.
That niggle aside, there is much to enjoy here. Anyone who has ever daydreamed about swapping the drudgery of everyday life for the life of a rock star will relate to this tale, loosely based on the story of Tim "Ripper" Owens, who went from singing in a Judas Priest tribute band to actually replacing Rob Halford as lead singer of Judas Priest.
Mark Wahlberg surprises with a nearly convincing performance (I say nearly due to the aforementioned lip-synching discrepancies) as the dreamer plucked from a dead-end job and a part-time existence singing in a tribute band to his heroes, Steel Dragon, to actually replace his hero in the real Steel Dragon.
What follows in this 80's-set comedy drama is fairly predictable but fun nonetheless. Jennifer Aniston provides solid support as Wahlberg's grounded girlfriend who quickly tires of life on the road, and Timothy Spall is wonderful as ever as the wise (if a little lecherous) road manager.
For me, though, the most touching performance came from one of the film's non-actor stars - Jason Bonham, son of Led Zeppelin's John, a drummer who played on much of the film's soundtrack and appears as Steel Dragon's drummer. In a short scene between him and Wahlberg, he encourages him to "live the life" - whilst hooked up to the dialysis machine to which his "living the life" has led him. This short speech is delivered with such pathos and natural skill that he outshines his co-stars, and in many ways it sums up the general point of the film - that there is a definite dark side to the outwardly glamourous life of the rock star.
Other than that, it's formulaic but fun. There is many a cliche to be seen (yes, a TV does get thrown out of a window), and the 80's metal soundtrack will almost have you regretting chopping off your mullet.
But it does suffer from a sense of deja-vu - after all, after "Spinal Tap", what more can be said about the 80's rock scene? That, and Wahlberg's atrocious lip-synching (are we really expected to believe that it's actually his voice we are hearing?) let the film down. Otherwise, it's enjoyable fare and may well have you thinking "If only..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars CRAP, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Worst film I've ever seen. So bad I didn't even want to sell it or give it to anyone - it went straight in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film for rock fans., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Star [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Can't stop listening to Steel Dragon since I have watched this. Mark Wahlberg is one of my favourite actors. Brilliant film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Star [DVD] [2001]
Rock Star [DVD] [2001] by Stephen Herek (DVD - 2002)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews