Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, especially if you fan of FPS
If you are a FPS fan like me, then this game is a must! More or less from the first door you enter its action packed, all the way to the end. I only played Quake 2 as I am more of a doom fan, but I was still a little concerned how they were going to continue the feel of Quake on a new state of the art graphics engine. well they did better then I could have imagined, it...
Published on 17 July 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth playing but far from essential
To sum up the essence of Quake 4 in a sentence: Quake 2 single player plus Quake 3 multiplayer plus Doom 3 graphics. That is to say the game features a fairly straightforward, you might even say oldschool campaign with the emphasis on moving from point a to point b while killing enemy after enemy. And while it lacks the uniqueness and variety gamers are increasingly...
Published on 26 Feb. 2006 by Stephen Stein


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, especially if you fan of FPS, 17 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
If you are a FPS fan like me, then this game is a must! More or less from the first door you enter its action packed, all the way to the end. I only played Quake 2 as I am more of a doom fan, but I was still a little concerned how they were going to continue the feel of Quake on a new state of the art graphics engine. well they did better then I could have imagined, it feels Quake-ish and the sounds are up-to-date, but still feels Quakes too!
The graphics are superb and even though the doom 3 engine is very detailed, it feels as if Quake 4 has much more detail and depth then Doom 3 even had. The environments are all slightly different, so if people are worried about the repetitiveness that Doom3 environments slightly had, then no worries here. Though do remember that you are on the Strong home planet and so all levels are going to feel Strog-ish....naturally!! The only tweak I had to do with this game was get a community made patch that made the bodies stay. I don't like it when bodies disappear in games so quickly. Ok I did this with Doom 3 too, but those demons evaporated in fire and could get away with it, but Quake 4 use a matrix type style disintegrate bodies after they die style and I personally thought it looks pants. Not only that, but unlike Doom 3, the enemies in Quake 4 charge at you all at once and there are many many more of them, so if you sit by a corner and take cover, shooting all that's runs around the corner, you end up with a lot of Strong bodies......it really does show how much you are killing and adds to the "its war" effect. Talking about the war, the invasion on the Strong home planet, really does feel like its happening. Air craft are being shot down, explosions everywhere, damaged buildings, waves of enemy attacks, tanks, walkers, turrets, everything you expect to be in a massive war zone is here. Including the bodies of both Strong and marines scattered everywhere.
PLOT SPOLIER - Many know already that after running about as a marine you eventually get captured and turned into a Strog. The process is not pleasant, it almost made my stomach turn! Having your legs cut of by a crude rip saw and implants welded onto you etc Though just before the Strog machines can activate your brain implants to make your mind fully Strong you get saved just in time. This is were the story gets interesting!!
Once a Strog you are the last hope of winning the war, you are used bit like a tool by the marines in their plot to win. Being strong gives you many advantages, stronger, faster, can pass through Strog defenses etc. I found my self fighting differently, I was not afraid to simply charge in and splatter anything that gets in my way, taking revenge on the Strog for what they did to me!!

The game play is fairly long, but again, so action packed!! I have played the game about three times now and enjoyed the experience every time. Music is good too that kicks in from time to time. You are not always alone and are helped by many different marines along the way. The strog are just brutal, sick, war machines and its portrayed very well in the game.....you just hate the Strog....their not just a target to shoot at like many games. Ok, this this review is long enough now, so go buy this game, you cant regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth playing but far from essential, 26 Feb. 2006
By 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
To sum up the essence of Quake 4 in a sentence: Quake 2 single player plus Quake 3 multiplayer plus Doom 3 graphics. That is to say the game features a fairly straightforward, you might even say oldschool campaign with the emphasis on moving from point a to point b while killing enemy after enemy. And while it lacks the uniqueness and variety gamers are increasingly demanding from their games, especially in the overcrowded FPS genre, this actually works to its advantage in many ways as, while it feels a little like a flashback to 1997, it gives the game a pretty refreshing feel, especially if you missed out on Quake 2.
The game follows on directly from Quake 2 with references to ‘some soldier taking down the Strogg leader’, allowing for a fullscale military invasion of Stroggos. You’ll immediately notice two things: firstly this game looks absolutely beautiful; the enhanced Doom 3 engine looks fantastic, the environments are delicious and the character models look much better – the whole plastic looking faces are gone, and secondly, the game starts in an almost painfully cliché way as you’re separated from your squad, forced to go it alone: but that quickly changes as you find yourself surrounded by fellow soldiers, sometimes fighting alongside them. It’s nowhere near as expansive as, say, Call of Duty 2 – but it does detract from the one man army feel FPS games tend to have. The outdoor sections also add to the feeling that you’re fighting a war as droids and tanks roll past to the chorus of machinegun fire.
The combat is bread and butter FPS stuff, enemies jumping from around corners with the classic Strogg ‘gyanchin’ type sounds, which I translate mostly as ‘Good day sir, might I interest you in a spot of DEATH!’ – then either shooting at you or charging in close to melee. You have no melee abilities yourself, which both forces you to keep your distance from the enemy and perhaps conjures fond memories of your pre-Halo days. The weapons available are pretty much the same as Quake 2 with a few additions – there’s a neat nailgun, a very fun-to-use lightning gun and a few other additions. I found myself thinking there were too many weapons in the game – and since only the blaster and machine gun have an attached torch, you’ll find you use the machine gun for most of the game anyway. But at least with so many weapons available (about 12), everyone will find a favourite in there.
To be blunt, absolutely nothing sets this game apart from the crowd, there’s nothing special – no neat features, nothing particular about this game – there’s no slow motion, no amazingly advanced artificial intelligence (the enemies hop from side to side, forcing you to adjust your aiming occasionally but that’s about as good as they get) and no neat set pieces or scripted events which are really memorable. But what Quake 4 does, and does excellently, is offers a no questions asked straight-forward killfest. Compared to recent entries into the FPS genre, ranging from last year’s FarCry and Half Life 2 to this year’s FEAR and Call of Duty 2, this game is bland and uneventful, linear and mainstream. But games don’t have to revolutionise the genre to be good games, and games don’t have to pass a two hundred point list of credentials to qualify as worth playing – Quake 4 is fast paced action with fun combat and top-class visuals. And while certainly not as good as the abovementioned games – it is nevertheless a fine addition to any games library and worth playing through.
The game mostly takes place indoors and looks absolutely amazing – the Strogg structures look great, and as you stalk through processing plants where human corpses hang on hooks, or power facilities where limbless, headless corpses have been integrated into power production, you’ll learn to hate the Strogg. Being a fusion of technology and biology, the Strogg buildings often have strange organs merged into the very structures, pulsating and making ominous moaning sounds when shot at. It adds an incredibly creepy atmosphere to the game – and although you’ll use your machinegun-mounted torch for most of the game, it’s when you turn it off and let the environmental lighting take over that the game really becomes something special.
The outdoor areas, which are thankfully few and far between, are bland and it’s clear the doom 3 engine is made for indoor environments. There are also a few vehicle moments, but they’re poorly implemented and nowhere near as exciting as those found in Half Life 2, or Escape from Butcher Bay, though they are pretty fast paced and one vehicle level features a very neat giant robot-spider boss.
The single player campaign lasts around eight hours, split down into around thirty levels each lasting about fifteen minutes each, meaning you can play for very small periods of time while feeling as though you’ve accomplished something – which may make the game stretch out and feel a lot longer than it actually is. The multiplayer plays exactly like Quake 3 did – but the player limit is sixteen rather than thirty two, and of course it looks a lot better.
The bottom line with Quake 4 is that it’s a game which offers a solid but straightforward single player experience and – if it’s your type of thing – a solid multiplayer experience. While the game is by no means essential, nor even highly recommended – it is worth a play and a decent addition to anyone’s games library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent FPS!!!, 26 Mar. 2007
By 
R. Surplice - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I couldn't put this game down until I had completed it. If you have played Doom 3, Half Life 2 etc then this is a wise purchase!! The graphics are amazing and so is the game play overall (Some levels are annoying in the fact you have to travel back on yourself). Blast your way through the levels working by yourself, with AI team members, or take control of vehicles. I found the game to be fairly challenging on normal. If you are an experienced FPS player you may want to start on a higher setting. Couldn't run the game on full as very high quality render settings require video card with 512MB. The graphics are amazing on high with everything else on full so you wont miss out on too much. I'm running P4 3.6Ghz, 1Gb Ram, Sapphire x850xt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clearly centred towards Single Player campaign, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
Arun (Rhyl, Wales) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is a great game. The graphics are amazing, the weapons are excellent (as are the mods which you recieve to weapons in-game) and I love fighting beside my AI team. Some great aspects of this game is the tension you feel when playing it. It has been developed amazingly, and you do get scared sometimes, like when you know an enemy is about to come for you, and out comes a never-seen-before monster. Wonderful.

Haven't played the multiplayer yet, but if gameplay is like F.E.A.R. with the Power-Ups of QuakeLive then it must be amazing.

Oh, one final thing - why 4* overall? Well, the single player can get slightly tedious. I say this because there are some instances, when in the hovercraft for example, where you think its going to end and it just continues. You have to keep on persevering, that's all, as it just feels a bit asphyxiating when you control the vehicles. Apart from, that, it's amazing - you get to fight good bosses, and the sewer map with the acid-puking zombies is absolutely fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, fun to play and a fantastic multiplayer - just needs more strategy., 22 Mar. 2009
By 
Jamie Matthews "epicrainbow.tk" (Suffolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Overall, this game is fun to play, satisfying and with a great multiplayer to keep you back for more.
SINGLE PLAYER
PRO'S
-Fairly good story keeps it from being 'arcady'
-Good weapon animations and sounds
-Lighting, graphics and cinematic make for a tense game
-Fighting alongside human soldiers is refreshing
-Boss battles and vehicle missions break up the gameplay

CON'S
-Not much of a tactical element
-It's very much a 'corridor' shooter - walk down the hall and shoot the aliens
-Not free-roaming
-Could be more weapons

MULTIPLAYER
PRO'S
-Satisfying - when you hit someone it plays a little popping noise
-Fast-paced and frantic
-Power ups add extra depth
-Chat and team chat
-Proper server browser - none of this random searching crap
-The weapons are balanced but with a noticeable 'ranking' of the guns

CON'S
-Not too many game-modes
-Not very community based - you can't add friends e.c.t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rock and quake, 19 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Best FPS I have played so far this year. The torchlight atmosphere has you quaking. Just when you have finished a level and wiped the sweat from your brow there is....more! Not just Doom 3 slogging through the basement but on rails, in vehicles, in robots. Not just F.E.A.R. which has you slogging through the same corridors, and facing the same demons but original and powerful enemies.
It is the variety and imaginative settings that set Quake 4 apart.
Anticipation and choice of the right weapon will see you through, but you need to use cover and dance on those keys to duck the opposition. The satisfaction of being up against a formidable and capable enemy is complete when you take down your opponents with your heart in your mouth most of the time.
It is a full length FPS for fans of FPS who enjoy different locations and scenarios with constant upgrading of weapon power. Mainly intuitive it is possible to get lost but not difficult to get back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IS IT REALLY Doom3? A MIXED BAG..., 27 Sept. 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Similar graphics, better maps, updated AI, another set of lame weapons, nice controls, less demons.
When hit, instead of knocking you back, your vision blurs. OK, sure...

Half a step above DOOM3 yet retaining some of the QUAKE Series feel.
How similar? I would be very surprised if they do not share the same graphics engine!
Frankly, I expected more. The new QUAKE games used to raise the standard, and serve as the benchmark of graphics and creativity. Apparently not anymore. Increasing the screen analysis and multiplying the hardware requirements does NOT a new game make!

Another corporate clone following the mainstream FPS trend.

Let's hope they Game Publishers finally show some respect and let Real Game Artists create something NEW and SMART for a change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 3 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Parker (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
A futuristic FPS where you get to shoot alien bad guys and turn the tide in the Human V's Strogg war. Sounds like fun. In fact there are quite a lot of good points about this game: the huge arsenal of weapons, the variety of enemies, you get to use vehicles etc etc. And yet it still only gets 3 stars from me. I am running it on a very powerful PC and graphically it is only average, sounds are ok, the levels are really quite samey and it is very linear. It also does not take long to finish at all. All in all it is a reasonably enjoyable way to spend a few hours and if you can pick it up cheap then i'm sure you wont regret it. Just don't expect anything great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carnage, 11 May 2009
By 
Mr. A. M. Laffey (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This was my first proper foray into the Quake series and I'm pretty impressed. It has a very Starship Troopers/ Warhammer 40k/ Halo feel with gameplay that's still reminiscient of old pc shooters with very fast and loose controls. Gameplay is linear but you won't be running in a straight line with the amount of incoming fire. The "Omaha Beach" level at the beginning is great fun and the later level where you see what happens to Strogg prisoners, first hand, is pretty original. Still it doesn't bring a massive amount to the FPS and the multiplayer is inhabited by ridiculous players who just trample people underfoot so as fun as it is it's nothing new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 1 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Quake 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I've been into Quake since the original game. I even upgraded from a 486 DX2 66 to a Pentium 150 just to be able to play it. I found II a little dull in comparison, and III a too focused on multiplayer action. With IV, I reckon they've got it just right. It's using the same graphics engine as Doom III, so you'll need fairly hefty specs to run it with all the bells and whistles turned on. You'll also have to be prepared for some lengthy loading times in between levels, but I reckon it's just about worth the wait. All the old Quake baddies are back in their new ghoulishly rendered glory, plus some new and terrifying adversaries that have to be seen to be believed. Borrowing from Halo and Far Cry, Quake IV also allows you to enter vehicles to complete some levels. The mech/Aliens-style combat walker is particularly good fun with its high-power machinegun and rocket launcher. Some have commented on the brevity of the game, but I'm a fair way in afer a solid weekend's play and have yet to finish it. Others are keen to compare this with FEAR. Both are great games, but I've found myself firing up Quake IV more often. All in all, good old-fashioned blasting fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quake 4 (PC DVD)
Quake 4 (PC DVD) by Activision (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£9.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews