Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something not quite right, but still great
Orbital's "best of" album is supposed to sum this hugely influential electronic band (arguably the second greatest ever, behind their idols Kraftwerk) in one single disc. I think this is the first flaw, Orbital deserve a double CD comparable to Pink Floyd's "Echoes". As for the music, it is difficult to argue with the tracks chosen, (with the exception...
Published on 7 July 2002 by Robert Evans

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad waste of a chance to celebrate a fantastic history
"Industry Standard" mix of Are We Here? How apt! A 1 disc collection was never going to do them justice but... Illuminate, Frenetic? These tracks aren't terrible (not by a long stretch) but... what are they doing on a "best of" album, when they're plainly not the best that the Hartnoll brothers have to offer?
Dubious entries, apart from the above, include Satan Spawn...
Published on 9 Aug 2002 by Mr. R. P. England


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something not quite right, but still great, 7 July 2002
By 
Robert Evans (Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Work 1989 - 2002 (Audio CD)
Orbital's "best of" album is supposed to sum this hugely influential electronic band (arguably the second greatest ever, behind their idols Kraftwerk) in one single disc. I think this is the first flaw, Orbital deserve a double CD comparable to Pink Floyd's "Echoes". As for the music, it is difficult to argue with the tracks chosen, (with the exception of the dreadful "Illuminate"), but too many are in edited form, and thus inferior to their album versions. A clear case in point is "Halcyon", an all-time great that achieves moving emotion on the Brown album, but fails to satisfy in the seven inch form. "Impact USA" is also inferior to the version on the Brown album, whilst the "Spawn" version of the classic "Satan" is puzzlingly included. Making a best of Orbital album is sure to cause more than a few murmurs of discontent, but that does not detract from the fact that what is chosen is still pretty damn good. But the question still has to be asked: why does Orbital's worst ever track ("Illuminate") appear on a "best of" album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fitting work for 13 years, 18 Sep 2002
This review is from: Work 1989 - 2002 (Audio CD)
I would just like to make this clear, this is not meant to be a "Best Of" compilation, it isn't. Work is meant (as it explains in the inlay card) to be a singles collection, with the exception of choice and frenetic which are bonus tracks. Each of these were released at various points in the last 13 years as singles. I agree that if it was a best of, the track choice would be radically different, but this is not meant that way. I also cannot understand the criticism of the version of Halcyon included, it is a great track, and in my opinion compares favourably with Halcyon+on+on on Orbital 2. Which, in fact is not even the original version. And anyway, if "Work" only contained the album versions of tracks, what would be the point? Instead of complaining about tracks being missing etc. just enjoy a compilation which shows how a great band's sound has evolved over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad waste of a chance to celebrate a fantastic history, 9 Aug 2002
By 
Mr. R. P. England (Leeds, W Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Work 1989 - 2002 (Audio CD)
"Industry Standard" mix of Are We Here? How apt! A 1 disc collection was never going to do them justice but... Illuminate, Frenetic? These tracks aren't terrible (not by a long stretch) but... what are they doing on a "best of" album, when they're plainly not the best that the Hartnoll brothers have to offer?
Dubious entries, apart from the above, include Satan Spawn (the original's so much better); Halcyon (butchered 7" version); in fact practically every "short" version! A shame that this compilation misses the target so widely.
An industry standard compilation representing an above standard discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great look back over the years., 26 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Work 1989 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
What i don't understand is how so many people have given this album a bad review? It is in my opinion a great way of hearing the different styles orbital has pioneered in the last thirteen years. If you don't like one track your bound to find another to your liking on it. This album porbably isn't for those who already own some of the older orbital stuff, but is worth a gander for anyone new to there music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not My Usual..., 4 Aug 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work 1989 - 2002 (Audio CD)
Not generally considered the right age for such Techno/Ambient electronic dance music, I'd only really heard of/owned a couple of Orbital tracks on compilations.

Thus, to my pleasant surprise, this 'Work 1989 - 2000' is an often beautiful album, always seeming 'hip' and rave-like, with the likes of Halycon a stand out, for me. The duet with David Gray another.

I enjoy rave and all the 'new' genres of music as the next man and sounding very typical, as long as it has a semblance of melody and listenability. My days (yes, the '80s!) of getting wasted and haunting very dive possible are long gone, so now my Ipod and hifi are my only dance-floors.

This tuneful and melodic - and above all - interesting collection is just the thing to quicken one's step to, or lighten the mood or simply to chill out to. You may laugh, but isn't that what good music is supposed to do, whatever your age?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless, 3 May 2012
By 
P. D. French - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work 1989 - 2002 (Audio CD)
This album, although I've not heard for years, still sounds as good as ever. A must for any dance/house/electronic fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Orbital from the point of view of a metal fan., 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Work 1989 - 2002 (Audio CD)
"Customers who bought this item also bought - Orbital, Orbital and um Orbital again" This either demonstrates the importance of Orbital to their fans or, if one were a cynic, it could be argued it demonstrates their lack of musical variety. At one point I was that cynic. An unashamed rock fan who couldnt see the musical integrity in any electronic music. Unless they collaborated with a rock band that is. But after a little mild indoctrination from a university flatmate and diehard Orbital fan, this soon became the soundtrack for a good few (few good) years of my life.
It is the ability of the brothers Hartnoll to evoke moods running the gamut from despair to euphoria, from satisfying to unnerving, that sets Orbital apart from other dance acts. In fact, it is a complete misnomer to refer to Orbital as "dance music". The construction of the songs often has more in common with traditional rock music than dance music. And if you saw people in a club dancing to "The Box" - check the parking lot to see if there is a minibus from the local rythmically challenged, paraplegics hospice.
Walking through an art gallery you encounter pictures that hit the senses in different ways. Some pictures assault your perception leaving you distinctly uneasy and haunted by the images for some time after. Some are trully uplifting masterpieces, every brushstroke laid down with perfection. And others...well lets just say - Rolf Harris' Cartoon Time. This album of unreleased tracks, album tracks and alternative mixes spanning 20 years is much the same. In "The Box" Orbital have painted one of the most disturbing, unsettling soundscapes you are ever likely to hear. Listening to it whilst watching the accompanying video is like finding out what your dodgy Uncle Bobs deep, dark secret was and why he had to go away for so long. Only this is far deeper and darker than Uncle Bob ever went. At the other end of the spectrum is "Belfast". Euphoric and uplifting, it is quite simply a masterpiece. Hard to believe that these two pieces of work were created by the same people that gave us "Illuminate", co written with David Gray. "Can you tell what it is yet kids?" "Yes Rolf, its middle of the road, bland turgid pap." And why include the version of "Satan" with Kirk Hammett? The original is so much better and remember, Im a rock fan so it must be true.
This is one of the few dance acts capable of creating genuine soundscapes that hit you, be it in the heart, the mind or the gut. Orbital will never mean the same to me as the likes of Faith No More or Tool, who they sampled in the track Tootled but this collection contains many of the tracks that became such an integral part of my life whilst at University. Ah, happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Work 1989 - 2002
Work 1989 - 2002 by Orbital (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews