Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respect - Aretha Franklin
Everybody needs an Aretha Franklin CD in their collection. 'Respect' has 43 classic hits, some guaranteed to make you reach for the microphone and shake your booty, others sure to heal a broken heart. Not only are her more famous hits such as 'I Say a Little Prayer' and 'Think' on the album, Aretha also sings 'Bridge over Troubled Water' and 'Let it Be' in her...
Published on 8 July 2002 by izzyberg

versus
49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the remastering.
There are plenty of reviews about this particular double CD which comment on the excellence of the musical content and Aretha's voice. My only concern is the poor remastering, which is a disgrace, someone at Warner Music should be shot !!! Most of the tracks have a strong background hiss which detracts from the excellence of the music. There is no excuse for this, as...
Published on 17 April 2005 by Christopher W. Brierley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respect - Aretha Franklin, 8 July 2002
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
Everybody needs an Aretha Franklin CD in their collection. 'Respect' has 43 classic hits, some guaranteed to make you reach for the microphone and shake your booty, others sure to heal a broken heart. Not only are her more famous hits such as 'I Say a Little Prayer' and 'Think' on the album, Aretha also sings 'Bridge over Troubled Water' and 'Let it Be' in her distinctive, soulful voice. This is a timeless collection, ideal as a gift for a music lover of any age. Even youngsters are sure to enjoy this Diva's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of soul, 1 Mar. 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
Aretha's best work, showcased here, proves that she has justly earned her title as Queen of soul despite some ups downs in her long career. Aretha took a long time to establish herself but once signed to Atlantic, she found a producer (Jerry Wexler) who was able to make the most of her distinctive talents.
Aretha has had many major hits in America although she has not been particularly successful in the British singles charts. During her time with Atlantic, Aretha had two UK top ten hits (Respect, I say a little prayer) and two other UK top twenty hits (Don't play that song, Spanish Harlem). All those hits are included here, together with many of Aretha's other classic recordings for Atlantic, some of which were minor UK hits but all of which did much better as singles in America. These classics include Think, You make me feel like a natural woman, I never loved a man they way I loved you, Chain of fools, Do right woman do right man, Angel, Since you've been gone and Until you come back to me.
With Aretha's distinctive voice and delivery, her cover versions are always interesting. Surprisingly, Satisfaction (Rolling Stones) is omitted, but Bridge over troubled water (Simon and Garfunkel), Oh no not my baby (Maxine Brown) and Let it be (Beatles) are among those included.
Aretha eventually left Atlantic, joining Arista in 1980. This rejuvenated her career although she never quite achieved the level of success that she had in her early years with Atlantic. However, she had two major international hits via duets - Sisters are doing it for themselves (with the Eurythmics) and I knew you were waiting for me (with George Michael), the latter becoming a number one hit in Britain (where it remains her only number one hit) and America. She also just missed the UK top ten with Who's zooming who - but most of her UK hits in the eighties were minor hits, just as they had been in her Atlantic years.
This compilation, spanning several decades of Aretha's music, clearly shows why she is regarded as the Queen of soul. There are many Aretha compilations to choose from, but if you want one covering her whole career, this is as good as you are likely to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the remastering., 17 April 2005
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
There are plenty of reviews about this particular double CD which comment on the excellence of the musical content and Aretha's voice. My only concern is the poor remastering, which is a disgrace, someone at Warner Music should be shot !!! Most of the tracks have a strong background hiss which detracts from the excellence of the music. There is no excuse for this, as today's electronics and computer software can even clean up ancient 78's and make them sound far better than this!!! Unfortunately I do not know what alternative album to advise people to buy. TRY BEFORE YOU BUY.
PS. I SHOULD HAVE ADDED THIS YEARS AGO, BUT SEE B00002537O AND READ MY REVIEW, PERFECT SUBSTITIUTE FOR THIS HISSY ALBUM, HOWEVER, SINCE RESPECT WAS ISSUED A WHILE AGO, I WONDER IF IT'S BEEN IMPROVED BY DECENT REMASTERING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of a Breathtaking Career, 8 April 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
This excellent collection amply demonstrates the major contribution the Queen of Soul made to popular music over almost forty years. On Disc One, my personal favourites include her amazing interpretation of Spanish Harlem which was a huge hit in 1971, the vocally innovative Chain Of Fools, the urgent Don’t Play That Song, and the lovely lilting You’re All I Need To Get By. Disc Two kicks of with her assertive Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves, the powerful duet with Annie Lennox which saw her re-establishing herself in the middle 1980s and includes the catchy Freeway Of Love from the same period. It also contains her beautiful versions of The Beatles’ Let It Be and Simon & Garfunkel’s Bridge Over Troubled Water from the early 70s. In the sixties, Aretha’s soul was more rootsy than Motown, in other words, you had to work a little bit harder to fully appreciate it, but when Disco arrived in the mid 70s, her star faded a bit since she never really had consistent commercial success in that era. But her return in the eighties saw some great music again, like the album from which Freeway Of Love was drawn. This is a comprehensive compilation of her greatest hits and always a pleasure to listen to. Not many artists have such an impressve portfolio or have consistently made such brilliant music over 4 decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BODY OF WOK, 13 May 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
This excellent collection amply demonstrates the major contribution the Queen of Soul made to popular music over almost forty years. On Disc One, my personal favourites include her amazing interpretation of Spanish Harlem which was a huge hit in 1971, the vocally innovative Chain Of Fools, the urgent Don’t Play That Song, and the lovely lilting You’re All I Need To Get By. Disc Two kicks of with her assertive Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves, the powerful duet with Annie Lennox which saw her re-establishing herself in the middle 1980s and includes the catchy Freeway Of Love from the same period. It also contains her beautiful versions of The Beatles’ Let It Be and Simon & Garfunkel’s Bridge Over Troubled Water from the early 70s. In the sixties, Aretha’s soul was more rootsy than Motown, in other words, you had to work a little bit harder to fully appreciate it, but when Disco arrived in the mid 70s, her star faded a bit since she never really had consistent commercial success in that era. But her return in the eighties saw some great music again, like the album from which Freeway Of Love was drawn. This is a comprehensive compilation of her greatest hits and always a pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Soul Fans!, 21 July 2007
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
This is a truly brilliant album by the greatest female soul singer of all time. It includes virtually all her greatest hits and a superb version of "Son Of A Preacher Man" which exceeds the Dusty Springfield verson. Aretha Franklin had the gift of making every song she sang her own. Even Otis Redding's "Respect" is immediately associated with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very rich souffle, 26 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
This exhaustive CD collection yo-yos in price a great deal from budget to full-price, so pick the right time to purchase! I didn't especially want to purchase a double CD of Aretha Franklin's music but in order to obtain all her hits (and actually there aren't really all that many of them)this seemed to be the best option available of the compilations currently around.

Actually, this purchase was an eye-opener, for the lady can really sing and brings out emotion in a song. Very gutsy style, and when her material is great eg Say a little prayer, Respect, Sisters are doing it for themselves, I knew you were waiting for me, et al Aretha Franklin is out there on her own. Just compare her version of I say a little prayer with Dionne Warwick's weaker original!

In terms of music quality, the first CD is outstanding; even songs I didn't recognise grab attention immediately. The second CD is where the quality starts slipping away, but the CD begins and ends well with Aretha's more upbeat hits, leaving only the middle part soggy - like a deflated souffle! Even her fantastic voice begins to grate, perhaps a double CD is just too much of a good thing.

In my opinion this collection would have been better edited down to a single CD, keeping all the big hits and weeding out the filler. But I am a casual fan, and for a true Aretha lover I think this collection would be sheer delight from begining to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE, 21 May 2006
By 
Ho Yew Fong "She3p" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
This compilation makes me dance and sing along. All the best in one..of course..there are other great ones which is not in here....of course..wat can you expect? She's got loads of great songs...and 2 Cds can't contain them all, but this album is really worth every penny. Just want to ensure you guys that this album is cool....but there's just one drawback...the quality of the album was compromised...well..it's not like you can't hear the music and Aretha's soulful voice...but I realized that with today's technology..it could have been done better...Enjoy~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Respect, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
If ever I was asked to recommend a good introduction to Aretha Franklins music I would always suggest two albums, this one and `Amazing Grace' which is a live gospel album.

This album offers a great taste of what Aretha has to offer and shows both the power and nuance of her voice very well. You get more well known tracks like `Think' and `Respect', as well as covers like `Jumpin' Jack Flash' which are interesting but not as great to be truly honest. You also get a few of her duets with the like of George Michael and Annie Lennox which are well known by now and very much of their time. This shows how she did more pop influenced stuff, as well as the gospel and soul so beloved by her fans.

Aretha has such a powerful voice it can give you goosebumps and this greatest hits collection is a good double album showing just why that is so. Well worth checking out if you are new to her music and a great selection of tracks for existing fans.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection, 12 Jan. 2009
By 
P. Holden (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin (Audio CD)
This is a fine selection and it IS as good as many of the other reviewers suggest!
I have a copy with no audible hiss so it may be a couple of reviewers have been unlucky.
Just hope you get a 'clean' one, I guess; then turn it up and enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin
Respect - The Very Best Of Aretha Franklin by Aretha Franklin (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews