Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Achievement
It is perhaps a sad testimony to my own lack of common sense that I assumed that Resident Evil wouldn't be very good. A huge fan of the series since the beginning I was however very disappointed with Resident Evil Zero. Although the story - the events leading up to Rebecca Chamber's appearance in the mansion in the original game was a good one, the reality was formulaic,...
Published on 20 Aug. 2004 by Mr. SCM Bell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected
Unfortunately the game did not play properly. After getting only about a minute into the game it stopped playing altogether. I understand that the game is quite old now and the discs are more delicate than nowadays blue rays, for instance, but I bought an item that did not work.
Published 11 months ago by SWR


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move forward for the series, 12 Feb. 2003
By 
Adam (Manchester, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
Everyone wondered why Capcom decided against the decision of putting this remake on the PS2 and defected to Nintendo but Capcom said that they knew what format they wanted the game to appear and the GameCube was the piece of hardware that would enable them to remake their original vision on and it seems that it has paid off.
I was amazed at the visuals despite the graphics being once again pre-rendered and I'm sure that those people who played the original on the PSOne, although I didn't, will be in awe even more at the difference between the two. This game offers more areas to explore and varying locations of items.
The story begins with a cut scene introducing the player to the game and bringing you in to the story. Your team are investigating the disappearance of a helicopter which was carrying your fellow team mates. After finding the helicopter along with one of your team mates you are chased by a pack of wild zombie dogs into the mansion. Depending on which character you have chosen, Chris Redfield or Jill Valentine the story can go two different ways and you can also change it at other various points of the game. Your objective is to search the mansion at first but eventually that objective changes to finding evidence of people being contaminated with a virus by the Umbrella Corporation.
The controls are one of the bad things about the game and can become frustrationg at times. You move your character using the control stick, aiming is with the R button and to fire is with the A button. Hoding the B button allows your character to run and tapping he C-stick turns your character 180 degrees which helps with fiddling about when trying to turn your character around to run away from something that is trying to kill you.
The length of the game is another issue although it depends on the player. For some people this will take up in excess of 20 hours but for those of you who are more experienced it will take less than about 15 hours but that shouldn't put you off.
Plug in your surround system turn up the volume and turn off all the lights and the game creates an incredible atmosphere of tension keeping you glued to the screen. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who wants a game that could scare them has good graphics and a good story to go with that. Until Resident Evil 0 is released at the beginning of next month, I would recommend anyone planning to buy it to buy this first as the story, which is a main factor of the game will make much more sense and your enjoyment will be enhanced. Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awesome, 11 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
Introduction
Well whats it all about? Ok. An Elite group S.T.A.R.S bravo team is sent to the Spencer Mansion to investigate strange events that have been going on. A few hours later, Bravo teams chopper goes down and they are lost without a trace... Alpha team is sent to investigate the dissapearance, while they are searching the grounds of the Mansion they are attacked, so they seek refuge in the mansion, where they thought it was safe, and thats where the nightmare/dream ;) begins....

Graphics
If i had to say one thing about the Graphics in Resident Evil, first i would pick my jaw up off the floor, then id tell you that they are the best ive seen in a videogame ever on any system, including PC. The graphics in RE are absolutely stunning to the point which you see in only the most lovingly crafted (yes..crafted) games. Every detail of every room in the mansion is near perfect. The backgrounds are extremely detailed being pre-rendered, but at the same time, are very alive. Chandileirs move, casting proper shadows as they do. Flames dance and lightning flashes, it will take your breath away.

Gameplay
Aaah the gameplay. In my opinion, the gameplay is Resident Evil is among the best in all the games i've played in my gaming life (about 13 years). The style of play is perfectly suited to the game environment. The fact that you cant jump, kick and do other moves of this sort only adds to the enjoyment of the game in my view. The character movement is generally smooth apart from the odd stuck to the wall part and the controls are responsive. One thing that would be good to see though is an analogue aiming system and specific hitboxes on the enemies, although the thrill of letting the shotgun loose on an enemy at close range still has not been surprasses (for me) in any other game that i have played. Overall though, near perfect gameplay with a superb atmosphere, but it is somewhat a matter of personal preference.

Sound
I know this is beginning to sound repetitive (no pun intended :)) but once again the sound is excellent. You'll walk into a room, take a few steps then stop and think 'wait, whats that noise?' and hear footsteps of an unknown foe, its truly terrifying when they speed up and you know theyve spotted you but you still cant see them. The amvience of the game is excellent, windows creak, trees sway in the wind, doors bang and dogs howl, all adding to the already uneasy atmosphere.

Originality
Well its not very original, its a remake and a 3rd person adventure game... but don't judge it on this in the slightest, there are plenty of surpise even for the RE veteran (I completed RE 1,2,3 and Directors cut for PS, got all the Extras and i was still surprised a lot)
Note: Originality does not factor into the overall review score because i dont think a game should be judged badly just because its similiar to others..

Replay Value
There is a high replay factor in the game. There are two scenarios and many things to unlock e.g Rocket Launcher and also when you get these you'll want to test them out on a few monsters amd teach those damn crimsons a lesson ;) So good replay value for the persistant Gamer..

Area Score
Graphics 97
Gameplay 98
Sound 95
Replay 90
Overall 96

Overall
Well how do i sum up such an excellent game? it's hard to do it in a few sentences as even in the full review i havent touched on a fraction of the game. What i will say is that its an absolutely brilliant game and my hat comes off to Capcom for managing to make a remake so good. Superb Graphics, excellent gameplay, atmospheric sound and a high replay value make Resident Evil a game no cube owner should be without. Go and buy this game now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil, 26 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. Richard J. S. Blake "Yetti" (UK, Stoke-On-Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
In 1996 people were amazed by this game as you free roamed around a mansion for the first half but in 2002 the re-make of resident evil made people believe in it more as it made the series continue. The game cube version was the first version I ever played and I was freaked out, realistic zombies, like the crimson's, Lisa who was a deformed one always freaked people out. Imagine walking around dark rooms and then into a corridor when suddenly a window cracks but nothing comes through but then when you come back to it a Hunter which is like a liazard or a zombie comes jumping or sliding through and scares you. You also have to conserve ammo, plan ahead burn as many zombie bodies as possible so they won't come back and know the mansion, open all locked doors from the other side and avoid all confrontation with monsters if not blow there head off. Storyline wise your either Chris Refield or Jill Valentine who are members of S.T.A.R.S. and they have been sent to Racoon Forest which is near the Arklay mountains to find Bravo Team except Bravo Team isn't there no more so they get chased into a nearby mansion by Cerberus. From here on everything comes a mystery that you have to solve as your captain, Albert Wesker and Barry always dissapear or if you play as Chris Jill dissapears so you have to find them and find out what's going on around here, I give the gamecube vrsion 5 stars! it's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repolished Silver, 28 Feb. 2004
By 
Christian Lowensprung (TRONDHEIM Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
One of the true reasons why you should get a gamecube. This game truly is amazing. I had some expectations towards the game when I bought it, but had no idea that the remake of Resident Evil would be so brilliant as it is. Firstly, I was astounded at the pure atmosphere, wow! And the graphics speaks for itself.
So let's keep this short and simple: This title is a must have for anybody who likes a good scare. Because this game is probably the biggest achievement to that end, for the gamecube. It is just too bad that Capcom didn't bother to remake the other gamecube games as well. A real shame. Resident Evil, first released on the Playstation, has gotten back its silver polish. You owe it to yourself to have it in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil (Gamecube Platform), 13 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
For the past 2years I have played many of the other Resident Evil titles on other console platforms, but upon purchasing this new, improved version of Capcom's first game designed for the PS1 I hadn't realised what I had gotten myself into. From the first sequences which explains the plot of the game I was hooked. The graphics were astonding and the attention to detail was incredible. As I played throughout the game I was hardly able to stop, this game of survival horror is both terrifying and exciting. The puzzles are challenging which kept me interested, and players are able to choose from either Chris Redfiled or Jill Valentine to play. Characters were brilliantly animated and there were many improved features such as flickering candlight, sound effects had improved and new footage was included. This game of survival horror is a must for all fans of puzzle, shoot-em-up and thriller games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most enjoyable survival horror to date!, 17 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
This remake of Resident Evil, without execption, has to be one of the most amazing games ever made. To start with the graphics look incredibly smooth and life-like; squint and it looks like you're watching a film. You have to bear in mind that this game was released nearly two years ago, and the visuals still manage to outshine 99% of all available games. A special mention has to go to the real-time shadows and lighting effects, which are pretty much gauranteed to make your jaw drop when you seee them. The haunting musical themes from the original game remain, but have been given something of an overhaul. The intro-sequence is near perfect as well, and the ultra-hammy acting from the original has been replaced with voice acting that is more than adequate. The mansion is considerably larger than it was in the original (about twice the size!) as there are plenty of new rooms added on, as well as all the familiar ones. On a final note,trust me when I say that the makers have done everything in their power to keep you on-edge, especially when playing for the first time. Enemies burst through doors, jump through windows, and come back to life(!) when you least expect it (sometimes completely at ramdom). You WILL be on-edge the first time through, even if you're a grand master of the original version. If you're a survival-horror fan, get your hands on this ASAP. If you're not familiar with the survival horror genre, then don't play this game alone at night. You have been warned...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Graphics! great control player!, 30 Jan. 2006
By 
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
Believe it or not! this game is a remake of Resident evil 1! and Boy this game is good! Left me feeLing confused, scared and nightmares?! lol. I seriously can not put anything moRe to words than how good this game is. Been completing this game like whoooo 10 times! still amazing!!
CHARACTER, ACTION, MOVEMENT AND THRILLER! 10/10!!!! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make em like this anymore., 27 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Oliver Tatlow "Ol" (Bradfrod, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
This game is absolutely brilliant. It's a proper old fashioned survival horror adventure game. The difficulty, atmosphere and storyline are all absolutely spot on. At the start of the game you're chased through a forest by some rather nasty looking dogs and take refuge in a spooky looking mansion. After that you're on your own, you just have to start exploring the mansion and try to figure out how to escape. The game doesn't hold your hand and guide you through every stage start to finish like modern games do. it's properly challenging. This is by far the best Resident Evil game ever made. I wish Capcom would make more like this rather than the rubbish they're churning out these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 9 July 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
I first heard about the Resident Evil series years ago, the backstory fascinated me and when the gamecube REmake came out I finally got my chance to play the series. What a stunning introduction it was.

Not only does the Resident Evil series have such an immersive and interesting backstory to it - it also combines that with great and intense gameplay.

The sheer terror of, say, a re-animated Crimson Head sprinting after you or the shuffling, shambolic monstrosity that is Lisa Trevor slowly coming towards you - has not been matched for me in any of the other resident evil games I've played. There's also a hefty array of weaponry to rely upon, as well as the usual puzzles and items.

Graphically the game is simply amazing, having seen screens of the PS2 version the improvement is extremely marked. The visuals of the mansion, with the sometimes confusing, but atmospheric, camera angles, and the sheer levels of detail that have been attended to are stunning.

One, minor, gripe for me would be the control system, the movement is a bit wooden and I was slightly frustrated with the aiming possibilities of up, straight ahead, and the floor - remedied in Resident Evil 4 - but this is hardly enough to detract from an extremely well deserved 5 star rating.

Buy the game, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on the cube (except for Res 0 of course!), 29 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Resident Evil (GameCube) (Video Game)
After I completed this game I wanted to write a review straight away, this game is full of suspense, gore, action, amazing graphics, great storyline, all you could ask for in a game, also it has two disks, so you getting your moneys worth! Also it uses tactics, you can go Jill and have more slots to carry stuff around, or you can go Chris and be a lot stronger than Jill. From start to finish, it's full of mindboggling puzzles, great enemies including zombies, hunters, chimeras, and crimson heads, so many weapons including pistol, self defence gun, shotgun, magnum, grenade launcher, flame thrower, and right at the end a MARK I ROCKET LAUNCHER. It really does take time to complete this game, the best stratergy is to find out what to do then reload your game and do it to save time, as if you do it under 5 hours you'll get a special gun, I won't spoil the surprise. To completye the game ( not including time to work it out ) for my first time was 6 and a half hours. cleary worth the £25 good old Amazon here are offering. But thats not your lot, when you complete it, you get extra costumes and a once again mode. Complete once again mode and get some pretty amazing modes after that, so theres a lot more than 6 hours to get through, and its certainly a game you can play and play again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil (GameCube)
Resident Evil (GameCube) by Capcom (GameCube)
Used & New from: £4.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews