Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You think this is good!!!
I'm a long time Steve Vai fan who has had the pleasure of seeing him live many a time, with Satch and Brian May as well! However, one of his major advantages is his ability to commit himself to any project with focus and talent in his attention to detail.
Many people who actually criticise musicians such as Vai don't actually realise that his compositional skill has...
Published on 25 July 2002 by Mr. S. T. Mangan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still worth it just for a few great tracks
An album comprising all of Mr. Vai's film scores, background music and riff fills sounds like an album for the Vai purist only, doesn't it? But wait - before you move on, there is some truly great music here.
In the main, the tracks are mostly short (less than a minute) ambient fills which you'll definitely be skipping over. But within this list (and of some interest...
Published on 5 April 2003 by shinyhead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You think this is good!!!, 25 July 2002
By 
Mr. S. T. Mangan "samboway" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 (Audio CD)
I'm a long time Steve Vai fan who has had the pleasure of seeing him live many a time, with Satch and Brian May as well! However, one of his major advantages is his ability to commit himself to any project with focus and talent in his attention to detail.
Many people who actually criticise musicians such as Vai don't actually realise that his compositional skill has entered their ears within films, and they HAVEN'T minded at all.
WIth this disc, one of 10 to be released, we hear his film scores (if you want to call them that) and it's a wonderful showcase into the work of someone considered the worlds most eccentric guitarist.
I bought the secret box set personally, but if you haven't got all the cash to spare then I would suggest picking this one up anyway.
"Vai" deny yourself something wonderful?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still worth it just for a few great tracks, 5 April 2003
This review is from: The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 (Audio CD)
An album comprising all of Mr. Vai's film scores, background music and riff fills sounds like an album for the Vai purist only, doesn't it? But wait - before you move on, there is some truly great music here.
In the main, the tracks are mostly short (less than a minute) ambient fills which you'll definitely be skipping over. But within this list (and of some interest to Vai fans I suppose) there are tracks which eventually morphed into "Juice" and "Bad Horsie".
Guitarists everywhere (myself included) will be glad to finally get their hands on a recording of Eugene's Trickbag from the film "Crossroads" - which over the years has become tacit part of every budding guitarist's repertoire of "must know" pieces. But along with this gem are the equally awesome "Fried Chicken", "Butler's Bag" and "Head-Cuttin' Duel" - all rolled together in a reprise of the end of the film. And they still sound great after 16 years!
The only track which comes anything near to being that from a "conventional" album is "Get the Hell Of Here", which is very much in the vein of a Satriani-style surf-song but stamped with the Vai style and technique - a great track for the car CD!.
But for me, the outstanding track off the album is "The Reaper Rap" - a 5m 46s gem containing a not only a condensed version of "Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey", but interlaced with the dialog is some of Vai's best, flashest, widdliest-diddliest and just damn showoffiest playing to date! - fantastic stuff!.
It's not a 5 star CD by a long way as there is so much on here that you'll listen to only once and then forget. But the rest is good enough to merit buying it - just beware of the "The Reaper Rap" - it's totally non-non-non-non-non-heinous and you'll be muttering Bill & Ted phrases for weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!, 23 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 (Audio CD)
This CD is a compilation of the work Steve Vai has performed over the years to be used in a variety of films. While "Celluloid Heroes" which kicks the album off is dreadful, the complete Vai contributions to Crossroads are fantastic !! Likewise "The Reaper" from Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey is one the best things he's ever done - check out the harmoised solo arpeggio section mid-way for (almost) the ultimate Air Guitar widdle !!
There are lots of highlights for guitar players - you'd think that as a regressive piece of work this wouldn't contain anything not heard before in terms of high-speed runs, taps and the like. Prepare to be (very) pleasantly surprised !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool down a little bit, guys, 21 July 2002
By 
This review is from: The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 (Audio CD)
First off: I like Vai, I adore his chops and all that stuff...
Anyway, this CD has got some 40 tracks on it, and rating it 5 would in my opinion be wrong. Sure as hell, the duels from Crossroads are perfect, brilliant, flawless, you name it. The same goes for the Reaper-tracks.
But this CD also contains lots and lots of small, in-movie sounds, you know, those who nobody notice but it would still be kinda empty without them. Well, I don't think it's really a 5 star record when 25-30 of the tracks are shorter than 30 seconds, and they're not really songs.
I can't listen to this CD without skipping some tracks, but I suppose it's more of an archive than a "real" CD. Anyhow, I guess it's up to each and everyone if they like to hear this kind of music. I don't, and to be honest I bought it because of the Crossroads-duels...
Overall, a good record, but not brilliant. I'd recommend Freak Guitar by IA Eklund for some serious guitarchops, as this is only for the die-hard Vai-fan. I would have liked some more songs instead of short clips. Over and out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an brilliant cd, a must have for any guitar fans collection, 31 May 2002
This review is from: The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 (Audio CD)
if you think your guitar music cd collection is complete... think again. This is quite simply one of the greatest collection cd's ever made, true brilliance is the bottom line throughout the album, not one single song stops steve vai from demonstrating his unmistakeable talent. the greatest guitar player in the world once again unleashes his fury on the guitar, every note is finely played, and not one sounds out of place. This album is quite frankly immense, and at such a low price from our friends at Amazon, this is one album not to be missed, a top purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TRULY THE MOST GIFTED GUITARIST AROUND TODAY!, 4 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic collection of music which Steve has both written and performed for various films. It shows his prowess as both songwriter and musician. Stand out tracks are almost certainly LOVE BLOOD, The entire CROSSROADS score, AMAZING GRACE, THE REAPER and THE REAPER RAP from Bill and Teds Bogus Journey, and both peices from ENCINO MAN! Although many of the peices are short in duration (esp.PCU), this is certainly a must for any Vai fan (or Guitar fan for that matter!) With VOL 1 meaning that theres more to come, I personally can't wait! I put to you this, there isn't a guitar player alive today who can match the skill and playing ability of this man! Well...maybe Satch?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hearing is believing!, 8 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 (Audio CD)
Where to Start. The album begins from track one with vai doing what he does best. Unrivalled the guitar god himself reaches the impossible. The duel from crossroads was one of the real highlights for me. It begins with blues meets metal and as the duel progresses so the standard of vai's outstanding technique. It ends with a climax that cannot be explained by any words of mine. You must hear it to believe it. As the album progresses snippets of amazing guitar genius are added and the overall effect is unreal! Parting Steve Vai from his guitar would be like parting the sun from the earth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa597d060)

This product

The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1
The Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1 by Steve Vai (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews