Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you came in late, just look at what you missed
I've been to some HUGE shows but the James concerts are the best. I've been the bloke at the back of the crowd and the bloke hugging the barrier at the front but I always came away from a gig wanting more and this CD is a chance to re-live some amazing moments. Most of the hits are here, along with some amazing versions of earlier and lesser known songs but the highlight...
Published on 18 Jan. 2004

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
James released a far superior live album, 'One Man Clapping' in 1989 which has now been discontinued.
This live album is OK but it definitely reminds you just how pretentious Tim and the boys were. When they do the fast stuff they're fantastic. When they witter on between tracks you remember how naff they used to sound.
Defiinitely worth buying but not...
Published on 18 Jun. 2002 by NFMC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you came in late, just look at what you missed, 18 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
I've been to some HUGE shows but the James concerts are the best. I've been the bloke at the back of the crowd and the bloke hugging the barrier at the front but I always came away from a gig wanting more and this CD is a chance to re-live some amazing moments. Most of the hits are here, along with some amazing versions of earlier and lesser known songs but the highlight has to be the ending - the colossus of Sit Down. I defy anybody to listen to this and not have goosebumps. For anyone who is a James fan this is a must for your collection, anyone with any interest in music at all should get a reminder of what the greatest British band of the last 20 years could do and see what live music should be about. Then get the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 27 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
Having been a James fan for the past decade I have attempted to attend as many live performances as possible. These have varied in size and location from stadiums to pubs. Imagine my utter grief to learn that James' final tour would take place whilst I was living in New Zealand for a year. After 6 months of misery every time I listened to any of their albums I returned to the UK to discover they had released this album! I immediately bought it, despite its excessive price in HMV, and found the album that makes all things feel good! I can listen to this album on repeat and have not yet experienced a time when I have felt that I would not like to listen to it! Protect me is an amazing moment, Ring the Bells is one of the best listening experiences of all time and Tomorrow never fails to spread hope (and goosebumps!)
I often feel disgruntled by reviews which slate James for being 'airy-fairy' and pretentious and decided to write this to combat those soul-less critics. This album will never fail to lift your spirits so buy it! Accompany it with the video or DVD and you will very rapidly become emotionally attached to both! If my house set on fire, this would be the thing that I would grab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the DVD aswell!!, 24 April 2003
By 
Richard Bailey (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
I've been to lots of gigs. Different bands have come on stage, played songs and gone off. And sometimes I've been entertained. And sometimes I've just had a great time jumping up and down.
And then there are James gigs. I've been to quite a few of those aswell, but this one has to be one of the best. The set list (except they missed out How was it for you!), the performance, the equipment breaking, the lights, the surprise guests - it has everything.
Particular highlights are Sometimes, Johnny Yen, Hymn From a Village and every other song, and even Sit Down, despite its hatred by many a NME reader allowed Tim to excell in his final moments with the band with a beauty that you can't ignore.
Buy this. Not just because I'm obviously a biased fan and I say its good. Buy it, because if you don't you are missing a great album from your collection.
And then buy the DVD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything a live album should be., 20 Jun. 2002
By 
David Robinson "kinitawowi" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
So, another chapter in the life of this band draws to a close. And listening to this album, hearing all 20,000 people sing their hearts out to Sit Down, and knowing the connection between band and fans, you have to wonder where they will go next.
I had the good fortune to be in the Manchester Evening News Arena that December 7th. The band ran through 22 of their finest, best loved songs in front of a crowd who adored them. Tim had the entire audience hanging on his every word, and but for two additional performances in Glasgow and London (contrary to popular belief, this was not their last gig - a chronic error on the part of the schedulers) he could have gone on forever. An electrifying atmosphere kept building and building, through the compulsory technical hitch, until the final declaration; "I'd love to invite you home for milk and cookies. Goodnight!".
Atmosphere is something that it's always difficult to capture in a live recording. However you play the track, it never seems to sound or feel like a stadium. Thanks to some expert production, this recording manages it. Maybe you had to be there, but listening to this strikes up all the images and sensations of a band performing at their most passionate, with the fans in full voice.
The songs speak for themselves. Sit Down, Laid, Come Home. The simple sound of these words is enough to tell any music fan that this is greatness on two discs. And as Larry Gott and Andy Diagram perform on classics like Protect Me and God Only Knows, they have lost none of their touch.
This is a band at their best in front of a crowd who adored them. They always loved the thrill of being with fans, and this recording demonstrates why despite all their problems, with lineup changes, record company changes and financial chaos, to name but a few, they have kept going.
Tim Booth has now moved on. Perhaps he will return at some point. Perhaps not. But one thing is for certain; it doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to re-name "The Best Of"...., 10 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
OH YEAH!
It has long been the generally accepted thesis that James' best album has been, is, and always will be, their aptly-titled "The Best Of James". Couple that with the sprightly, up-beat pop rock of 1999's "Millionaires" and you have a winning combination. James couldn't lose after that. The ribbing the critics subesquently gave their next album "Pleased To Meet You", therefore, was not welcomed by the fans.
However, I defy anyone to find any defects in this, James' first and only proper live album ever to be released.
Recorded at what is almost certain to have been their last ever live gig, at Manchester in December 2001, this album takes many classic James hits like "Sometimes", "Laid", "Getting Away With It", and of course the quintessential indie-rock number "Sit Down" and shows just how adept James can be at performing these with high energy and definite gusto. Some of the tracks have even been sped up to add a more rocky feel and give a sharper edge (the extremely upbeat "Laid", with the audience joining in at a tremendous volume, is definitely one of the highest points in the album).
As a result, this is a definite, galloping record, bringing in all the classic James charm that they always had, and which riffs through many killer numbers without any sign or chance of them ever conceding or stopping.
I doubt they really wanted to stop, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great recording of a truly memorable gig, 19 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
When my sister phoned me up the afternoon before this gig and said "do you want to go to the last ever James concert, I've got a spare ticket", I thought, yeah, sure, might as well for old times' sake. They're not as good as they were but could be OK. Wrong - they were oustanding - possibly one of the best gigs I've ever been to, - patchy in areas (especially the stuff off Millionaires), but there are some simply stand out tracks - Johnny Yen had us all pogoing, Sound, Waltzing Along, Sometimes, punchy version of Come Home and the intro to the last ever rendition of Sit Down is simply breathtaking. Buy it, enjoy it, and if you were lucky enough to be there, - savour it - again and again. Well done lads, you gave me my James faith back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
A. Lawler "tonycatman" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
I'll start by putting my cards on the table. I am a big James fan. Great lyrics, great tunes, great live.

I wasn't at this particular gig, but, in retrospect, would have paid almost anything to have been there. This is the most 'together' performance I have heard from them. Everything is in tune and on time while still having the live feel.

Your favourites are there, from Ring The Bells to Sit Down, but some songs stand out.

Top of The World is the best rendition I have heard. Tim's voice in Waltzing Along is truly astounding, and Tomorrow is absolutely stonking.

Buy it, and congratulate yourself on discovering and enjoying something most people have never heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About the best they ever did, 18 Oct. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
Being a distant admirer of James for a good few years, I always stood back from the madness that "sit down" and "come home" brought. I was, however, interested in this, the supposed last album; it was live, it was James, and it was the lead singers' final (but one) trip onstage with the rest of the band.
This album sounds brilliant, the production is fantastic, it creates a closeness on the slow ones, and a feeling of crowd-crazyness on the fast ones.
The most breath-taking thing though, is the purety and vulnerability of the lead singers' voice, and the power and subtlety of the band-check out "sound"...the whole ten minutes, and see how you feel afterwards.
The lesser known songs, after being played a few times will astound you, listen to "Jonny Yen" or "Vervacious" with the volume up high, listen to the words, and you'll feel the goose bumps.
Listen to this whole thing at full blast, and you'll be converted....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must one of the best live dvds out there, 21 July 2014
By 
Paul Bradley (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
Fantastic live dvd. Great songs sung with amazing emotion. The song list contains all the best songs by a very underated band. A must buy for James fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best live album ever, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Away With It: Live (Audio CD)
I wore out the last album as I played it so much, best live album ever. Good price for a difficult to get hold of album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting Away With It: Live
Getting Away With It: Live by James (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews