Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beginners guide to the music of the Jam . Top class !
The Sound of the Jam is the perfect album for any lover of good music.
The Jam were one of the best British bands to emerge from the Punk Explosion of 1977 & ride the New Wave into the 1980's.
This album documents the Jam's journey as a band from their debut single , the energetic "In the City" to their final single & fourth No.1 "Beat Surrender".
All the...
Published on 22 May 2002 by johnny.elvis65@ntlworld.com

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a Miss
Personally, I can't see how any serious Jam collection can miss out "AllAround the World". If you've got the 1991 Greatest Hits album and SettingSons then you probably don't need this one
Published on 20 April 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beginners guide to the music of the Jam . Top class !, 22 May 2002
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
The Sound of the Jam is the perfect album for any lover of good music.
The Jam were one of the best British bands to emerge from the Punk Explosion of 1977 & ride the New Wave into the 1980's.
This album documents the Jam's journey as a band from their debut single , the energetic "In the City" to their final single & fourth No.1 "Beat Surrender".
All the Jam's singles are here to savour , a few classic B sides like Liza Radley & the Butterfly Collector are standout tracks which show the diversity of the Jam's music.
"Private Hell" is an outstanding track taken from the "Setting Sons" album and it shows Paul Weller's songwriting at its very best.
"Smithers Jones" one of Bruce Foxton's few songwriting outings with the Jam paints a vivid picture of the urban life and is well worth a listen.
The powerhouse three piece of Weller,Foxton & Buckler provides Muscle Music with "Fire n' Skill"
(as emblazoned across their Marshall amplifiers in the early days)
The Sound of the Jam is a very good compilation album celebrating the Jam's music on the 25th anniversary of their first release.
26 Tracks including 11 top 40 hits & 4 number ones now "That's Entertainment !"
Check it out you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome but Incomplete, 13 July 2004
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
I am a young music fan and really became interested in the Jam as a result of my Dad. For a music fan, like myself, who is new to the music of the Jam, this compilation serves as a perfect overview of their work. However there are some notable omissions evident and although their four #1 hits are here I can't help but feel that some of their best work has been overlooked in favour of other less impressive material. Most notably with "That's Entertainment" where I feel this "previously unreleased" version is vastly inferior to the sublime original.
However it is hard to critisize the work of undoubtedly one of the best British bands ever. Besides the few obvious omissions this is a very comprehensive compilation and as I already said most of their hits are here. Overall this is the best Jam compilation available and although I feel the omissions perhaps leave it a little unsatisfactory to massive fans it is an ideal album for any casual music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jam - Retrospective Introspective, 12 Nov 2003
By 
B. Adlam "Ben" (Louth, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
The Woking Wonders in their prime! Agood compilation of Great Songs! Basically a chronological assault on The Jam's back catalogue. From the faux punk of In The City and Away From The Numbers to the Northern Soul tinged Town Called Malice and all points in-between. From the spitting vitriol and social commentry of Down In The Tubestation At Midnight to the simple and enchanting Ghosts. All the reasons why The Jam were the natural progression from The Kinks and The Small Faces as Britains Social Commentators. Buy it and relive the joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of the Jam? Not 'arf, 21 May 2002
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
Should you buy this album? In a word...YES! I can promise you, you wont be disappointed. Its a cracker! It's been a good while since i last listened to The Jam. I have all their albums, but to be honest for the last 10 years they havent made their way onto my CD player very regualrly, but in the past two weeks, since buying this collection, i have listened to nothing else.
Why? Because the music is the key. Beautiful, powerful, breathtaking at times, and always to the point. Their songs never sell you short, in my opinion they didnt produce a duff track, all the stuff is of the highest quality and this collection of their work proves that.
Paul Weller's insightful. bitter and often cutting lyrics help to make this album on the greatest "best of"'s ever released. No one can argue the quality of the tracks on this album, they speak for themselves, from the violent, protesting "Eton Rifles" to the tender, simple "English Rose" this album has it all. "Going Underground" will have you pogoing like a lunatic and most of us can understand the pain of a relationship ending expressed in "It's too bad". If you havent listened to The Jam before (how old are you and where have you been?) this is an excellent taster, giving you not only hit singles but rarer tracks, including a pleasing never before released version of "That's Entertainment".
I think im going to dust down my parka and get me a lambretta....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a Miss, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
Personally, I can't see how any serious Jam collection can miss out "AllAround the World". If you've got the 1991 Greatest Hits album and SettingSons then you probably don't need this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the middle-aged feel both young and old, 12 July 2002
By 
Dobester (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
A mighty Jam collection that will have you (if you're a middle-aged git like me) wishing you had kept your turntable and vinyl Jam albums. It will force you to buy all the albums again on cd, which will make this cracker redundant. This will give you the opportunity to pass it on to somebody else, maybe a younger person who doesn't know the Jam's mighty oeuvre. Will they like it? Who cares - you'll have all the Jam albums again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation...but still lacking some of my favourites, 26 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
As yet another middle-aged Jam fan still trying to get around to replacing all my old vinyl, I can tell you that this CD set is a very good compilation indeed. However, I also purchased Snap!, another Jam compilation CD. If you're an older Jam 'fan' then I would recommend that you buy Snap! as well The Sound of the Jam...that's if you really want a good 'fix' of the Jam; both of these albums really are absolutely necessary.

Tracks NOT on Sound of the Jam but on Snap!:

All Around The World; News Of The World; Billy Hunt; 'A' Bomb in Wardour Street; Strange Town; When You're Young; Dreams Of Children; Man In The Corner Shop; Funeral Pyre; Absolute Beginners; Precious; The Bitterest Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow)

Tracks NOT on Snap! but on Sound of the Jam:

It's Too Bad; To Be Someone; Private Hell; Saturdays Kids; Liza Radley; Pretty Green; Boy About Town; Ghosts; Carnation

By buying both compilations (and they are available at silly prices) you get 21 more tracks. Now of the 17 tracks that are on both albums 4 are different versions. For example, on Snap! Eton Rifles is 30 seconds longer than the track on The Sound of The Jam (mostly the ending is different and longer and accounts for most of the extra time). That's Entertainment and Start on Snap! are 21 seconds and 14 seconds longer, respectively, than on TSOTJ, and Tales From The Riverbank on Snap! is 10 seconds shorter than on the TSOTJ offering. So a bit of variety there IOW.

Anyhow, great on it's own, better with the Snap! compilation as well.

I must say though, that after listening to these compilation albums, I get a great yearning to actually buy the original albums again: In the City (1977), This Is the Modern World (1977), All Mod Cons (1978), Setting Sons(1979) Sound Affects, (1980), and The Gift (1982) are all excellent albums IMO - some people didn't like The Gift, but I did. Okay, not as strong as the others, but I always liked the way the album opened with Happy Together, and then followed by Ghost. Sadly, Happy together isn't on the compilations.

Oh, and finally, if you had the original Snap! album on vinyl with the extra EP (had 4 songs on it) you still won't find those extra songs on any of these compilations. Shame really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Music but lacking 3 classics, 25 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
This Cd shows the quality of the jams songwritng and it is phonominal. the reason i din't give this 5 stars was because of the omission of all around the world, strange town and when you're young. this shows part of why paul weller got his outstanding contribution to music award at this years brits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic music from the 80 s, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of the Jam (Audio CD)
A classic album. This was a CD purchased to enable ripping into my iTunes Library as the original was 126kb/s. It was an excellent price and delivered on time. The quality appears to be outstanding. Thank you Zoverstocks and Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Jammy, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this excellent idea CD and DVD ideal if this is your first trip into such an amazing band well recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of the Jam
The Sound of the Jam by The Jam (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews