Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Austin Powers just gets better and better
Traditionally, films that have sequels rarely get better, this is the exception! The first one was funny and set the scene and introduced the character... but Hurley was a little annoying! The 2nd was hilarious with the introduction of Mini-Me and Fat B******, and Heather Graham was much more convincing!
The third is fantastic... funny, disgusting, clever and...
Published on 16 May 2003 by gemimabs

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars *** BRONZEMEMBER ***
So here it is the third instalment in one of the most popular and successful movie comedy franchises ever, Austin Powers in Goldmember, the follow up to the immensely popular and successful Spy Who Shagged Me. With Mike Myers reprising his role as writer/star, Beyonce Knowles as the new Powers girl and a cast which includes many of the biggest hitters in Hollywood,...
Published on 19 Dec 2002 by Mr. N. Carnegie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Austin Powers just gets better and better, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Traditionally, films that have sequels rarely get better, this is the exception! The first one was funny and set the scene and introduced the character... but Hurley was a little annoying! The 2nd was hilarious with the introduction of Mini-Me and Fat B******, and Heather Graham was much more convincing!
The third is fantastic... funny, disgusting, clever and uplifting! Mini-Me and Fat B****** are back with even better gags and the usual crude humour from the latter!!! But Mike Myers has triumphed in adding the hilarious dutch roller skating villain "Goldmember!" And the casting of Michael Cane as Nigel Powers, Austins father... or farja if you're Goldmember... is excellent!
In her first acting role, Beyonce Knowles is brilliant and beautiful, with some great one liners and wild hair!
If you are a fan of Austin Powers... you will adore this film. If you didn't like the first two, you may not like this one as the humour carries the same vein and most of the original characters put in an appearance! If you haven't seen the first two... you may not get it!
Don't watch this film too seriously! Have a few drinks, a huge bucket of popcorn, loads of mates and just enjoy it! If you get the DVD... don't forget to check out the special features and extra scenes... extremely funny!
One question... when's Austin Powers 4 coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A comical masterpiece", 10 July 2004
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The third installment of the James Bond spoof series- Austen Powers in Goldmember can easily compete with the domination and success of its two predecessors. A seven-week total of $207 million made Goldmember the highest-grossing film of the Austin Powers trilogy. A truly amazing accomplishment for Mike Myers' creation.
Myers returns as the International man of mystery-Austin Powers, Dr. Evil as well as a host of new characters such as Goldmember. Myers' comedic performance pulls off all the stops to ensure that Goldmember would be a huge box office success. The introduction of inexperienced Pop-diva Beyonce Knowles was a suprise to some, as is her outstanding role as Foxxy Cleopatra.
Austin Powers in Goldmember could have either been a huge success or a huge failure, however with charismatic performances from the leading duo [Myers and Knowles] as well as from British-acting legend Michael Caine lending his experienced services, and a host of cameo appearances from Briteny Spears to Tom Cruise, make the third installment of Austin Powers hugely entertaining and a comical masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars *** BRONZEMEMBER ***, 19 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
So here it is the third instalment in one of the most popular and successful movie comedy franchises ever, Austin Powers in Goldmember, the follow up to the immensely popular and successful Spy Who Shagged Me. With Mike Myers reprising his role as writer/star, Beyonce Knowles as the new Powers girl and a cast which includes many of the biggest hitters in Hollywood, including Steven Spielberg, Tom Cruise, Gwyneth Paltrow, Kevin Spacey, John Travolta, Britney Spears, Danny Devito and Michael Caine (an inspired choice as Austin's father) this promised to be the funniest movie of the summer. However, rather than building upon The Spy Who Shagged Me, Goldmember is instead a collection of hit and miss sketches, several of which are pale imitations of his last movie, loosely connected into some kind of story.
Opening with an action-packed pre-credit James Bond like sequence, with cameos from many of Hollywood's biggest stars gets the movie off to a funny if somewhat irrelevant start, which is great if you like movies within movies, not so great if you don't. From there we get back into the real action with Dr Evil and Myer's latest character Goldmember (a Dutchman with a gold penis and bad skin, which he likes to eat) plotting once more to take over the world. So far so good you might think but herein one of the problems lies: the character Goldmember just isn't funny and is positively poor next to all of Mike Myers other characters, including a disappointingly under-used and very flatulent Fat Bastard who makes a welcome but all too brief return. There are some very funny visual and verbal gags of course and a few clever scenes that retrace Austin Powers and Dr Evil's childhoods but all in all there are just as many hits as misses and too many scenes that are obvious retreads of the previous movies most successful gags, such as the use of silhouettes, telling Sean to zip-it and the Jay-Z "It's A Hard Knock Life" routine. Okay so these scenes are still, to an extent, funny but nowhere near as funny as the first time you saw them.
As for the cast, Myer's is his usual brilliant comedic self, it's just that his self-penned lines are not as good as before. Verne Troyer is once again splendid as Mini Me and Destiny's child's Beyonce Knowles makes a sassy and sexy Foxy Cleopatra, whilst Seth Green (sporting a receding hairline) is quite fabulous as Dr Evil's son Sean. However, the star of the show in my view, is Michael Caine, with a marvellous comedic performance as Austin's father Nigel, delightfully sending up his Harry Palmer persona from the 1960's movies that first made him a star.
As for the movie as a whole, it is probably ideally suited to the DVD format more than any other movie out there, because on DVD you will be able to pick and choose which scenes you watch (and there are some very funny and very imaginative scenes). It is just that all n all you feel that you've seen it all before and seen it done better in the previous instalment. What is more the ending of the film suggests that not only is Mike Myers running out of new ideas for his spoof spy movies but that indeed it may be the end of this very profitable franchise. Still funny but not as funny as its predecessor: Three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I Love Goooooold!!, 24 Jan 2009
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The Austin Powers series in a lot of ways is like the Waynes World films in that it defines a generation by pointing out its biggest personality traits and making fun of them. Waynes World pointed out the camp, moronic nature of many hardcore old school rock fans and their dedication for the genre. Austin Powers is a character that defines the campness of the groovy 60s, not necessarily hippie fashion, but more fun loving groovy cats who just wanted to have a good time.

The character is broadly based around James bond and the velvet suit with Beatle Boots was actually worn by a George Lazenby incarnation of Bond. Mike Myers took his humour and expressed it in a character that worked on so many levels and took him to the sky in relation to recognition, and arguably the success of this particular will never be matched. With Austin Powers, Myers has now run the risk of the character becoming bigger than the actor and the humour itself. The catchphrases and groovy look are great and present a fun atmosphere, but this now runs the risk of the catchphrases overtaking any form of introduction of new humour.

The character is no bad thing and the silly wit from the mind of Myers only helps the movies, but unless it was Myers intention, the character has now become bigger than its creator and it is obvious in this film. The story focuses around Austin who faces a new foe who teams up with Dr. Evil. The new foes name I hear you ask? Goldmember, and his criminal calling card is turning his victims members gold. Goldmember and Dr. Evil team up to build a tractor beam that will pull a meteor into the earth and melt the ice caps. Austin, with the help of a new companion by the name of Foxxy Cleopatra, has to travel back to 1975 to save his father and stop Dr. Evil and Goldmember.

The plot's simple enough don't you think? I suppose what Myers sought to achieve with this was character progression more than anything as we see Dr. Evils son, Scott become evil. The new character of Goldmember is something not too appealing in the film, as it seems he's there to simply promote some form of "look how the foreigner talks funny" vibe, and the joke gets really old quite quickly. After about the first 5 minutes of being familiar with Goldmember, I think even Myers realised this character couldn't achieve anything better and after his original "comic" entrance he just ended up sitting in silence a lot.

The real introductory gems of the entire film are Foxxy Cleopatra played by the devinely beautiful Beyoncé Knowles, and Nigel Powers played by the legendary Michael Caine who looks surprisingly young. Foxxy Cleopatra is the breath of fresh air in what generally is a redoing of all the old gags. She's a woman with talent and attitude and is like many women before her, after Austins heart. Michael Caine seems very much at home playing Nigel Powers as it seems a character very close to his own personality. The cheeky cockney geezer always up for a good time with the ladies is something very befitting of Caine.

The setting is great and the comedy is just fantastic (the new stuff anyway) but I felt the movie fell short. Apart from the genuinely amazing intro and the odd bit here and there, the film just felt a lot like the previous two with a lot of the old gags done once again. Once is fantastic, twice is okay, but the same joke for the third time becomes a bit tiresome. I have to wonder that with a fourth installment in the works, just how soon will it be before Myers decides to drop the old boring jokes and create some new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Has a few classic moments but is ultimately disappointing, 14 Jun 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
While Austin Powers in Goldmember is certainly a funny movie, featuring several of the most classic scenes from the Austin Powers series, it is ultimately something of a disappointment. We all thought Austin lost his mojo in the second movie, but the series itself ran and off and left its mojo behind early on in this third film. It’s hard to explain, but this just doesn’t even feel like a movie to me. I was still waiting for the movie to really kick in to serious gear when the credits began rolling. There seem to be serious problems with the plot and script; too many things just happen for no apparent reason, giving the impression that the filmmakers were not overly concerned with maintaining the causality of the storyline. One thing that really bothered me was Austin’s appearance out of nowhere early on to arrest a newly-returned Dr. Evil. Dr. Evil had to go to prison as part of the plot, but, after watching him escape from his nemesis over the course of two movies, seeing Dr. Evil captured so easily seemed a great disservice to such a great character. The ending is also disappointing; I hope this is not the final Austin Powers movie, but it certainly wraps up in series-ending style; while predictable, such an ending would not have been terribly bad if the filmmakers had put more effort into injecting some life or suspense into it; as it is, things turn out quite silly, with only one character turning away from the sappy denouement and implanting us with hope that we may see Austin return some day.
Goldmember, a new fourth character played by Mike Myers, is probably the worst character in the history of motion pictures. While he could be slightly amusing on occasion, Goldmember’s unnecessary, disgusting, corny role shot big holes into the movie named for him. The roller skates, the skin-eating, everything about the man turned me off completely; Goldmember makes Fat Bastard look like Cary Grant. The Mole, in my opinion, was yet another terrible character. No one enjoyed Fred Savage’s performance in The Wonder Years as much as I did, but both he and his character looked uncomfortably out of place in the presence of Austin Powers and Dr. Evil. I also, to be quite frank, disapproved mightily of the disservice done to Heather Graham’s character of Felicity Shagwell from the second film; I wanted an explanation for her absence, but all I got was a new character in the form of Foxxy Cleopatra. Beonce Knowles did an admirable job in the role, but to me her character just doesn’t fit, and Austin’s largely absent mojo flexing in the ladies’ department made me feel as if I were watching Austin going about his business as an old man.
All criticism aside, there really are some classic moments in this film. The opening is brilliant, producing some of the most memorable cameo appearances to ever hit the big screen. Even this cannot compare to the scenes featuring the young versions of Austin and Dr. Evil, however. Josh Zuckerman did a great job aping the mannerisms and inflections of Dr. Evil, but Aaron Himelstein was all over the young Austin Powers role; he had Austin’s look, expressions, mannerisms, and voice down pat; it’s really one of the most impressive impersonation jobs I’ve ever seen. The humor and entertainment, though, are just too few and far between for the movie as a whole. I think the plot holes could have been plugged effectively by a couple of the deleted scenes included on the DVD, yet a number of those deleted scenes were mercifully cut from the final print before doing even more self-inflicted damage to this disappointing sequel of a sequel. I think Mike Myers got too caught up in the whole Austin Powers frenzy, placing the characters before the story itself. The result is, by and large, a second-rate parody of a formerly ingenious parody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GENIUS, 25 Jun 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I shouldn't find it as funny as I do, but I can't help but laugh so hard my sides ache every time I watch this film. The characters are so hilarious and there are so many of them that you find yourself laughing virtually non stop. Myers is so funny to watch and so original and ahead of the game in all he does. So many catchphrases have come from this movie it just shows how funny and in tune with viewers it is. Buy it, watch it and laugh so hard you'll cry!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant end to a brilliant threequel, 2 Feb 2003
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Bringing a trilogy to its natural conclusion is never an easy task, but creator/producer and multiple star Mike Myers does exactly that, with enough cameos, gags, props and inescapably juvenile humour to make Goldmember a success.
Three years since Austin (Myers) prevented Dr Evil's (Myers) insidious scheming, the demented genius and his miniature clone Mini-Me (Verne Troyer, on top form) escape from their maximum-security prison to commit more evil atrocities in various decades, this time teaming up with diabolical Dutch criminal-mastermind Goldmember (Myers), who gained his name after a bizarre smelting accident turned his family jewels into solid gold.
But there is more at stake for Austin, as Goldmember has kidnapped his 'farsher' - father: he has a Dutch accent, isn't that weird? - Nigel Powers (played by the superbly cockney Caine), who Austin has his own issues with.
The Evil family return, with Seth Green (Scott), Mindy Sterling (Frau) and Robert Wagner (Number Two) providing a favourable audience for Dr Evil's new and typically OTT plans.
Joining Austin this time is Destiny's Child singer Knowles, whose blaxploitation babe Foxxy Cleopatra fills her part (and then some!) admirably well, as Powers must go back to 1975 to save the girl, his 'farsher' and the world once more - all in a days work for Her Majesty's top agent.
As you'd expect, the picture quality is wonderfully vibrant thanks to the swinging Seventies-inspired colours and set designs. Even more impressive for a release of this nature is the inclusion of the DTS 6.1 soundtrack, which features discrete 6.1 decoding for those with a centre-rear speaker.
Unfortunately, unlike the previous Powers outings the selection of special features feels a little under-whelming, with a limited and less inventive array of extras. The audio commentary by director Roach and writer/star Myers is acceptable, though lacking the replay value provided by their commentary for The Spy Who Shagged Me.
The 'All-Access Pass' features take you into the familiar behind-the-scenes-esque bonus material, with 'The World Of Austin Powers' revealing insight into the making, casting, stunts and special effects. Although there is certainly value and enjoyment to be had from watching these featurettes, it is the insight into the new characters that breathes life into this selection - and in particular Masters Powers and Evil, where the camera takes you into their casting sessions, role acceptance and makeup, including Powers' goofy teeth and chest hair.
The enormous selection of deleted/extended scenes lack the charm of those from TSWSM, and unlike those in Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back (cut because they extended the MPAA boundaries of cinematic taste), were cut due to them either slowing the film's pace, or simply because they didn't work.
The 'Visual FX Segment' is a short look into the more expensive SFX budget awarded Goldmember, while music videos from Britney Spears, Beyoncé Knowles and more fill disc space along with the film's various trailers.
'Beyond The Movie' contains four featurettes that look at specific scenes/styles of the film, with 'International Men Of Mystery', 'English, English' (cockney rhyming slang), 'Disco Fever' and 'Fashion Vs Fiction' short insights into the world of Powers... Austin Powers.
Although unlikely to span forty years like the Bond Franchise, Austin Powers In Goldmember, like the previous two, gets more enjoyable with repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beauteous trilogy, 25 Aug 2003
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Though it may not stay a trilogy for long, who knows but I think Mike Myers re-invented himself with all the comic ingenuity that he had when he made 'Wayne's World'. Some disagree but I can only say that this is by far the funniest Austin Powers movie. He parodies not only espionage films, but also aspects of the music industry, the whole 70s era... it's hard for me to understand people who complain about the lack of substance in the plot when they're watching a film that is so blatantly farcical (in a good way). It's silly- don't expect more from that. Sometimes the jokes will make you go 'oh dear, will it stoop any lower?' and inevitably it does- so low that it manages to come out the other side and down again. I struggled to contain the contents of my bowels when I saw the 'Hard Knock Life' section- I have never actually laughed that hard in a cinema in my life. So expect to change your pants a few times while watching this if you're a fan of Austin Powers and know not to bother following the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have film, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is without a doubt a brilliant film to have. Just full of fun and clever snips of other films re-enacted with Mike Myers usual style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It All Seems The Same, 23 July 2003
Everything about this movie seems good, the 70's discoes, the women, the humour is all there, but for some reason, it feels a bit out dated. For starter's most of the gags here seem too samey with it's predecessor, luckily with the addition of a new character 70's Dutch Man Goldmember, things start to differ a little bit.
Still even with all of these problems, it's still an enjoyable watch, and worth the price. Just hopefully next time, Myers being the creative genius he is, can vary the next film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Austin Powers in Goldmember [DVD] [2002]
3.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews