Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2005
Cesaria Evora is one of the great stars of world music, and this CD is on many lists as an "essential recording" in this genre. Born in 1941 in Sao Vicente (Cape Verde Islands), Cesaria has known the toughest of times in her youth, and was a mature woman before reaching the recognition she so richly deserved. "Mis Perfumado" was recorded in 1992, and is one of her very finest albums; with her soft, warm honey voice, and a heart well acquainted with the sorrow of lost love, she is undoubtedly the quintessential interpreter of "morna", a style of song reminiscent of the Portuguese fado combined with the rhythms of West Africa.
The songs on this CD are lilting, melodic gems, most with a nice slow swing to them, with a few that are more up-tempo, like tracks # 3, 10, and the fabulous "Angola" (# 6), which is my favorite number on the CD.
Four of the tracks (# 2, 7, 9, 11) were written by Cesaria's prolific uncle Francisco (better known as B. Leza), as well as three by one of Francisco's followers, Manuel de Novas (# 3, 4, 12). The musicianship is marvelous throughout this recording, and a lot of the world-wide success of this CD is owed to the masterful arrangements and piano artistry of Paulino Viera, whose solos add much to the beauty of the music, as does the haunting violin playing by Malaquias Costa featured in the final "Tortura".
A good place to start your Cesaria Evora collection, the sound is quite good and total playing time is 59'29.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2001
Cesaria Evora - everything that comes out of her mouth is real gold. Every song, every verse, every word she sings is full of emotions, passion, joy and sadness in the same time. Here, in "Miss Perfumado", as well: she is the Queen. She possesses and controls so perfect every subtlety from which music is made, the very essence of it. Evora is the Master in story telling, she just starts singing, and within light-seconds she has entered the very bottom of your heart. And you wish that she never stops singing. Pure beauty in its most perfect form.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
I cannot find any fault with this music. Every track is a pleasure to listen to, whether it is slow or fast - and this is very rare: usually there are always a few tracks on any CD which don't appeal. The singing is beautiful, evocative, relaxing, and the instrumental backing is excellent - restrained, never dominating, and in perfect harmony with the singer. It could be played in any situation - a romantic candle-lit meal, a party or as general background music - and no-one could possibly object. Like a lot of the other music I listen to on BBC Radio 3's 'Late Junction' - you would never hear it on other more popular radio stations; in this particular case, Cesaria Evora's singing deserves a wider audience.

A few days before I received this CD, I heard of the death of Cesaria Evora. This sad news is tempered by the knowledge that the haunting beauty of her voice will live on to give pleasure to all who hear it and - like other great singers - who possess this gift of God, bring beauty and light into our lives.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
Having been enchanted by fado one warm night years ago by hearing live singing drift across Lisbon from a hillside bar to an adjacent park on another hill, I was delighted recently to find this CD after her sad death. It has the rhythms of Spain, Portugal and a touch of Africa as befits her Cape Verde upbringing. It is the unadorned authentic fado voice with guitar, and sometimes piano, as one might have heard it in any of the small or later large venues in which she performed. The insert contains all the spanish words if one wishes to follow or use it learn more of the language. Her soulful voice bears witness to a hard life as with so many great artists. I heartily recommend this CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
The delivery arrived on time and I am well pleased with the quality of the CD. Splendid... I grew up with music from Cesaria Evora, as I share the same background as hers and yet the more I listen to it the more a Love it. I recomend it to anyone who has a love of world music....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Yes, Cesaria is a favourite. I will miss her but keep her records beside you in remembrance of a beautiful soulful voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
As with most of Caesarias work, the voice and emotion with which she imbues her work make the recordings essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
She deserves to be better known in the UK. I will buy another of her cds. Have a nice day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2009
A beautiful, enchanting CD. Cesaria Evora has a wonderful heart felt voice that is both captivating and full of emotion. Sit back, listen and enjoy this wonderful CD.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
What a strong vibrant voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.13

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)