Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Introduction To A Dub Genius
Like "A Customer", I was initially wary of buying this- the bargain basement price appeared to suggest "cheap cash-in" and there's a vast amount of King Tubby sets out there to choose from. But his review convinced me to take a punt, and I'm so glad I did. For about half the price of your average magazine, you get an incredible introduction to a sonic genius...
Published on 4 July 2011 by Chankos

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars king tubbys scratched ruin
i was awfully disapointed as this cd was more scratched than joseph fritzl's basement and as jittery as muhammed ali's hands, not enjoyable having a constant glitch through tubbys tasty dub riddims
Published on 29 Dec. 2012 by mikky gomaban


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Introduction To A Dub Genius, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
Like "A Customer", I was initially wary of buying this- the bargain basement price appeared to suggest "cheap cash-in" and there's a vast amount of King Tubby sets out there to choose from. But his review convinced me to take a punt, and I'm so glad I did. For about half the price of your average magazine, you get an incredible introduction to a sonic genius.

These dubs leap out of the speakers with a unique combination of in-your-face clarity and deep warmth, and they haven't dated one bit. The 20 (largely instrumental) tracks blast and shimmer their way right through you. Solid drums and bass (courtesy of Sly & Robbie), guitar and keyboards are all filtered through Tubby's unique sonic imprint. I finished this CD thinking three things: 1) how brilliant King Tubby was, 2) how rubbish it is that he's dead, and 3) contemplating how much money I'm going to have to cough up exploring this new world of sounds.

For the initiated, I cannot hope to do justice explaining how great this album is. You already know. For those looking to explore Dub Reggae but unsure of where to start, why are you still reading these daft ramblings?

Buy this incredibly-priced CD, and be transported...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant dub, 21 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
if, like me, you have seen this album all over the place and been put off by the ridiculously low price i would like to reassure you that this is a fine record and a worthy purchase. i know a lot about reggae and this is some of the purest and most irresistably danceable dub ever recorded at king tubby`s. sly & robbie feature in every track and the trademark tubby reverb and electronic overdubs are mindblowing. all i can do is urge anyone into dub to buy this amazingly cheap cd wherever they happen to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value compilation., 13 Oct. 2011
By 
C. Lomas "c lomas" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
While agreeing with other reviewers that this cd is currently so cheap to buy that you can't really go wrong, I wouldn't really put much of the music on it in with the really top-ranking Tubby productions. If I was to have only one King Tubby cd in my collection, it wouldn't be this one...but at this price you can check it out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First exposure to dub music., 23 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
I bought this cd because I wanted to know more about this genre called'Dub'.
From what I had heard, it was a kind of Reggae and there is somethingspecial about it. It gives inspiration to modern urban music such as Drum& Bass, I would hear people describe certain D&B tunes as 'Dubby' and Iwould have no idea what they meant. King Tubby was reccomended by the BBC,so I had to check this out.
After putting in the cd, the first thing that hit me was the loudness andclarity, Tubbys tunes are well engineered and louder than your averagetune, there is big emphasis on the bass which is very powerful. The tunesare mainly instrumental and use plenty of special effects, the mostnotable one being echo or 'delay', which has to be heard to bebelieved.
Theres definatley a special vibe to this music, unmissable when othermusic such as drum and bass try to borrow from it. So what's a dubby drumand bass tune? check out 'DJ Hype - Reflex' which appropriatley useselements from 'King Tubby's 'Jah Jah Dub' on this cd.
Theres different moods to tunes on here, from the happy sounding 'skankingdub' to the uneasy and darker 'easy dub'. If you like reggae or just wantto discover the dub style, definatley check this cd out. HighlyReccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wot a Corker!, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
I first came across DUB in the 70s as a young punk. Hadnt given it much thought till I came across Trojan Dub cd 1973-1981which is great this led me to buy Dub Fever you have got to buy it is an absolute corker tracks 19 @ 20 are probably the best dub I have ever heard and played loud in your car with plenty of bass certainly gets you noticed. Go on get a copy you know you wanna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bargain, 29 Oct. 2011
By 
J. Myles (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
I can't help but agree with some other reviews here.
Yes, I was put off by the price and thought this must be some sort of low-fi cash-in.
But, as I was buying some other albums, added it to my list for £2.99.
It turned out to be an inspired purchase. Absolutely fantastic and a great introduction to Dub and King Tubby.
I recommend you try it - if like me you love it you'll soon be buying more. If you don't, then it's only £2.99 gone south.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
Wicked tunes for people who love dub a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of Dub, 21 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
King tubby has produced another top dub album keeps you skanking all night well worth having along side all your top Dub stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
Skips a little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Fever (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dub Fever
Dub Fever by King Tubby (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews