Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden at their best
This dvd is great.The sound was unreal,my subwoofer as crying to me in pain from the amount of bass coming from it and the crowd in the rears made you feel that you where there.
The show on the first disc was the best i`ve seen from the band in all the shows i`ve seen.Disc 2 is a wee bit too short on the build up to the concert and the interviews with the band.The...
Published on 20 Jun 2002 by tewing23

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The potential to be fantastic but...
I managed to get this DVD at a great price and was in need of some live Iron Maiden but just who was the video editing done by? I couldn't watch it because it was just so annoying how the camera angles would constantly change. It sounds something small but it is seriously annoying and would be an absolutely fantastic DVD if it wasn't for it.
The sound quality is...
Published on 22 Mar 2005 by K. Ball


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden at their best, 20 Jun 2002
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This dvd is great.The sound was unreal,my subwoofer as crying to me in pain from the amount of bass coming from it and the crowd in the rears made you feel that you where there.
The show on the first disc was the best i`ve seen from the band in all the shows i`ve seen.Disc 2 is a wee bit too short on the build up to the concert and the interviews with the band.The days off parts are good and funny.
In all a great start to maiden`s jump into dvd and shows other rock band how to do it right 10 of 10
up the irons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but could have been better, 5 Mar 2003
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Reviewing this DVD is going to be hard, for the simple reason that how do you fairly review the first DVD by a band that, in terms of talent at least, quite seriously be considered to be the best in the world?
But fortunately, this DVD has enough flaws to constitute a fair review without just going on about how good Maiden are (although there will be plenty of that as well). The DVD, recorded in Rio before a crowd of 250,000 and lasting 2 hours, is every bit as explosive as you'd expect. Opening with the operatic 'arthurs farewell', you can literally feel the energy of the crowd as the lights shine on Nicko (drums), before Adrian (guitar) strides on and begins to blast the intro riff to set opener 'the wicker man'.
The sound quality, although not perfect, is still excellent, you can place each and every note as it is played. Although this is a review of the DVD, a word must be spared for the amazing quality of the show itself. Maiden are, as always, on top form since the return of Adiran and Bruce (vocals) after their prolonged absence, and it shows. Maiden have never been about fancy, emotional sets (how different from bands trying to be 'dramatic' and looking stupid) they just go for pure rock-your-socks-off metal, no themes (beyond maybe a picture at the back) just the most powerful metal this side of titanium alloy. Blistering solos have always been Maidens trademark, and with the return of Adrian, it just gets better.
But enough praise (for now), this DVD is by no means perfect. The editing was all 'in-house', done by Steve (bass and band leader) and it is, at times, excellent but equally, at times it is shoddy. The shots naturally focus on Bruce, but all the musicians are represented and there is no notable bias (in fact Steve often seems to delibrately keep the camera off himself) even Nicko the sticksman gets a good amount of camera time, something that most DVDs seem to be missing. The editing is often a bit over-the-top when it comes to shot changing. Most notably this is in the opening track, where the cameras change almost every second in places. Another good example is in the track 'Wrathchild', the post chorus camera changes are synched with the drums which really makes your head spin. This is the DVD's major criticism, but also, the sound editing sometimes plays up and the volume levels waver, which tends to ruin the experience somewhat. The feeling is that if Steve had left the editing to a proffessional, the experience would be more enjoyable.
That said, there are massive amounts of enjoyable moments in this DVD. As said before, the music itself is superb, blasting out a wealth of new material from the top class 'Brave new world' (Blood Brothers-most emotional solo ever?) as well as old favorites from years gone by. But of special note is the closing performance of 'run to the hills' which was performed impromptu and unrehearsed after not being played by the band for years, and it was every bit as energetic as the sets opener-testimony to the power and strength of a band who can play 2 hours without flagging (also look for Bruce's reference to Hamlet during the closing chorus). The songs are littered with moments both great and funny, and yes, Eddie is there, stumbling onstage during 'the evil that men do' to get in a fight with Janick (guitar). Every member of the band adds something to the show, from Nicko's constant face-pulling (and chuckle inspiring highland dancing during 'the clansman) to Adrian's effortless and constant cool as he stalks the stage. Bruce, of course, is his usual crowd pleasing self with his between-song comments and little sideliners ('shall we burn our little wicker virgins, how shall we have them, nice and crispy?' is a particular favorite of mine).
There are an infinite number of more things I can say, but I wont since I've said all that needs to be said and you'll either buy this or wont, hopefully, you will. Finally, a freind of mine saw this DVD and pointed out one final thing. 'all the sets are pretty much the same, isn't that a bit boring?'. But isn't this the joy of Maiden? No complications, no special track order, just metal, all the way through. The tracks can be played in fairly much any order and sound perfect, you can skip straight from 'the wicker man' through to 'run to the hills' and still feel the same energy, the same power that was there at the start. Buy this DVD, and you can watch it all the way through and marvel at some of the worlds best music. Or skip straight to your favorite song, and it works. The extras are interesting, but only a divertion from the main feature. Although my favorite moment of the whole package was the sight of Bruce standing in a hotel room, chair in hand, turn to the camera with a questioning eye and saying 'rock and roll?' before slamming the chair into a table and walking off.
Moments like this, not to mention the sight of Dave Murray (guitar) pulling of that classic solo from 'number of the beast', are enough to make you want to cheer at your TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Metal?, 16 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
What? I was reading a review of the item and someone said that they thought it was rubbish. I mean what????? And poor editing???
I must say i bought the dvd and was amazed, i also have the cd (amazing also). I think that the sound if perfect, yes the fans are loud but what do you expect it's Iron Maiden for God's sakes, wouldn't you be screaming like a baby that's lost it's candy, jeezus. It also comes with a bonus dv "A Day In The Life" which has a brilliant selection of interviews and a look at what the band do during a day, hence the tile. I would strongly recomend to new comers to the band as it contains some of maiden's best. (the only down side is the songs there are so many they should have done, but then again the show can only go o for so long!). The concert is amazing, the stage setis brill and the band are on top form. Get this then get "Vision's Of The Beast". I must add Maiden ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 4 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This dvd is incredible. I have both the audio cd and dvd of this but I have to say if I had to pick one of them, it would be this. It captures the presence and power of Maiden playing to 250,000 people. It will leave you feeling impressed if not stunned, the sound is fantastic although the crowd has been turned down a little to much in my opinion, and while it does occasionally change volume, it only bothers you for a second or two then you've forgotten and are immersed once more. If you're not a maiden fan then buy this and I promise you won't regret it. Turn up the volume, turn out the lights and listen to this and you will be blown away by the sheer skill of this band and the quality of this live performance. Steve on bass, Adrien, Janick and Dave on guitars, Nicko on drums and Bruce vocals. All are incredible, but I'm a sucker for guitars and if you are too, you won't be disappointed. If you are a maiden fan already, own the albums, and especially if you have been to see them live, why haven't you got this yet? It will take you back to your memories of maiden in concert, and I'm sure even if you haven't been to see them you are aware that they are even better live. Their songs are enhanced, changed and renewed live, bursting with energy and presence. Iron Maiden are, in my opinion, the best band ever, and this is one of their all time classic shows, that takes you right up onto the stage with them. Every person who has ever watched this with me has been in the very least impressed, usually lost for words. Minor stutters with the audio do not ruin this as an experience or your enjoyment of the concert. What are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real 5.1 concert, 26 Nov 2003
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I try to be as short as possible.
First of all I am really a stickler in audio quality point of view. :)
Rock in Rio became my favourite due to the sound and visual qulity.
The camera work is nice, You can feel the concert atmosphere while watching it.
About the audio part:
The center channel is for Adrian`s guitar, which was a good idea. The surround channels makes the concert totally live.
The sound is dynamic, loud, unified and clear. The DTS sound is better, than Dolby. And You can hear the difference, and I mean it.
This concert-sound differs a bit from the well known maiden sound. Better, much better. It is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Reviews?, 23 Jan 2009
By 
MicHaeL H. (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Ehm, I'm not going to do like this thorough and detailed review, but what's up with the bad reviews?

The audio is great,
I've listened it through different headphones and speakers and it's very clear/detailed and heavy.
The quality is great on both Dolby Digital and DTS.
Also the editing is not bad at all, it's really good,
it stays "calm" and jumps into action (not too much) on moments where it fits.
I don't think Steve Harris did it in a childish over-the-top way at all.
While it might be on the 'Death On The Road'-DVD of what I've heard about and seen of it,
but I didn't get that one yet.

The only reason I'd give this 1 star off the 5 is that it might be a little short on extras,
even though it has some nice like behind the scenes and "video diaries" and such.
And the video quality leaves some to be desired.
What's even worse, that this modern recording hasn't been released (or even recorded?)
in widescreen.
That would really do a lot more justice to the scale of this truly epic
(unlike the word is used these days!) performance and appearance.
So they better release it in widescreen soon, if it even has been recorded that way.
At least release it on BRD to make up for the image-quality.

But I'd recommend this DVD to anyone that even likes music,
let alone any Metal/Rock-fan or anyone like that.
As said, the performance is great, they play a good variety of songs unlike half the time.
On top of that, the way some of the most recurring classics are played on this
one are actually really refreshing, kind of like extra versions.
Plus the huge setting of the venue and stage are just amazing,
especially together with these huge-sounding songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing reminder of why Iron Maiden are the best around!, 3 July 2002
WOW! right from the start, the first video (the actual performance) shows why Iron Maiden are still one of the largest metal bands in history. An idyllic Rio coast appears. As the view flies along it, a chant fades in; 250,000 Rio metalheads shouting "Maiden! Maiden!" as they wait for the festival to open. The final date of the "Brave New World" tour is Maiden's largest audience ever. Bruce and the boys respond to the energy of the crowd by being at their hyperactive best, running all over the stage, throwing guitars in the air, Steve Harris machine-gunning the audience with his bass - it's all here. As if to prove that their songwriting hasn't calmed down any with the new album, they open with the first single from it, "The Wicker Man", to which two hundred and fifty thousand fans join in. This is pretty much the story of the evening, as, like the old stuff the audience knows, the new stuff is all anthemic, and the sinergy between band and fans which has sustained both for twenty-something years is near overpowering.
The set goes all the way back to their "prehistoric period" as Bruce puts it, with songs like "Iron Maiden" and "Wrathchild". Eddy puts in an appearance (of course) and interacts with the band in his usual comic style. The whole thing just epitomises what's kept these guys famous for twenty years and thirteen albums. The second video, "A day in the life" shows the band at play (although so does the first, to be quite truthful!). Steve goes to a football match (of course), Bruce does some fencing and flies a 747-simulator, Janick goes and experiences some Rio street life, Dave and Nicko play golf and Adrian goes fishing. All share some choice tidbits about the band and their pasts, whilst they enjow themselves in sunny South America. In the day in the life itself, they fly into Rio, mess about, joke, head off to the festival, come back and party. All in all, the second is an intimate portrayal of six of the coolest ordinary guys around. The first video blows your mind with emotion and energy, whilst the second allows you to calm down and have a bit (more) of a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to Form, 29 Jun 2002
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I am a Maiden fan of some 20 odd years and I am aware of the high standards they have set themselves. I don't enthuse about everything they do because I am patently aware when they fall a little short. They've had their peaks and troughs, but since the release of Brave New World Maiden have been on quite a high. This DVD captures that high quite nicely, even if it is a little rough around the edges. I agree that the editing is a bit frantic, particularly in the opening number 'The Wicker Man', which does make for dizzy viewing. It seems to settle down a bit as the show progresses, whether because Steve Harris is in a learning curve and is able to pace the edits better, or because the viewer gets accustomed to the pace of the editing and notices it less. However one cannot doubt the quality of the performance. Songs like 'Blood Brothers' and the colossal 'Dream of Mirrors' are magnificent live. Even old faves like 'The Trooper' and 'Number of the Beast' are injected with a vigour that belies the fact that Maiden must have performed them a million times over the last 20 years! Bruce's lay off from the band seems to have done him and the rest of the guys a power of good. The superb performances of 'Hallowed Be Thy Name' and 'Run To The Hills' on this DVD are in total contrast to the weary performances of these songs on the 'Videopieces' video EP from 1984. A fine document of a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow they're pretty good, said my sister..!, 22 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Iron Maiden made their astounding comeback with the return of BruceDickinson and Adrian Smith on the Brave New World album, and they shovethis in your face with a setlist that encompasses no less than 6 tracksfrom that album, as is common with Maiden. But they get away with itbecause, quite literally, the setlist rocks. The old legends such as TheTrooper, Wrathchild and Hallowed Be Thy Name blew me away, and incombination with The Wicker Man, Blood Brothers, and the title trackitself, this is pure dynamite!
Bruce's vocals havent sounded this freshsince the Seventh Son days, and the 250,000 strong crowd simply push theband beyond all limits.
The extras, with a bundle of easter eggs, give you the behind the sceneslook at the band as they enter a new era! One downside is the slightcockup with the audio production, the volume changes annoyed me a bit.However, I think the DVD flows well. Definitely deserves 5 stars if notmore, got me into Maiden, need I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awesome!, 4 July 2002
This is a truly excellent video and captures Iron Maiden at full power at the Rock In Rio festival of 2001.
The editing is really good and it really brings the live experience into your home. The camera work is excelllent and the audio is worth mentioning too as it is not as tame as on other videos and really packs a punch.
The show is real visual feast and the set is excellent including some of Iron Maiden's Greatest Hits and material from the excellent Brave New World album.
The second tape of the set includes interviews with all the band memebers and a documentary called "A Day In The Life" which shows what it's like to be part of the band in the run up to the show in Rio.
This is definetly a great video package and is a must-have for all Iron Maiden fans everywhere. If you are new to the band, then it is well worth buying too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002]
Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio [DVD] [2002] by Dean Karr (DVD - 2008)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews