Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for a giggle.., 20 Aug 2002
By 
Philip Roberts (Brighton - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
America comes out with SO many TV series it must be difficult to come up with one that will stand out from the rest, but I believe this one does just that.
The relationship between Will And Grace, a gay man and his best friend is one that can only be described as dysfunctional. They are, in all but name, an old married couple. I think we all have, or have had friends where that has happened!
I think where this series is unique, is the other characters, Karen and Jack. Karen is by far the funniest character in the whole series. The not so hard working assistant of Grace, a New York socialite who's one liners will have you belly laughing. And Jack, the gay friend of Will. Camp as a row of tents and proud of it. All in all, it is a winning combination.
Start at the beginning, get this DVD first, then progress to the next. Like most US series, there are about 26 episodes per series (3 DVD's per series), so plenty to keep us amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 13 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Faster, funnier, slicker than Friends has ever been, Will & Grace almost -ALMOST - matches Frasier (which is, of course, as everyone knows, THE greatest sitcom of all time). Someone once described Frasier to me as "a brand new, 30 minute Noel Coward play every week". So Will & Grace must count as a brand new 30 minute Noel Coward-cum-Joe Orton play every week. Beneath the quick-fire lines, there is a subversiveness in the sub-text of Will & Grace which is quite breathtaking. Each of the quartet of main characters is played to perfection and I have little truck with those who claim that it should be called Jack and Karen because of the admitted strength of the two secondary parts, Jack and Karen.
Will and Grace is also an object lesson in the principle that British sitcom is, if not dead, moribund. Compare and contrast Will & Grace with the vulgar and wholly unfunny Gimme,Gimme,Gimme - which has largely the same theme - if you need evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will and Grace, Brillinat Comdey, 7 Jan 2004
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have recently got this DVD after watching some of the episodes from different series mixed around, through channel 4 and E4 and I liked them a lot. How ever, it doesn't compare to brilliance of watching the characters develop in a way like no other TV has given us to data. A very funny show, which uses the fact that the two main characters will never get together to explore their unique friends ship. If you have watched it on TV and liked it, get this. It's better than the other series coz you get 8 episodes on one disk, a great way to see if you will follow up and get the lot, as I plan to do ^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best american imports ever, 29 May 2002
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have always been a massive fan of friends and thought no american import could beat it. But I was proved wrong. Will and grace is undoubtablly one of the funniest things I have seen.
It may be called Will and Grace but the two 'sidekick' characters just steal the show. With Jacks rather annoying lust for, well, everything and Karens brillent and honest look into everyones life, it is just an unmissable treat.
Well worth a look!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will and Grace is soooo coooll, 17 Aug 2003
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I bought this dvd about two weeks ago from a local video store. At first, it takes a while to get into it, but as soon as you've watched the first episode, you'll love it. It's like one of the most addictive sitcoms I've ever watched. The next dvd (episodes 9-12) is also good. Jack and Will are my favourite characters, but Grace and Karen's actresses (Debra Messing and Megan Mullaly) are both perfect for their parts too. I think some of the second series are kinda' less hyperactive and bouncy as the first series, but what the hell, it's a cool programme!! >_< Thanks for reading my review ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best TV sitcom ever!, 24 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
From a woman's point of view, watching Will & Grace's relationship will make you wish one thing - that you had a gay man as a best friend. There is so much energy to this show that makes it flow so well. Debra Messing and Eric McCormack (excellently supported by hillarious Sean P Hayes and Megan Mullally) have a wonderful on-screen chemistry, and is much much better than Friends any day of the week.
Will and Grace is the funniest TV show that I have seen in a long long time, would be great to watch with the girls (or gay men) in your life :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great viewing, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Very clever humor
Very funny , great cast looking forward to watching the next series
Hope its as funny x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Definitely excellent delivery time - expected delivery date was Jan 18th and it arrived on the 4th! I bought this for my Mum as she has never seen it and this is a good price (3 pounds) for the first 8 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 1 Jun 2003
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
"Will & Grace" is the new sitcom on the block and for fans of the series this is a must to own on DVD or VHS. The series focuses on the dysfunctional friendship between Will, a gay lawyer and Grace, a designer. Eric McCormack and Debra Messing are superb as Will and Grace, there is no other show that manages to have the right combination of humour and sensitivity. The gems of the series are the supporting characters Karen (Megan Mullally} and Jack {Sean Hayes). Karen, Grace's assistant is hilarous, with some cracking one-liners who is constantly making fun of Will and Grace's situation. Jack, Will's best friend, is flamboyant, witty and a joy to watch.
There are simple extras to this DVD; a cast biography, gallery and cast interview feature.
Essential to own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Jack!, 16 Aug 2002
By 
C. A. Richards (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I love the show and both this, and the other two DVDs from Season One are great. Although not as funny as Season Two (which is currently being shown on Channel 4), this still has some excellent moments and witty lines. The pilot episode is still one of the best, and the fantastic "Between a Rock and Harlin's Place" episode is definitely one of this season's funniest episodes. And watch out for Jack, who has to be the most hilarious, most outrageous character to ever appear in a sitcom. Sean Hayes is my hero. Although not quite as good as Frasier, this is, in my opinion, more essential than Friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Will and Grace: Series 1 (Episodes 1-8) [DVD] [2001]
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews