Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Band That Took A Chainsaw To Eighties Pop..., 27 May 2002
By 
Mr. S. Chandler "Steve Chandler" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
Just when the eighties looked like it was going to be the decade good music forgot (with the exception of Joy Division and a couple of other bands) along came The Jesus & Mary Chain's debut single Upside Down with it's feedback laden pop hooks to save the day. Non hit followed non hit as the band consistently failed to make a serious dent in the charts (with the exception of April Skies and Reverence...both top ten hits). However, chart positions are not the most important criteria by which a bands importance should be judged. The music and it's eventual influence speaks for itself. This album is not a Best Of. If it were it would have to be a box set consisting of all the bands albums and the three collections of b-sides and rarities that were also released. I truly envy anyone who has not heard any of the songs on this album. To hear these songs for the first time and to get that electric shiver of excitement running up my spine that only the greatest music can bring on would be amazing. Buy this album and understand where Black Rebel Motorcycle Club got all their best ideas. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the band, 14 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
This CD was for me a grower. I bought it a few years ago, when I was 18 and hadn't listened to much 80s alternative pop/rock.
It did take a few listens for this to really take hold, but it was totally worth it.
Buy Psychocandy or Darklands if you want to hear a complete and solid JAMC record, the former remains their greatest work.
Also see My Bloody Valentine and the Pixies cover of Head On (or really, anything by the Pixies or Breeders), if you enjoyed this but don't know where to go next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best band from the eighties, 12 Sep 2002
By 
Tk Childs "Tom C" (Oxford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
Listening to this was like being given a shot of nostalgia generating adrenalin. Can't believe I'd stopped listening to them years ago. Psychocandy was an amazing aural experience, Darklands a more mature and reflective work, Automatic and Honey's Dead choc-a-bloc with top rock and roll songs. My personal favourites have to be "April Skies" (sublime) and "Head On" (awesome). This timely compilation is recommended to anyone who loved JAMC and needs to be reminded of what they achieved. And for anyone who hasn't heard them and needs to be reminded of what great rock and roll can sound like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Understood, 20 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
In 1985 England, The Jesus and Mary Chain were considered the most "trendy" new band in the country. Their brilliant debut album gave them almost God-like status, although it failed to spawn any top-40 hit singles.
So much was expected of them, and it was a challenge that no band could be expected to meet.
"Some Candy Talking" was their first top-20 hit, followed by the brilliant top-10 "April Skies".
After this short spell of chart success, their "trendy" credentials quickly vanished and they were never given the chance to prove themselves that they deserved.
Like many others, I virtually wrote off JAMC when they released their second album, "Darklands", and only re-discovered them recently.
They never recaptured the excitement of their first album, but this history of singles shows that they remained a top quality band, deserving a lot more chart success than they actually received.
I believe the best tracks on the album are the last three singles, closely followed by the brilliant "Blues From A Gun" (which I did buy when originally released), and the successful "April Skies".
Buy this album because it is a very important piece of rock/pop history.
This collection has convinced me that I need to buy the other JAMC albums, and probably try to get hold of their b-sides too. "Kill Surf City" (I think it was the b-side to "April Skies" is one of the best b-side tracks I have ever heard).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The natural successor to Joy Division and the Bunnymen, 22 Jan 2010
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
This is the first best-of compilation for the brothers Reid and it really is about as simple as the title indicates. The 21 singles they released between 1984 and 1998, sequenced in the order of their release. And it works like a treat, it's fantastic stuff. If you never bought another JAMC album, you'd still have an excellent overview of the band's career just from this disc.
The Jesus & Mary Chain came screaming out of East Kilbride, Scotland, in 1984, comprised then of William & Jim Reid, Douglas Hart and Bobby Gillespie. The last-named soon buggered off to focus on his then nascent side-project Primal Scream.
Their early live performance were notable short 30 mins and played with backs turned to the audience, and were accredited as being the shortest, most violent rock gigs ever, and provided a suitably primitive back beat to the hellish sounds and images conjured out of their guitars..Copyiest of the time like Birdland (From the USA) paled into insignificance and were easily forgotten.
After the fairly full-bore assault, they lowered the feedback to less brain-destroying levels and revealed a sort of pop sensibility buried beneath the noise and distortion and was perfected in 1987.with the album. A sort of Phil Sector Wall of Sound meets Bunnymen/ Velvet Underground with a small touch of Californian surf mixed in for good measure. The quality of these sounds is unmistakable and can reduce a grown man to tears
21 Singles puts conveniently displays the bitter sweetness almost beautiful sounds of one of the finest bands to come out of the UK.
Sadly the band may be no more, but meanwhile we're left with bands like Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and the Ravonettes doing an admittedly not bad impression of them..
We can even hear glimpses of inspiration plagiarised from JAMC in the over rated Glasvagas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: 21 Singles (MP3 Download)
I have liked the Jesus and Mary Chain just forever! I'm an aging Indy chick and had all their albums on tape once upon a time, so now I have all their best bits in MP3 format. Superb collection, still gives me goosebumps listening to 'Sidewalking'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ablast from the past, 30 Jun 2009
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
I really like this cd. Ok there are some duff singles on it from later in their career but on the whole this is a good record of when noise was fun.
If you've seen them live recently and are thinking in investing in their records then start here. It's a good way to dip into the band and work out which albums you might want to buy. I've the singles from first time round (remember when they came in gatefold sleeves?) but but that's an expensive hobby.
It's certainly not perfect and won't be to everyone's taste but that was the beauty of the arrogant young band mambers in the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best kept secret in music., 21 Oct 2002
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
The Jesus and Mary Chain must be the most criminally overlooked bands of all time. Im not ashamed to admit that i didnt really take much notice of them. Id heard a couple of songs that i liked but until this best of came out had never dreamt of buying anything by them. Most of the people i know have heard of them but dont really know why. One listen to this collection and i was hooked. The first 5 songs are very raw but have such energy. The rest, while maintaining the edge develops into tunes of such quality that i cant believe the lack of recognition. BRMC are a poor imitation of the original. A band that have escaped my for years are now rarely off the stereo. I implore any music fan to buy this and not like it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Singles, 11 Mar 2008
By 
Kevin Clarke "kevin17566" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
21 singles, 20 of them ace and only one duff ('Rollercoaster'). Just how great were The Jesus And Mary Chain? Has there ever been a band that so perfectly welded noise and melody?

This blistering compilation captures their snotty inception, their rancorous demise and all points in-between. The first 3 tracks still sound incendiary, erupting from the speakers with squealing feedback and pounding drums and yet, strip 'You Trip Me Up' down to acoustic guitars as the band did on a B side, and you can see the delicate melody at its heart.

The tone changes with 'Just Like Honey' and 'Some Candy Talking' - Velvet Underground-influenced ballads oozing dreamy sexiness. 'April Skies' and 'Happy When It Rains' are classic, chugging pop songs with memorable hooks. 'Sidewalking' is different again, built around a brilliant, twangy T-Rex guitar sound.

Other highlights include the scuzzy shuffle and nihilistic profanities of 'Reverence' - "I wanna die just like Jesus Christ/I wanna die on a bed of spikes", the gorgeous duet with William Reid's ex-squeeze, Hope Sandoval, on the regretful 'Sometimes Always', and the huge, bastardised Bo Diddley riff on one of their last records, 'Cracking Up.'

'I Hate Rock'n'Roll', from 1995, showed the band could still press the button marked 'excess' late in their career, its scathing lyrics and evil guitar break cocking a snoot at radio controllers and TV producers who rarely ventured near JAMC.

The Smiths were the best POP band of the '80s, The Jesus And Mary Chain the best ROCK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 14 April 2011
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
This album is a must have for any fan of indie rock in the past 30 years. Love this band! They've influenced so much of today's music.

Also worth mentioning, over a quarter of a century since it began and a decade after it folded, here is the definitive film about Creation Records, one of the world's most successful and colorful independent labels. This is the story of the Rock dream and its accompanying nightmares. Millions of sales on both sides of the Atlantic, near bankruptcy, pills, thrills, spats, prats, success, excess, pick me ups, breakdowns and of course some of THE defining music of the late 20th Century. This is the definitive and fully authorised story of the UK's most inspired and dissolute label, from the Jesus & Mary Chain at the Living Room to Oasis at Knebworth. Also as well as Ride, My Bloody Valentine and Primal Scream. A must-see for fans of 90s British Rock (Brit Pop, Shoegaze).

you can pre-order it here on Amazon:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

21 Singles
21 Singles by Jesus & Mary Chain (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews