Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2002
this is the defining fu manchu album. I have never heard anything like it before or since. Some of the other fu albums were a bit cheerier and have a more happy vibe..which is good too. Their most recent offering `California Crossing' was definitely the most commercial sounding. But this album has all the original fu manchu distortion and heaviness, which is really their trademark sound. `Evil Eye' the opener, sets out a blinder of an album. I have sen some reviews on here of people who bought this album after hearing `Evil Eye' and thought the album was crap. Well all I can say is they must have something stuck in their ears. When I first got this album it was never off my car stereo, totally cranked up and bassy. The perfect soundtrack for driving at 100 miles an hour down a dusty desert highway with a spliff in your hand ( of course not really cos that would be illlegal) and there aren't many dusty highways in Scotland but you get the picture. Anyway I say ifyou want to become a fu manchu fan or alreadyare then you really should own this album. It is sheer quality!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2007
Fu Manchu are an institution, and this is definitely one of their better albums. In fact, it's an absolute corker. Recorded not long after guitarist Eddie Glass and drummer Ruben Romano jumped ship to form Nebula, The Action is Go saw the 'Chu welcome aboard legendary ex-Kyuss drummer, Brant Bjork - easily one of the finest living sticksmen in stoner rock - and his presence here does this record wonders.

With their thunderous riffs, prolapse-inducing bass and Scott Hill's unmistakeable Californian drawl, Fu Manchu succeed in whisking you off to another place: a place where everyone has a permanent grin plastered across their face and Vans slip-ons on their feet. A place where everyone is ridiculously good at skateboarding and the topic of conversation is always centred on UFO sightings and various other conspiracy theories. In short, a place far, far away from here!

These days, of course, stoner rock is hardly the most innovative sound around, and as for vocalist Scott Hill... well, put it this way - Mike Patton he ain't. But that would be missing the point. In addition, what The Action... has (that later albums perhaps lacked) is that 'otherworldly' quality that makes music of any genre so special. Best tracks? All of 'em! You really only really need one Fu Manchu album - but you do need one - and I strongly recommend The Action is Go.

Matt Pucci
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2000
Blending as they do 70's Sabbathesque riffage with elements of Iggy and the Stooges, Blue Cheer's 60's fuzzed-up guitar sound and the Californian-inspired imagery embraced by Van halen, Scott Hill's Stoner crew have come up with a release that has clearly built on the previous 4 releases. The 63 minute Action is Go opens with "Evil eye" which explodes with the sought of power only dreamt of by other bands of the genre. What set Fu Manchu apart are the brilliantly delivered vocals, which really give the music an American indie edge a la the Pixies and Sonic Youth.
Kerrang! magazine gave this release a clear 5/5 Ks, whilst NME gave it 9/10!! saying "The Action Is Go' is one hell of a sound. It revels in the extremities of all that's come before it and in doing so makes the memories of those eras ten times more exciting than their reality ever was"
Along with the Queens of the Stone Age, the Manchu boys are really blazing a trail not seen since Nirvana and Seattle grunge scene.
CHECK IT OUT!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Great item, and good value, quick delivery. Recommended seller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2001
This was the first Fu Manchu CD I bought, having heard the track 'Evil Eye', a psychedelic tinged hard rock track. Though it's not truly representative of the whole album (it tends to have a more stoned out groove), it did introduce me to a fine band.
Throughout the 16 tracks, musically you could be back in the late 60s early 70s. But with the distinctive slacker vocals, it manages to sound contemporary. If you like Sabbath style riffs, you won't go far wrong here. My only criticism is that the CD does hit a bit of a problem with 'sameyness', which stops it from getting 5 stars from me.
If you're new to Fu Manchu, check out their most recent CD 'King of the Road'. The songs are better, and more distinctive. While the Sabbath groove is still there, there is definitely more of a Priest and Hawkwind feel.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
Quality Cali rock
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2001
Not a bad album, but doesn't really do much for the genre. Some good tracks (Urethane, Evil Eye), but generally as an album there is nowhere near enough variety to keep you interested for long. It does rock, but it also gets rather boring after a while! If you want a kick ass rock album, buy something by Kyuss or QOTSA, as you really can't get much better than them.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
To set the record straight, I really like Fu Manchu, and I think they're great... but to complete that quote in the review title "they should be greater". What I mean by that is that I've always enjoyed their music but it just feels like you are always expecting a bit of extra oomph that never really comes. That said, they are top and are a great chilled out stoner band; I reckon this is their best album (Although Daredevil and In Search of... are both mint too).

So how does it sound? Well, it sounds like most of Fu Manchu's early work; standard rock setup of guitar, bass, drums and vocals with a fuzzy stonery production. It works well and it sounds good, but it's nothing groundbreaking; think Kyuss but with less bass and better production and that's about right.

Vocals/Lyrics? The vocals in Fu Manchu are good, they aren't great but they fit the music. Nice and chilled out; never strained or... well it never really sounds like he's putting much effort into it, but that's not necessarily bad. I don't pay much attention to the lyrics as they don't seem to make a great deal of sense but they seem to fit with the tunes so that's fine by me.

Overall, like I say I always felt like Fu Manchu should be a bit better than they are, but they are still pretty top. I'd recommend this album, and this band, to any fans of lighter Stoner stuff; like Clutch and Kyuss or anything lighter than that. It may not captivate fans of Electric Wizard, Acid Bath and Iron Monkey as it's a bit too lightweight, but still very much worth a listen for any casual stoner fans.

Dom x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)