Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best of the best!!!, 13 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I'll put it simply: AufPet is the best British comedy-drama of all time. Nothing more needs to be said. Get it, watch it, enjoy it, love it. If you only know AufPet from the recent (and in my view, inferior) BBC series then get hold of these discs and see what you've been missing.
This is the second series and in my view the very, very best. If you thought the first series was fantastic then you'll be blown-away by this one - it's just so good! This AufPet at it's peak and even with the tragic loss of Gary Holton, during the final run-in of the production, the top-notch quality of this excellent TV series is kept up from the very first scene to the very last.
Picture: The transfer to DVD is very good given the poor-quality of the original TV video recordings. Extras: Given that this is the best British comedy-drama of all time these are merely adequate, but could - and should - have been a lot, lot better. The disks have Filmographies, Stills Galleries, Trivia, Classic Quotes and a Quiz. There is an Audio Commentary by Dick Clement and Ian La Frenais for the episode 'Scoop' which is a lot more interesting than their first attempt on the series 1 DVD set.
Important 'versions' info: The two scenes cut for copyright reasons from 'Cowboys' and 'Hasta La Vista' in the original 90's VHS versions have been fully reinstated, as also has the Tim Healy tribute to Gary Holton, preceding the last episode 'Quo Vadis, Pet', which was left off this VHS release. Carlton have also restored most of the scenes around the commercial breaks that were cut or shortened in the 90's VHS release. The original Central Television pre-broadcast masters could not be found so 'fade in and out' has been used to edit out the break titles. This was the only way it could be done and the final result, while not perfect, is pretty good.
Verdict: 7 out of 10 for the DVDs; INFINITY out of 10 for content!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than series 1, 5 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I watched AWP series one and two when they first came out on telly. I watched them again when the whole shooting match was repeated on ITV. I taped both series (26 episodes) the third time they were shown, and I've watched them over and over again when they've been shown on Bravo, Granda + or any of the other satellite channels.
The first series was an exercise in character building. By the time the second series starts, you know all of the main characters. You know that Oz is a hooligan, Wayne is a cockney wide-boy with an eye for the ladies, Dennis is their hard-grafting boss, Neville is the sensitive one, Bomber is the gentle giant, Barry is the boring brummy and Moxy is Moxy. Whereas the first series was pretty much the same situation repeated over and over again, with a slightly different story (i.e. the lads wake up in their hut, Oz swears, they do a tiny bit of work, then it's the weekend, they have a daft adventure), the second story has four different locations (Birmingham, Derbyshire, Newcastle and Spain) and a host of new characters (Ally Fraser, his girlfriend Vicky, Barry's apprentice Trevor, Kenny Ames, Harry Blackburn, Arthur "Tiger" Pringle to name but a few). This is one hell of a story, and there is real continuity here. It makes sense to watch this from episode 1 to episode 13, whereas with series one you could watch any one episode out of sequence and it would still make sense.
Here's a very short summary of the plot:
Barry has invited all his old pals who he lived and worked with in Germany to help him do up his new house that he and his fiancee (soon to be wife) will live in. Dennis and Neville borrow a Jaguar belonging to Dennis's gangster boss to get down to Birmingham, and while there they crash it. Dennis's boss is none too happy, but when he finds out why Dennis took his car, he employs the seven to do up a stately home he has bought from another crooked friend who is now living in Spain. Once the house has been done up, the lads then get offered the job of building a swimming pool and patio for the same boss at his villa in Malaga.
Wherever the lads are, misfortune and comic situations follow them around. Particular highlights are when Barry and Oz get caught poaching by the gamekeeper, Arthur Pringle and Wayne battling whenever they meet, Barry attending a business conference while looking for Hazel, Oz singing in the country-and-western pub, getting caught skinny-dipping in the posh ex-patriots swimming pool, Barry slagging off criminals to Terry Leather, the biggest criminal of all, and driving down to Gibraltar for the day and getting lost.
You can also play "Spot the bits that were filmed after Gary Holton died", because the number of times that Wayne's at a disco, or Wayne's chatting up the hotel receptionist, or Wayne's gone to the casino, when the other six are all present, becomes a bit obvious towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lads return, 19 Sept. 2004
By 
D. Evans "dantheman95" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
The early 1980s saw the emergence of two television series destined to still be talked about some 20 years after their original broadcast, Boys From The Blackstuff and Auf Wiedersehen Pet. Both dealt with social issues such as unemployement and the
reality of living in Thatcher's Britain. However while Blackstuff was a bleak and harrowing portrait of a group of men desperate but unable to get out of their situation, Auf was more optimistic in its outlook, with the men deciding to go abroad to Germany too find work. The latter also contained more humour with the audience laughing at the antics of the unbearable OZ and boring Barry. The series proved to be a huge success, making overnight successes of its actors. In 1986 the programme returned, and the first half of the series is certainly as good as the previous series. The social issues mentioned above are less at the forefront in series 2 and 2 of the characters, Wayne and Barry, have done quite well for thmeselves in the 3 years since Germany. We reunite with them as the lads are invited to help decorate Barry's house prior to his impending wedding. The series then moves to Derbyshire, where the lads are recruited to
renovate a manor house owned by a Geordie gangster to whom Dennis has got himself into debt. Dennis, excellently played by
Tim Healy now has a broken marriage, no money and a drink addiction. Moxey also has many problems, as he is on the run from Prison. We see the other characters attempting to help them. The series loses its way in the last episodes set in Spain, seeing the lads in the Costa living it up takes the series too far from the gritty reality of industrial Germany, and the storyline about them being mistaken for British armed robbers is also not a good. A further problem is that in the latter episodes we are suddenly introduced to Dennis girlfriend, who has not been mentioned previously. She is middle class, and the fact that she would go out with Dennis, with all his emotional baggge does not ring true. The sad death of Gary Holton, also reduces the role of Wayne in the Spanish episodes.
However these are the only criticisms to what is a programme far superior to most drama on today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of British, 15 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
There's not much to add to what other reviewers have already said about Auf Wiedersehn , Pet, but I'll add my two pennies worth anyway. The second series of Aufpet was every bit as good as the first, a remarkable achievement considering the tragic events that struck the production. The fact that the show is as terrific as it is is surely the best tribute to Gary Holton there could be, as the original two series of Aufpet are surely the best British television series ever created, due to the perfect performances from all actors, major and minor, involved as much as the superb writing and direction. For me they have even more resonance these days as I'm working abroad myself. If you've only recently discovered Aufpet thanks to the excellent third and fourth series do yourselves a favour and buy the first and second seasons; it will be the best money you ever spend on dvd's. The Office, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers, Father Ted, without doubt are the best in British comedy, but in my mind none are as consistently brilliant as Auf. Considering the state of television these days, I doubt we will ever see anything as good again - unless a fifth season is in the works....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Just Gets Better!, 6 July 2002
By 
G. Basford (Abriachan, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
If you thought the first series was good-you aint seen nothing yet. The main difference here being an ongoing storyline throughout the series, compared to the self contained episodes of the first series. All the characters have matured. Dennis is now divorced soon to be followed by Oz. Neville has a young daughter whilst Bomber has made money on the wrestling circuit. Barry now runs his own building firm and is engaged to Hazel, Moxey has been inside due to his old arson tendencies. Wayne is still the womanizer despite him having a child in Germany, and an ex-wife!
Bill Paterson plays Dennis`s boss, the villianous but extremely likeable Ally Fraser whom the gang end up working for, doing up his manor in Derbyshire and later in the series, his villa in Spain. The late Bryan Pringle is wonderful as the miserable pub landlord Arthur "Tiger" Pringle who is also a Porn movie star, quite by accident!
The sad point about this series was that halfway during filming Gary Holton, who played cockney Wayne, died... Saying that, it doesnt distract from the story whatsoever, as with clever re-writing and the occasional use of a double (from a distance), Gary as Wayne features in all the episodes with strong storylines. In fact if you didnt know he had died you wouldnt be able to tell at all. It is only during the later Spanish episodes that Wayne doesnt feature quite as much.
In my opinion this series is the best as all the actors are on razor sharp form. See the magnificent seven at their best, and miss this at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Back With The Boys Again", 6 April 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Auf Wiedersehen Pet was already a cult classic back in 1986, so there really needed a second outing for the Magnificent 7, with Dennis, the gaffer, Oz, the loud mouthed bigot, Neville, the nervous type, Bomber, the gentle West Country gent, Barry, the bumbling Midlander and Moxey (actually now he's called Brenden!), the pyromaniac and Wayne, the ladies man - all back for yet more fun.

This time, it's not Germany that is the centrepiece of this - it's Derbyshire, where the boys have to help Ally Fraiser, a less than all above board businessman turn a home into an old people's home, but many funny and silly moments. Dennis owes Ally money, so he has to get the gang to help him out, not before they ruin Barry's marriage prospects and make a complete mess of Arthur's hotel.

Some of the best episodes include the one where Oz is arrested for poaching from the local stream, Barry ending up in a meeting that he's not meant to be at, Arthur catching Wayne doing what he does best, then blackmailing him so the boys can drink at the pub, and the one where Oz knocks out one of Ally's bouncers.

This is just as good as series one for me, it's funny and still is good 20 years on. My favourite characters include Moxey and Barry, I think they really do have the best lines in this comedy. It was really sad to see Gary Bolton pass away during filming though, but it's wonderful this DVD set has come out to remember the funny and naughty things he used to do.

This is well worth getting, but I would wait for the 25th anniversary edition due soon, which will have every season on it, including the not so popular 2000 series - which for me, went too far and were not as good.

Worth watching all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magnificent Seven return, 2 April 2009
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Series 2 is an improvement on the already high standard set in series 1. Providing a single story for the whole 13 episodes works well and with the variety of locations the formula never gets staid. All the characters have been allowed to develop and this works well, although developments behind the scenes work less well. Jimmy Nail's sudden interest in singing is to the detriment of the Oz character, and the death during filming of Gary Holton takes some of the gloss off the entertainment.

In fact the final segment set in Spain for which Gary could only film a handful of scenes is frankly a mess. Storylines don't make sense, characters repeatedly talk about things that weren't filmed or they have to cover up for his lack of presence. Every time someone reports that Gary is in the bar or chasing a woman outside you have to groan.
The understandably messy ending aside this is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Searching for happier days, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Alistair Drake (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I taped this series like series one on video when it screened originaly but over the years the tape has deteriorated so badly I needed to buy the DVD version.

I loved this program right from the first episode and have played all the episodes religiously about twice a year for the last 10 years.

Call me sentimental or crazy if you like but this series and characters are brilliant and its joy will never fade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second dose of great comedy, 22 July 2003
By 
Richard "Chappo" (Rochester NY, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This nice little box contains 4 DVDs containing the whole second series of AufPet. Once again we are with the "Magnificent Seven" as they work together to scratch a living. This time the series is based firstly in Derbyshire and then the action moves to Spain. In my opinion this series is just as funny as the first, if not better. The humour is still the same with all the characters retaining their funny aspects from series one. This time around there are a lot more extra characters that have more of a bearing on the storyline...but these enhance the episodes rather than dilute the humour.
The DVD's themselves are great..picture quality and sound are very good. The extras are a little thin but the set still represents good value. As with the series one set, the content is so good that you hardly feel the need for any extras.
I'm so glad to have this on my DVD shelf along with the series one set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!!!, 9 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
It is awesome to watch this classic TV series once again. I am addicted and can hardly stop watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1983]
£14.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews