Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Class Electronica From Mexico
Fernando Corona first got noticed with his debut Murcof EP, Monotónu, released earlier this year on San Francisco based label Context. Hailing from Tijuana, in Mexico, Corona has worked on a variety of projects in his native town, including some time spent on composing for dance formations. This lead him to broaden his musical horizon, notably developing an...
Published on 21 May 2002

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope that this is a "grower"
I have just received this album in the post today, after some debate as to whether to order it or not. I am always a tad sceptical about listening too closely to reviews, due to the fact that only the best press reviews are ever included on the packaging and so forth. The reviews however on this site and on the packaging were both exceptional so I thought that I would...
Published on 24 Mar 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Class Electronica From Mexico, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
Fernando Corona first got noticed with his debut Murcof EP, Monotónu, released earlier this year on San Francisco based label Context. Hailing from Tijuana, in Mexico, Corona has worked on a variety of projects in his native town, including some time spent on composing for dance formations. This lead him to broaden his musical horizon, notably developing an interest in contemporary classic composers such as Arvo Pärt or Henryk Gorecki. Corona has also be an integrant part of the Nortec Collective of electronic musicians and artists, releasing music as Terrestre. Martes is his first album as Murcof.
Martes mixes arid micro beats and electronic noises with beautiful atmospheric soundscapes to create a unique piece of highly emotional and textural music. Corona manipulates his delicate constructions with expertise, slowly introducing layer after layer of sounds to slowly build intense patterns where intricate melodies flourish freely. Despite Memoria being strangely reminiscent of Polygon Window's eponymous track, Corona establishes very little connections with the existing electronic scene, concentrating instead on developing his own rules. Strings, pianos and woods are fully integrated with the more electronic sounds, giving each track incredible consistency and evocative power. Again, when he introduces human voice, as on the stunning Mapa, Mir or the moving Muim, he works at creating symbiotic environments to the point where it becomes difficult to dissociate reality from synthesis. Muim, perhaps more than any other track on this album sums up the Murcof equation. Here, voice, cello, drones and static beats support and complement each other in the most exquisite way, creating a complex model of contemplative incandescence, not dissimilar to the composite minimalism of Pärt or Gorecki. Martes, by all means an elaborate record, proves to be an extremely rewarding work. Far from being inaccessible and pretentious, the compositions are fluid and profoundly enjoyable. Corona seems to incorporate multiple levels of complexity all the way through, allowing the listener to appreciate this record from a different angle each time.
If the outer structure of Martes is electronic, the modern aspect of it is to be found in the more unusual components of Fernando Corona's music, and in the way they interact with each other. No other electronic record has ever offered such an extensive scope and sounded that coherent. This first Murcof album is intrinsically contemporary, and above all, a true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely essential, 16 May 2005
By 
C. Quinn "totality denier" (County Louth, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
'Martes' is one of the most original and successful musical experiments you're likely to hear. Any description of it - such as 'glitchy minimal techno meets classical' - is going to make it sound gimmicky and contrived, but it's actually very natural-sounding and genuinely emotional.
I could point to bits of it that sound like Aphex Twin, Cinematic Orchestra, any of Murcof's microhouse contemporaries such as Geeez 'n' Gosh or Andreas Tilliander, even Arvo Pärt or Jan Garbarek. But I won't, because any of that is likely to alienate someone, and all of it gives a false impression of the effect this record has.
You'll have to listen for yourself, but if you're looking for an electronic/acoustic hybrid with sumptuous but refreshingly different textures, subdued yet highly sophisticated drum programming, and an enveloping sense of space, you won't be disappointed with 'Martes'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 1 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
As someone who is constantly exploring new electronic music, I am totally blown away by this.
For me, the equation that sums up fantastic music is beauty + accessability + originality + longevity. This release is hugely enjoyable on the first listen, and while for much music this appeal rapidly wears of, this is not true of Murcof.
If you want music of absolute beauty that combines tradition with the future, then you need look no further than this.
Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extraoridnary, 26 Aug 2008
By 
M. Roberts "method_myk" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
This is brilliant! Glitchy yet so atmospheric, cold yet so warm, its the perfect example of opposites sounding beautiful.
The way he uses modern electronic beats, (some of the most outthere i have ever heard) with acoustic and orchestral sounds is simply wonderful, it works so well, i can't plug this album enough.
Buy now to experience something different and a million times better than most drivel we hear in music today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 3 Dec 2006
By 
E. Ross (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
Deep, intriguing, innovative. Occasionally disturbing. Modern art in musical form. This is a special album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambient with Classical, 1 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
If you know of certain Global Communications similar mix of Ambient and Classical then this is very similar and just as stunning. It manages to be even more minimalist and electronic but without loosing any of the interest. No recognisable vocals or real world noises apart from the classical instruments played in a very deep and unorthodox way making them far from classical or cinematic.
My only complaint is that it is much shorter than a lot of ambient pieces but what you do get is quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope that this is a "grower", 24 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
I have just received this album in the post today, after some debate as to whether to order it or not. I am always a tad sceptical about listening too closely to reviews, due to the fact that only the best press reviews are ever included on the packaging and so forth. The reviews however on this site and on the packaging were both exceptional so I thought that I would give it a go.
I won't slate the album too much as I am well aware that longevity is a sign of quality, and this may well come in to effect a little down the line. However for anybody that may take heed of the reviews here should be aware that comparisons with Global Communication are slightly misleading. That album was quite clean, uplifting and hypnotic. Martes is much more experimental and indeed intelligent. Interesting and extremely subtle pulsing rhythms underpin the cut and pasted sampling work that is largely based on classical instruments. It may not however be everybody's bag, it does work with challenging patterns and out of sync melody, and altogether the mood seems quite dark and sinister. This will appeal to some but not all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars let down by the percussion, 4 Oct 2006
By 
Ben (the Indian Ocean) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Martes (Audio CD)
Maybe this will be worth 50 quid in a while, just like `Zauberberg' by `Gas'. Murcof is very complicated though. The music is very involving and just sucks you in. The samples are mostly really interesting and sound nice and deep but are let down by the percussion which is mostly tinny clicks and beeps. It was a really good idea and it should have been brilliant but it lacks a bit of violence. Still an amazing listen though; nice pair of headphones absolutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martes
Martes by Murcof (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews