Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Italia
The sort of cd that I put on to get les gals in a jolly mood with a glass or three of Pinot Grigio and a plate of pasta. Before you can say 'Cin Cin', they're dancing in the kitchen and imagining they're back in some street cafe in Italy. Quite a sight to the uninitiated, given our average age, but never let it be said there's no fun to be had at my house! Obviously,...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by Barbara-Ann

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the price
I bought this as background music for a 'Come Dine With Me' evening I'm doing with friends.
I'm doing an Italian Restaurant theme so it seemed perfect.
It's OK but made up of obviously ancient tracks with quite a bit of opera.
I'll just have to make sure they have plenty of vino so they don't notice.
I wouldn't send it back or complain, just not quite...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Francesco


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Italia, 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
The sort of cd that I put on to get les gals in a jolly mood with a glass or three of Pinot Grigio and a plate of pasta. Before you can say 'Cin Cin', they're dancing in the kitchen and imagining they're back in some street cafe in Italy. Quite a sight to the uninitiated, given our average age, but never let it be said there's no fun to be had at my house! Obviously, not the cd for the serious-minded music lover of Italian opera nor even for purists in this genre, but it is a much-loved, popular selection that has its place in the heart of many Italians (and in ours) and is a pleasing production overall. Cheap and very cheerful. His Essential Recordings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italy - Cafe Italia, 18 Sep 2010
By 
Emily123 (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
Searched high and low for a CD which would echo the atmosphere of Italy. This one is super and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The echos of summers past, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
I love this CD.It echoes the heat of Italy and the Mediterranean summer.Perfect for a summer evening when you are sitting with sundowner.Very atmospheric,very romantic.A gentle easy listening CD,you can relax to it and remember holidays in sunny climes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Italy - Cafe Italia, 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
Captures the atmosphere of Italy - took us right back to our holidays there - great background music for dining al fresco at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the price, 15 Sep 2011
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
I bought this as background music for a 'Come Dine With Me' evening I'm doing with friends.
I'm doing an Italian Restaurant theme so it seemed perfect.
It's OK but made up of obviously ancient tracks with quite a bit of opera.
I'll just have to make sure they have plenty of vino so they don't notice.
I wouldn't send it back or complain, just not quite what I had in mind.

F.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Cafe but opera music, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
I thought that there will be Italian cafe songs but when you listen to this disk you will come to opera not cafe atmosphere. Nice Italian tenors, but it's not that you expect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
This is a good value-for-money CD but having read the other reviews prior to buying it I was a bit disappointed. There were some, what sounded like, much older recordings on it and it certainly would not, on the whole, remind me of my holidays in Italy as suggested by one reviewer. I bought it particularly as background music for a continental-style cafe fundraiser and it did the trick. At the price just flick past the tracks that don't appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cafe italia, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
I bought this to play at a dinner party and did so some good mandolin music but a lot of old tenor recordings, its ok just!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cafe Italia c.d., 11 July 2011
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
This is excellent value for money. Its better than I expected and evokes memories of classic Italian films and background music in Italian cafes. I just close my eyes I'm transported back to a holiday in a small village near Amalfi where a wedding was celebrated for 3 days. This is the kind of music they played and sang all evening and most of the nights. Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cafe Italia, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Italy - Cafe Italia (Audio CD)
Thought they would be more well known songs on the disc,
enjoyed it but was not what I was looking for.Just returned from Sorrento
and we wanted backing music for our DVD.We used about 3 songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Italy - Cafe Italia
Italy - Cafe Italia by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews