Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Very Best...but better than most 70's bands even so!
Folk, blues, pop, rock, great tunes, memorable hooks and top-notch playing and singing endure as one of our most underrated bands of the 70's get the 'Very Best of' treatment. The only thing holding them back from the 'Premiership of Pop' were some occasionally dodgy lyrics (usually lonely boys looking for their perfect'lady', but set to melodies most writers would kill...
Published on 14 Nov 2002 by Denzyboy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sutherland Brothers and Quiver
Big fan of their music, but quite a few tracks unknown to me, considering it's titled The Very Best Of.
Still enjoyable though. Takes me back.....dream on.
Published on 20 April 2011 by anne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Very Best...but better than most 70's bands even so!, 14 Nov 2002
By 
Denzyboy (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
Folk, blues, pop, rock, great tunes, memorable hooks and top-notch playing and singing endure as one of our most underrated bands of the 70's get the 'Very Best of' treatment. The only thing holding them back from the 'Premiership of Pop' were some occasionally dodgy lyrics (usually lonely boys looking for their perfect'lady', but set to melodies most writers would kill for), sometime weedy production and total lack of A&R savvy by Island and CBS. Sony continue this last trait by shoddily packaging this collection giving only minimal track details and just a succinct and wry summary of their careers by Iain and Gavin where a bit of a booklet would have been nice!
Then there's the track selection - the perennial 'Best of' debate. Most included here are worthy of their place, although the lack of the opening line from 'I Hear Thunder' from their first album with Quiver: 'The forecast for today is cloudy wind and sleet, possible snow on high ground especially in the Midlands and the North'is particularly missed (along with arguably 9 other tracks which could have made it up to a double)and the cod-reggae 'Something's Burning' would have been best forgotten.
So what do you get for your ' bargain price'? 20 tracks and a generous running time for a start. Their early years are well represented by strong songs such as 'The Pie', their first hit 'You Got Me Anyway' and the sea-shanty/gospel of 'Lifeboat' - the latter written by Gavin who was less prolific than Iain, perhaps more hit and miss, but wrote some of their most interesting songs. Then there's the original version of Iain's phenomenal 'Sailing', given room to breathe and sounding stately and modest with its sparse backing and drone accompaniement.
Good selections from 'Dream Kid', the first album with Quiver (except no 'Thunder') with Iain's conicise and hook-laden title track summing up the pop-rock side of 'the Suths' well. Only two strong tracks from 'Beat of the Street' (missing out Gavin's 'World in Action') but illustrating the formidable combination of Tim Renwick's expressive, melodic guitar, the sadly-missed Peter Wood's imaginative keyboards and Willie Wilson's excellent drums. Operating as a trio they then recorded 'Reach for the Sky' ( minus another bit of a star for not including the laid-back acoustic title track) with their most successful song (the too sugary and soppy - sorry lads)'Arms of Mary' along with 4 others - why hasn't Iain's 'Moonlight Lady' been a hit for someone? Then 3 tracks from the commercially relatively successful 'Slipstream'(but missing out some of Iain's best ballads).
Strangely there's nothing at all from 'Down to Earth' - a patchy but well-produced affair including Gavin's ode to Grimsby (!) (allegedly)and at least 3 other worthy tracks. The latest stuff on here are two typically polished gems from 79's 'When The Night Comes Down', which they put out as a duo.
In summary - what you do get is a good history of an honest and talented group experimenting with different styles and hallmarked by quality writing, singing and playing. What you might want to get are some of the other 8 albums they released, with special mention for 'Diamonds and Gold' a laid back collection of quality songs from Gavin releasd in 1999.
Thanks for some memorable gigs and some great songs lads! Your best is better than most!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond in the Dark, 24 Mar 2006
By 
Jacqueline (Stafford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
As an SBQ fan in the 70s, this was cd is a real treasure. Some familiar tracks, some not heard before. There were no egos at play in this band. Buy it and enjoy.
1. The Pie - Classic. Simple, beguiling and almost hypnotic. A dream song.
2. I Was In Chains - I love Iain's voice - here it's like dark, wild and desolate.
3. Real Love - Moody and soulful. Love it. Tim's dreamy guitarwork - exquisite.
4. Sailing - Almost dirge-like in its starkness - original version, definitive and raw.
5. You Got Me Anyway - Classic rock. No cover versions required.
6. Lifeboat - You fly with the 'swallow in the bright blue sky'. Gavin has an interesting voice.
7. Dreamkid - Sexy man. Another of Iain's commanding, earthy vocal performances.
8. Champion the Underdog - this one is okay.
9. Beat of the Street - I love this! Sassy, sexy and fun!
10. Laid Back in Anger - captures the mood.
11. When The Train Comes - there's an almost childlike simpliciy about this one - images of a sun-drenched early morning, at the station with a one-way ticket... But its classy.
12. Arms of Mary - I like this, and yes, maybe a tad commercial, but it did chart and Iain's wistful vocals make it all worthwhile. Lovely.
13. Dr Dancer - I like this.
14. Love on the moon - Natty tune and production - it rocks. Again, with the added extra of Tim's dreamy guitarwork.
15. Moonlight Lady - Exxxquisite vocals from Iain. (Shayne from X-factor could do this justice.)
16. Slipstream - Another excellent classic, and yes, Iain does that wistful thing with his voice again.
17. Secrets - Catchy and neat. Another good 'un!
18. Something's Burning - I like this - dark and a bit desperate.
19. When The Night Comes Down - Sometimes I wonder where Iain got his inspiration from - who on earth would ever give this man the runaround!
20. Easy Come Easy Go - Personally, I found this a tad gloomy, but it is the last track after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific album, 1 Oct 2009
By 
D. C. Hutt "music junkie" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
What a great album..! I had 'Reach for the Sky' on vinyl years ago. This contains several tracks from that album. Among them the outstanding 'Moonlight Lady' and 'When the Train Comes' My fave has to be 'Easy Come. Easy Go'. The Brothers are extremely talented songwriters, and Tim Renwick's guitar is fantastic. This is a must have album for anyone interested in intelligently crafted 70's pop songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure pop-rock, 1 Nov 2006
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
The Sutherland Brothers and Quiver were one of those hard-working bands of the 1970s who never made it as big as they should have. As a result, they seemed to drift from genre to genre (e.g. reggae to Eagles to Police) in order to hit upon the right success formula. In retrospect, only the reggae attempts were misguided (like many other white-men-sing-Jamaica songs of the time). But the songs that have lasted the best are the classic singles: 'Arms of Mary', 'Sailing', 'When the Train Comes' and 'You Got Me Anyway'. Indeed I was surprised how many of the tunes were familiar. I guess I'm one of the millions who had no idea that Iain Sutherland was responsible for so many standards.

Although there is the occasional tinkling of the piano or organ in the background, SB&Q were very much a guitar band, and featured the marvellous Tim Renwick on lead. To my ear, this is a very similar genre to the Alan Parsons Project and the Eagles, if such is possible.

I have to confess that this is the first SB&Q album I have bought, despite having seen the band in concert. They did a gig at my school (Oundle) in the mid-1970s, and I suspect we enjoyed it but it was just too middle-of-the-road for us hardened, progressive Henry Cow fans.

It may still be the supermarket muzak of the Noughties, but good luck to them, and let's hope they're getting all the royalties they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very talented group, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. R. Underwood "rayo" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
i really enjoyed this album,Sailing was ok,but enjoyed "the arms of Mary" even more.The less obscure tracks were equally as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
Forgot they had made so many great songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
The very best ... containing 20 beautiful songs ... love each and every one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ARMS OF MARY, 3 Feb 2014
By 
S. Lee "Elderly Rocker" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
Have always wanted SBQ's original version of "Arms of Mary" so here we are on Amazon buying this CD. Rest of it is fine and some numbers interesting. Sutherlands have written some decent standards in their time, which are included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only 3 hits, 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver (Audio CD)
What a great band , well two bands then. How did they only have 3 top 50 singles and 2 top 50 albums , punk at the time I suppose , there is more to the sutherquivs than arms of Mary and sailing at this price get on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver
The Very Best Of Sutherland Brothers & Quiver by Sutherland Brothers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews