Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hum of Healing
This album contains the sound of the "Rolling Om," a continuous tone created by a roomful of people chanting the OM mantra. Goldman recorded this healing mantra with cutting-edge technology underpinned by his knowledge of sacred sound, intentionality and psychoacoustics. The sound utilizes the Pythagorean ratio of 2:3, which is an aspect of the Golden Mean, and vibrates...
Published on 24 April 2009 by Pieter Uys

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars more like a cosmic hum
not good at all or what i expected, i have heard fantastic ones before but this one just does not do it at all!
Published 12 months ago by JOANNE LANE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hum of Healing, 24 April 2009
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Om (Audio CD)
This album contains the sound of the "Rolling Om," a continuous tone created by a roomful of people chanting the OM mantra. Goldman recorded this healing mantra with cutting-edge technology underpinned by his knowledge of sacred sound, intentionality and psychoacoustics. The sound utilizes the Pythagorean ratio of 2:3, which is an aspect of the Golden Mean, and vibrates in the keynote of C (256 cycles per second), which is considered a harmonic of the resonant frequency of the earth's electromagnetic field.

On the first listen, it just sounded like a slowly evolving hum with flutes weaving in and out of the mix. Repeated listening reveals the beauty of this gentle humming sound, whilst the "flutes" are really voice overtones as I subsequently discovered. These overtones or harmonics that float in and out of the mix were created by Goldman and Alec Sims and are the natural result of an overtone singer chanting the OM. They color the overall sound in an intriguing way, ensuring a gentle but profound spiritual listening experience.

The CD booklet contains fascinating information on mantras, the pronunciation of the OM, the creation of this recording, the science of psychoacoustics and the qualities of harmonics. The uses recommended for this music includes: enhancing sacred space for healing and ritual, a listening tool for meditation, inducing states of deep relaxation, as a background to chant to or just to surround oneself with a gentle sonic background whilst working or relaxing. Total playing time is just over 71 minutes.

In addition to Ultimate Om, I recommend Goldman's exquisite Chakra Chants, another sonic masterpiece that was made for balancing the body's seven main energy vortices through the appropriate use of vocal and instrumental sounds. Holy Harmony by the same musician contains a unique blend of voices and tuning fork frequencies with powerful healing emanations. I bought Ultimate Om because I was so impressed by the aforementioned, and I have not been disappointed. Goldman's beautiful healing music is profoundly inspiring and uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Hum, 13 Mar 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Om (Audio CD)
This album contains the sound of the "Rolling Om," a continuous tone created by a roomful of people chanting the OM mantra. Goldman recorded this rolling sound with the latest technology underpinned by his knowledge of sacred sound, intentionality and psychoacoustics. The sound utilizes the Pythagorean ratio of 2:3, which is an aspect of the Golden Mean, and vibrates in the keynote of C (256 cycles per second), which is considered a harmonic of the resonant frequency of the earth's electro magnetic field.
On the first listen, it just sounded like a slowly evolving hum with flutes weaving in and out of the mix. Subsequent listens have revealed the beauty of this gentle humming sound, whilst the "flutes" are really voice overtones as I subsequently discovered. These overtones or harmonics that float in and out of the mix were created by Goldman and Alec Sims and are the natural result of an overtone singer chanting the OM. They colour the overall sound in an intriguing way, ensuring a gentle but profound spiritual listening experience.
The CD booklet contains fascinating information on mantras, the pronunciation of the OM, the creation of this recording, the science of psychoacoustics and the qualities of harmonics. The uses recommended for this music includes: enhancing sacred space for healing and ritual, a listening tool for meditation, inducing states of deep relaxation, as a background to chant to or just to surround oneself with a gentle sonic background whilst working or relaxing. Total playing time is just over 71 minutes.
In addition to Ultimate Om, I recommend Jonathan Goldman's exquisite Chakra Chants, another sonic masterpiece that was made for balancing the body's seven main energy vortices through the appropriate use of vocal and instrumental sounds. I bought Ultimate Om because I was so impressed by Chakra Chants, and I have not been disappointed. Goldman's beautiful healing music is profoundly inspiring and uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Sounds, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Ultimate Om (MP3 Download)
I love this album, I like to meditate but sometimes struggle as I have tinnitus and finding the right musical accompaniment to my meditation can be a bit of a minefield at times. I put this on for a set amount of time, usually 30 minutes and just shut my eyes and I'm gone. Meditation has become a pleasure once more; I finish my meditation feeling refreshed and invigorated.

The voices create a rolling Om sound which just carries your mind off to a higher place. I tried listening to this on my computer but it did it no justice whatsoever, I then put it on the main Hi Fi and WOW, what a difference that made; the sound just filled the room with a positive vibe.

I found this album to be profoundly beautiful and amazingly cleansing.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sacred sound of space, 30 April 2006
This review is from: Ultimate Om (Audio CD)
An unusual and deeply soothing om sound which I found helpful for yoga and meditation practice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great calming and centring music, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Om (MP3 Download)
We often have it on as a part of a centering exercise, or just as background when doing other tasks or activities that need concentration. And we like a lot of his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Om, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Om (MP3 Download)
Brilliant relaxing music used for meditation etc. Never dates bought the CD years ago now as a down load for the Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Om, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Patrick Early (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Om (Audio CD)
Really good cd. Powerful to uplift and heal.
I am in an Inner Peace group and we regularly use it in the background during our meetings turned down low.
I am a big fan of sound as a healing modality and this is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars more like a cosmic hum, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Om (Audio CD)
not good at all or what i expected, i have heard fantastic ones before but this one just does not do it at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss, 2 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. C. A. Craig "CC_R" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Om (Audio CD)
A lovely CD put it on chant away like sitting in a large group of folks and joining in great for harmonic overtones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth buying new, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Om (Audio CD)
I expected this to have different tracks on it but it plays the same through-out the CD, with slight variations, now and again. It's like one long track.

It is very peaceful to listen to and it did induce relaxation, until the interruptions disturbed me each time it went into the next track.

I rated this three stars, because because I think that it's absolutely NOT worth the money. My advice is to buy it as an MP3 download or get the CD second hand. Save yourself the money for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Om
Ultimate Om by Jonathan Goldman (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews