Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The twisted brain-wrong of a one-off man mental
So goes the lead-in line on one of Brass Eye's reports, and it could equally sum up this brilliant series, which is surreal and vicious in almost equal measure.
It is shocking in places, aiming to prick the humbug Morris sees in modern broadcast journalism. He was a practitioner himself once, and would have made a very good journo in another universe, but you get the...
Published on 10 Feb 2003 by G. King

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Found it very disappointing after all the good reviews here!
Published 2 months ago by Beetzme


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TV can be funny . . ., 14 July 2009
By 
M. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Eye [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Well worth revisiting the TV work of Chris Morris. We're used to some of the deadpan and not-so-deadpan spoofery on show here but at the time it really felt like the shock of the new. Even today, the material and techniques stand up very well indeed. And, as with The Thick Of It, we have seen life imitating art with some media types seeing in these sketches a kind of mad template of how to actually present the news and so on. And the harm in duping celebrities . . . ? Very funny stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shatners bassoon, 18 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. C. Carthew "christoff" (saltash, cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Eye Series and Special [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Brass Eye is simply one of those shows that some get and others don't. It combines silly humour with satire and the result is a pleasing mix that makes you wish more episodes were made. Each person that watches seems to have at least one or two moments that stand out. For me, Noel Edmonds "Shatners Bassoon" and Morris attempting to score some "clarky cat" off a "bozz-bozz" in the hope of getting a bit "bluety" just make me smile at thinking about them.

If you're curious to find out more, buy the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Eye [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
I'm not going to say the Brass Eye series was flawless, but for comedy I have to say it's as close to flawless as I could hope to witness. I like the Day Today and Jam, but Brass Eye will always be my favourite Chris Morris show and any comedy show for that matter. Whether it's ridiculing celebrities (the phrase "air brick" still sends me into hysterics) or simple sketches, I still find every Brass Eye episode excellent despite watching them ad nauseum (this was my teatime viewing in that nasty period where the Simpsons stopped being shown on BBC2 but hadn't started on channel 4 yet).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with Swift, 7 May 2002
This review is from: Brass Eye Series and Special [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This series puts Chris Morris out of Not the Nine O'Clock news territory and into the pantheon of great English satirists... Undoubtedly the best episode is "Drugs", in which Morris gets celebrities to say the most astonishing things about a non-existent chemical which affects "Shatner's bassoon"...BR>Morris not only highlights the great and the good's credulity when offered airtime and publicity, but more profoundly the way in which society's problems are ascertained and dealt with, and the way in which our perception of the world is controlled and manipulated by the commercial demands of television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 13 Jan 2007
By 
Chantelle Nichols "Channie Dylan" (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Eye Series and Special [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Brass Eye is one of the best British comedies ever made in my opinion, it suits my sense of humor perfectly. A fantastic purchase for those with a...lets say unconventional taste in comedy! =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars america couldn't even come close to something this smart and edgy, 11 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Brass Eye Series and Special [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
being a yank, that's my intro. there really is no comparison to u.s./u.k. comedy. seeing as how my farovite shows have been british all my life, from pre-teen to teen (the young ones/monty python), till the stuff i've found as of late. anyway. the episodes are all great. sadly with the sex episode, despite the mindblowing intro and great line "why were you gobbling your gun like a c*ck", was pretty good. still, to have this as a show i could just turn on the telly and watch, i couldn't be so lucky.

the special was one of the best things i've ever seen, the rap was awesome with the doll attached to his crotch (amazing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 3 Sep 2008
By 
B. Key (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Eye [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is an absolute must buy - all the more so since almost everything it sends up has, sadly, become reality on too many TV channels.
Years ahead of its time, and still as fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic series, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Eye [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
One of the best satirical programmes ever - the Cake episode was a classic. The series changed the way that the Public Eye style of documentary programmes were made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Eye [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure gold, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Eye Series and Special [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Sublime lateral sketches of whimsy and mirth. Truly a joy to behold with all the fun and all the trimmings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brass Eye Series and Special [DVD] [1997]
Brass Eye Series and Special [DVD] [1997] by Christopher Morris (DVD - 2002)
£4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews