Customer Reviews


370 Reviews
5 star:
 (319)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King!
What can I say, this is THE "King of Reggae"! The Deluxe Edition is a great package with the Legend album itself, plus a nicely presented booklet and bonus CD. This extra CD is an interesting mixture of re-mixes and extended versions, with some songs not on the Legend CD. Not sure how much Mr. Marley was involved with these, and one or two are a little irksome (being...
Published on 13 July 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio CD.....Not as good as it should be
I have a 30 year history of buying Bob Marley's music.
I decided to replace my lost original of "Legend" (not remastered)
There is a reason that I don't normally buy anything that is "remastered" as it always sounds too processed and unnatural.
This album shows exactly that.
Vocals just don't sound right, mostly noticed in the backing vocals with a...
Published 9 months ago by Dazzaaa


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King!, 13 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
What can I say, this is THE "King of Reggae"! The Deluxe Edition is a great package with the Legend album itself, plus a nicely presented booklet and bonus CD. This extra CD is an interesting mixture of re-mixes and extended versions, with some songs not on the Legend CD. Not sure how much Mr. Marley was involved with these, and one or two are a little irksome (being popped-up or over sampled), but it's still a great CD to listen to, and doesn't cost any more. In fact it was 2p cheaper than the single CD version when I bought it. The Legend CD of course if flawless, and should be in anyone's collection even if you don't normally listen to reggae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
The title of this album says it all. This is such a great collection of songs I don't know where to start. If you're new to Marley then you can't do better than this album, and if you're already a fan then this a great collection of his stuff in one place. Worth it for 'No woman no cry' alone! Brilliant summer music, or any time of the year it's that good!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae Legend, 12 May 2007
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
Bob Marley is a reggae legend, whose life was tragically cut short, but his legacy continues to be inspirational to fellow reggae bands. The Legend: Remastered is a tribute to the legend, who has captivated interest with colourful and vibrant music during the 70's decade, but his appeal continues to maintain interest. The album features 16 tracks, which are all digitally remastered, but the original sound is still retained. Some of my personal favourites include One Love / People Get Ready, Get up, stand up, Could you be loved, Satisfy my soul and son. In few commercials, the background music is based on few of his well known tracks. These songs are really tuneful and great pleasure to listen to. Without him, raggae music would not recieve the widespread recognition it continues to achieve at present. Bob Marley has promoted reggae music in the map, which started to flourish during the 70's decade to the present. The album I would truly recommend for anyone who loves reggae music and Bob Marley is the the true representative of reggae music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30th Anniversary Legend 5.1 Surround Sensation!, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am at an age now when wows are few and far between! But this latest offering from Universal is WOWWWW!
This has always been a great album and the recent Pure Audio version was very good within it's stereo limitations. Now with all the instruments spread across the wide 5.1 soundstage what a transformation. Every instrument is beautifully separated in the mix and it sounds as though a lot of work has been put in to bring out the nuances and positioning of each. Everything is there with crystal clarity from the edge of the hi-hat and all the other percussion, the organ, guitars, that wonderful deep round reggae bass, the detailed brass, never any harshness, just a great laid back feel. Bob's voice is not in your face, but just right. If you have any affection for Legend I urge you to find your way to a full range surround system and discover what can be achieved when old recordings are given the best of up to date treatment. .....I think I'll have another WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively Up Your Music Collection, 17 Mar 2006
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
There are a handful of albums that I see in just about every house that I visit. Bob Marley-Legend is one of them. Everyone seems to love his songs and I think the main reason is their simplicity. Marley seems to be able to strip music to it's simplest form and deliver messages so relevant but without the pretentiousness that most artist impose.
Think of Reggae and Bob Marley immediately comes to mind. He has put this genre on the map and made it his own. He has mastered the genre to make the most wonderful and chilled out songs ever recorded. Played from beginning to end, this collection will take away all your worries and chill your soul. A great summer's day album to play whilst relaxing in your yard and equally good music to play in the background of a nice social gathering. One time I was in a chillout bar and they had the whole album on in the background and not one tune seemed out of place, in fact it helped tremendously with the atmosphere.
Music doesn't get more honest than this. Simplicity and beauty with a strong thread of genius interwoven throughout. this collection of songs shows clearly why Bob Marley is heralded in such high regard by millions of people worldwide. He touches everyone who hears his music, which is just about the full population of the planet.
One of the greatest collections of an artist's work and rightfully titled. Bob Marley was, and still is, a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley Legend - PURE AUDIO BLU RAY REVIEW, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Blu-ray Audio)
Legend
Yes - we all know that this is a great album - but this review is about the sound quality of the new PURE AUDIO BLU-RAY disc. I compared the CD with this using a £1,500 Cyrus CD play with £300 cables, against the Pure Audio in the cheapest, £150, Sony Blu-ray player with a £30 cable - the result - and all my family agreed - was astonishing! The Pure Audio was absolutley astounding - the best sound quality I have ever heard - and I have listened to systems costing tens of thousands. Absolutely fantastic - you feel like the band is is in the room with you - and the vocals are fabulous. A must buy. This format is the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 5 Nov 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
The title of this album says it all. This is such a great collection of songs I don't know where to start. If you're new to Marley then you can't do better than this album, and if you're already a fan then this a great collection of his stuff in one place. Worth it for 'No woman no cry' alone! Brilliant summer music, or any time of the year it's that good!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are to buy just one Reggae album get this one, 31 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
This album is aptly named; Bob Marley's music has touched the world, and this compilation does even more justice to his brilliance than the original release of "Legend" -- better, crisper sound and "Exodus," in its complete form. There was never an excuse for having the shorter version of this great song on this album and it always took away from the album for me but now Legend is the perfect album. This reissue has improved and the sound is great, all the lyrics and a good essay on Bob, and the 2 new "Bonus" tracks is a great addition to this package. "Exodus" is the best reason to toss your old "Legend" aside.

Everyone knows all the great songs from this great man. With sweet songs like "Is This Love, "No Woman, No Cry" (a recording of the famous live performance), and the empowering "Get Up Stand Up." There is a song for nearly any mood. It seems that EVERYONE, whether they're into hip-hop or rock or country can dig Bob Marley. Not many artists can do what he had done. That being said, this album is just about the most versatile disc conceivable. Feeling a little low - just play "Three Little Birds" or "Is This Love?" Need some music to get your party started? play the infectious "Jamming" and "Could You Be Loved" will do the trick. Looking to chill out with your significant other? "Waiting in Vain" (just about the most beautiful song ever conceived) or "Stir It Up" will set the mood straight.

Most of the tracks on this album are songs that were paramount for Bob Marley and the Wailers' career in the seventies and eighties. Bob Marley's "Legend" is an excellent album, definitely a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsary Purchase, 5 Mar 2002
By 
Richard Page (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
My tape version of Legend finally gave out and it coincided with the Deluxe edition - despite some misgivngs the second disc is an excellent addition to my largeish BM catalogue - most of the remixes add depth to the familiar songs , the dub version of One Love an excellent finale. 2 remixes of waiting in vain seems odd - would have preferred a couple more dub versions of other songs instead. As for disc 1, my it still remains the best collection of his songs - Easy Skankin & Punky Reggae Party add to the well known hits - might have benefited from Survival instead but I'm splitting hairs. If you have 1 Love compilation this one might be double handling as it were - if you havent then Legend should be the next thing you buy. Now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Redemption Songs..." - Legend by BOB MARLEY & THE WAILERS (2002 Universal 2CD DELUXE EDITION), 24 Nov 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The biggest selling Reggae Album of all time is an obvious (and even lazy) choice for inclusion in Universal's DELUXE EDITION series of 2CD reissues - but have you actually heard it? The audio quality on this baby is astounding - not just good - but truly incredible. And it's one of those cool reissues where you get the best of both worlds - a superlative CD version of the album on Disc 1 - while Disc 2 is filled with brilliant alternate versions that actually warrant the word bonus. Here are the skanking details so you can lively up yourself and be no drag...

UK released February 2002 - "Legend DELUXE EDITION" on Universal 586 714-2 (Barcode 731458671428) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (73:16 minutes):
1. Is This Love (from "Kaya", March 1978 UK LP on Island ILPS 9517)
2. No Woman No Cry [Live] [Full Album Version] (from "Live! At The Lyceum", December 1975 UK LP on Island ILPS 9376)
3. Could You Be Loved (from "Uprising", June 1980 UK LP on Island ILPS 9596)
4. Three Little Birds (from "Exodus", May 1977 UK LP on Island ILPS 9498)
5. Buffalo Soldier (from "Confrontation", May 1983 UK LP on Island ILPS 9760)
6. Get Up Stand Up (from "Burnin'", November 1973 UK LP on Island ILPS 9256)
7. Stir It Up [Full Album Version] (from "Catch A Fire", April 1973 UK LP on Island ILPS 9241)
8. Easy Skanking (from "Kaya", March 1978 UK LP on Island ILPS 9517)
9. One Love/People Get Ready (from "Exodus", May 1977 UK LP on Island ILPS 9498)
10. I Shot The Sheriff (from "Burnin'", November 1973 UK LP on Island ILPS 9256)
11. Waiting In Vain (from "Exodus", May 1977 UK LP on Island ILPS 9498)
12. Redemption Song (from "Uprising", June 1980 UK LP on Island ILPS 9596)
13. Satisfy My Soul (from "Kaya", March 1978 UK LP on Island ILPS 9517)
14. Exodus (from "Exodus", May 1977 UK LP on Island ILPS 9498)
15. Jamming (from "Exodus", May 1977 UK LP on Island ILPS 9498)
16. Punky Reggae Party (Long Version) (originally a non-album B-side to "Jamming" issued as a UK 7"single in December 1977 on Island WIP 6410. The original &' single edit ran to 4:25 minutes, this 'Long Version' extends to 6:52 minutes)

Disc 2 - The Legend Remixes (71:55 minutes):
1. One Love/People Get Ready (Extended Version - Remix by Julian Mendelsohn - 7:01 minutes)
2. Waiting In Vain (Remix by Julian Mendelsohn - 5:57 minutes)
3. Jamming (Remix by Paul "Groucho" Smykle - 5:36 minutes)
4. Three Little Birds/Three Little Birds (Dub Version) (Remix by Julian Mendelsohn- 5:20 minutes)
5. Could You Be Loved (Remix by Errol Brown and Alex Sadkin - 5:26 minutes)
6. No Woman No Cry (Remix by Eric E.T. Thorngren - 4:11 minutes)
7. Coming In From The Cold (Remix by Eric E.T. Thorngren - 5:43 minutes)
8. Buffalo Soldier (Remix by Eric E.T. Thorngren - 5:25 minutes)
9. Jamming (Remix by Eric E.T. Thorngren - 3:22 minutes)
10. Waiting in Vain (Remix by Eric E.T. Thorngren - 4:13 minutes)
11. Exodus (Remix by Eric E.T. Thorngren - 8:51 minutes)
12. Lively Up Yourself (Remix by Eric E.T. Thorngren - 5:18 minutes)
13. One Love/People Get Ready (Dub Version) (Remix by Godwin Logie - 4:56 minutes)

The original May 1984 14-track LP is expanded to a 16-track CD with full album versions instead of the 7" edits that were often on the record because of vinyl space restrictions. While it might sound trite to say that the single mixes end too soon - never is this more evident for instance than on "Punky Reggae Party" where the 'Long Version' groove extends to nearly seven minutes instead of four and a half - and the difference in incredible - making it a hugely enjoyable and funky beats of a thing.

The sequencing is everything with "Legend" - flitting from the Eighties to the early Seventies with ease and clever choices. It opens with the fantastic crossover hit "Is This Love" - I can remember DJing parties when this just slayed the crowd - hundreds of people joining in on the chorus. The emotional "No Woman No Cry" (from 1975's amazing "Live! At The Lyceum") is given full album length reign - over seven minutes - what a winner. But again were quickly back to another stunning dancefloor killer "Could You Be Loved" - the remaster bringing out that tight as a Vatican purse rhythm section. One of my all time faves by Marley has always been "Get Up Stand Up" - politics and passion combine with Rasta Rhythms to produce a winner for the heart, mind and feet. Johnny Nash first brought "Stir It Up" to us in March 1972 (a year before "Catch A Fire" was even released) - while I personally don't have much time for Bob's original of "I Shot The Sheriff" (made famous of course by Eric Clapton in 1974 who put it on top of the UK singles chart and probably made the lad a few bob). "Waiting In Vain" is simply gorgeous with that wonderful guitar break and that irresistible backbeat (Annie Lennox does a lovely cover of it on her "Medusa" set from 1995 that's always being used in rom-coms). In fact the breakthrough masterpiece of 1977's "Exodus" casts it shadow over the remainder of tracks with the hugely popular "Jamming" sounding amazing in the transfer.

Disc 2 opens with a seven -minute extension of "One Love/People Get Ready" with the centre section going into amazing keyboard and bass jabs. The Mendelsohn remix of "Waiting In Vain" sounds a lot less polished than the album cut - but turns it quite deliberately into a far funkier affair with the vocals treated to slight echoes. The long version of "Could You Be Loved" is a DJ's dream - allowing that fantastic certain groove to stretch out like never before - it's frankly impossible to sit still while it plays (the girls giving in some slick vocals). The acoustic beginning of "Coming In From The Cold" (originally on "Kaya" from 1980) gives way to a cool keyboard groove that feels more Soul than Reggae - a great remix. The other nugget for me is a brassy Thorngren rejigger of "Lively Up Yourself" which doesn't top the original but is a brill "You Rock So!" groove that just doesn't quit. You're then hit with a final Audio Blast - the Dub Version of "One Love/People Get Ready" which isolates Marley's vocal and the girls. There are drum whacks and echoed bass plucks that will literally rattle your speaker cones...

Universal have not surprisingly done almost every Marley LP on Island Records in a 2CD DELUXE EDITION but for me this compilation is the Jah Lion of the Reggae crop.

"Let's get together and feel all right..." - Bob Marley sang in 1977 and his passing in 1981 aged only 36 years of age hurt. Millions have been taking his message of love and music to heart ever since. Robert Nesta was a giant and this brilliant Deluxe Edition proves that handsomely...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend
Legend by Bob Marley (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews