Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lulu's music is as good as it has ever been
When given the right material, Lulu is one of the finest singers in the history of pop music. She has recorded some truly dreadful records, the worst being Boom bang a bang, but her best work is pure magic - just listen to Rhino's From crayons to perfume American compilation, which leaves out all the rubbish, and which I bought instead of any of the British...
Published on 22 Jun 2002 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 60s girl singer for the 90s
The first song is a version of Womack & Womack's Teardrops and the 2nd time E lton has duetted on this one-he also did it with the Canadian singer K D Lang for his own Duets album
(The Womacks were Cecil & Linda Womack the latter the daughter of Sam Cooke the first named the youngest member of the Valentinos who were signed to the Cooke label SAR.The 11th track is...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lulu's music is as good as it has ever been, 22 Jun 2002
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
When given the right material, Lulu is one of the finest singers in the history of pop music. She has recorded some truly dreadful records, the worst being Boom bang a bang, but her best work is pure magic - just listen to Rhino's From crayons to perfume American compilation, which leaves out all the rubbish, and which I bought instead of any of the British compilations.
It was therefore with some doubts that I bought this collection of covers featuring duets with a varied collection of partners, some older than Lulu, but others not even born when Lulu had her last big solo hit. I needn't have worried - although I can't say I love every track, the overall impression is far better than I dared hope for. After two spins, I generally prefer the ballads, but you may prefer the uptempo rocking songs, some of which are excellent. In any case, there is plenty of variety.
All the tracks are newly recorded except Relight my fire, which was recorded with Take That in the nineties and topped the British charts. It is the last track of the album.
If you haven't got any of Lulu's music, this is a fine introduction for fans of the current pop scene. Fans of the sixties and seventies should start with From crayons to perfume. Either way, if you buy one, you may become sufficiently curious to buy the other.
Lulu obviously hopes that this collection will sell to young and old alike. She may well succeed in that aim, and certainly deserves to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes me wanna shout......., 23 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
Lulu is back and better than ever. Throw away all your preconceptions about Lulu being a sad throw-back to the 60's as this album will surprise and entertain you.
Her voice is as powerful as ever. Most people think of Lulu and think of the raucous 'We-e-e-e-e-elll..' But in truth her voice is much more passionate and soulful that most people realise.
'Sail on sailor' with Sting showcases her voice beautifully, and for anyone who imagines Lulu singing some of her meaningless 60's hits then 'The Prayer' with Russel Watson will shatter your illusions! She is magnificent on this track, powerful, stirring and fabulously talented!
My favourite track is 'Teardrops' with Elton John- a piece of pure pop and one of the few cover versions I have heard which wipes the floor with the original.
You will be amazed if you but this album, one of my friends said she would rather sleep with a pig than listen to Lulu and even she loved it!(She always was a a strange girl!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
When listening to Lulu you can't help put think there is more to come, the voice has been so under used and an album of duets confirms this opinion. Whether engaged in a shouting match with Sting or a sexual stand off with Ronan Keating. Lulu out classess her rivals. You can hear the restrain in the voice in order not to blow away other artists. Well done Lulu it is a gem. Only one critcism... why no duet with Maurice Gibb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lulu captivates, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
Shout, sticks in my mind, and I do this singer an injustice, Lulu was never a favourite of mine, and as I approach 60 yes 60 my memories of a younger time are just those memories. However, with this CD Lulu has matured with age, her voice in my opinion always strong, has now lost its sharpness and is delivered with strength yet ease. the duet with Paul Mc is timeless in its delivery, breath control is marvellous and arrangement is fantastic. The choice of friends is great too. Lulu has picked well. This CD pleased me, surprised me and has had the same impact on my family. Few can believe its LULU, this CD is worthy of listening again and again. AS a converted fan at least on this performance I will try soul in heart next and with great track listing you never know I may consider future releases. Thank you lulu for another small but wonderful package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
Brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lulu has a great voice and just gets hotter and hotter with age., 12 May 2014
By 
G. R. Webb "Gazza" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Together (MP3 Download)
Great album containing a collection of duets with other artists (hence the name Together). Lulu has such a great voice that never ages. Just like her face and figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
just what the wife wanted cant do any more than that she is a fan of her music and really likes it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 60s girl singer for the 90s, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
The first song is a version of Womack & Womack's Teardrops and the 2nd time E lton has duetted on this one-he also did it with the Canadian singer K D Lang for his own Duets album
(The Womacks were Cecil & Linda Womack the latter the daughter of Sam Cooke the first named the youngest member of the Valentinos who were signed to the Cooke label SAR.The 11th track is of Lulu duetting with Bobby Womack who was the eldest Valentino.Cecil Womack was later married for a time to the late Mary Wells)
Lulu actually cut an album in the 70s for Elton John's Rocket label
With the Liverpool girl group the Atomic Kitten comes a duet of Shirley Goodman's Shame Shame Shame.
The 3rd duet is I reckon the best one-a remake of Paul McCartney & Wings' Let 'Em In here called Inside Thing
Can't say much about the boy band duets as this is not my area but Bob Seger's We Got Tonite is a great song here duetted with a Boyzone
The duet with Russell Watson is definitely not for me and I disabled it
Joe Cocker and Cliff Richard are experienced duettists
As for the last duet Relight My Fire this was a No 1 single-God knows why-and Take That has to be the worst band name ever.Mainly I'm in denial of boy bands who all sound alike.
The booklet has great photos of this star who never ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lulu is back!!!, 23 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Together (Audio CD)
ENCOURAGED by the fact she can still have the odd hit if she shares the honours with some other needy party, Lulu has gone for the full Tom Jones commercial and cultural rehabilitation by recording a covers album of duets. Her singing partners, be they young bucks or old lags, are all resolutely mainstream players - Elton, McCartney, Cliff, Westlife, Russell flippin' Watson - but, mercifully, she resists the temptation to sing syrupy ballads with some of them. Lulu likes to boogie and she does so by choosing the worst possible collaborators for Jimmy Reed's Shame Shame Shame (Atomic Kitten) and Brian Wilson's Sail On Sailor (Sting). When she does muster a quality singing partner in Bobby Womack, the song drags its heels. Nothing on Together matches her finest collaboration to date - Take That's Relight My Fire, helpfully tagged on at the end for comparison's sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Together
Together by Lulu (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews