Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2009
this is a truly great CD, it is good to hear the sounds of the 30s.
whoever cleaned up the recordings did a superb job,took away surface noise and left original sound intact without alteration.
great tunes well worth every penny.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
I'm not old enough to remember 1930 but I've always enjoyed the music of this period, and learned quite a lot about it. This interest probably goes back to my grandparents who had one of those old wind-up gramophones, with hundreds of scratchy 78s. I dare bet some of these wonderful vintage tracks were among them.

The title song of this Naxos CD, Happy Days are Here Again, is ironic because it had first been recorded on the day of the Wall Street Crash in 1929! In many ways, 1930 marked the end of an era. These tracks are carefully and thoughtfully chosen to reflect the mood as the Depression loomed ominously and people enjoyed the final flings of the Roaring 20s.

Over the years, I've heard many different versions of these old songs on the radio and TV, many of them hardly recognisable as the original versions. This disc is the one to get, no matter what age you are, because I think that this is how the tracks were somehow meant to sound. I imagine the pieces exude the essence and atmosphere of the period.

Here we have an excellent compilation of tunes that were very popular in 1930. The selection is a nice mix of vocalists and dance bands - hot and sweet (mostly the latter). There are some real classics too: Isham Jones's Stardust, Ruth Etting's Ten Cents A Dance, Stein Song by Rudy Vallee - come to think of it, these are mostly standards now.

Sadly, it lacks a really detailed booklet, which I would have found interesting, though it does provide full recording dates. The remastered sound quality is quite exceptional - lovely, clear tracks with surprisingly little surface noise. In fact, as good as they would have sounded at the time. With most similar compilations of comparable quality costing at least twice as much, this is one of the better bargains out there too.

5 Stars. Highly recommended!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
I recomend this album to anyone who enjoys the old Bands and singers of early 20th century. Good quality reproduction and great music. What more needs to be said!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
If you have wondered what the name of the woman is who graces the cds cover, I can reveal that the lady in question is American actress Edwina Booth (1909-1991), who starred in a handful of films in the early thirties including the 1932 version of "The Last Of The Mohicans."

There are some truly great recordings on this sublime release from Naxos - "Happy Days Are Here Again, You're Driving Me Crazy, Puttin' On The Ritz, On The Sunny Side Of The Street, Ten Cents A Dance" to name but a few in this 20 strong set. Apart from those aforestated, some other lovely recordings include "Little White Lies" by Waring's Pennsylvanians, Clare Hanlon and The Waring Girls. Ruth Etting has a beautiful voice on the couple of songs on this collection, "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes" and my favorite track, "Ten Cents A Dance."

Liner notes are supplied by David Lennick, you also get recording dates, song timings and venues on a detailed tracklist. And to help you set the 1930's scene, there is a page detailing famous events of the year, such as the deaths of actor Lon Chaney and author D. H. Lawrence, Amy Johnson becoming the first woman to fly alone from Britain to Australia, and the Archbishop of Canterbury officially allowing the free discussion of sex!

Compliments must be given to David Lennick, the man responsible for the albums production and transfers, who has done a sterling job in making the most of those old recordings sound quality. Equally, a fantastic job in digital noise reduction has been completed by Graham Newton. Both have made this albums sound quality a joy to listen too.

On the first couple of plays I would have given the cd 4 stars, but the album has grown on me quickly and I have no hesitation in awarding it the maximum 5.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
Brought this for a Murder Mystery Dinner Party. Good background music and a variety of songs. Surprised at selection. Did not realise some of more popular ones were from that era. The info on facts around that time proved very interesting and provided another talking point. .
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
I love music like this from the 1920's and 1930's. I got into this sort of music by watching loads of Laurel & Hardy movies, the music that you could hear when they went into clubs etc was awesome. I love to listen to this music whilst on my labtop or laying in bed, with the volume at "background low". This album is great with a mixture of instrumentals and vocal music but all it it relaxing and quite sublime. Got this on Amazon MP3 download and had no proplems with it. Originally got it from iTunes but when I downloaded it from them, although the album and track listing and details were correct, the music itself was clearly not this album at all. That has put me off iTunes for life. Amazon MP3 is the way ahead for me for me from now on.

If you like easy listening music then why not give this a go?

Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
If the 1920s had been one long binge of bootleg licquor and making whoopee after the horrors of WW1 then 1930 was when the hangover set in following the Depression and stock market crash.
This is the soundtrack to those years when Hitler's National Socialist Party won by over 6 million votes and scientists predicted Man would be on the Moon by 2050!
However it was business as usual for songwriters and musicians and what's here is music which has never really gone away
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
A good bye, worth every penny a really good CD. maintained the 1930's sound. good quality in the remastering of this compilation of tracks losing nothing of it's originality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Indeed... a fantastic selection of oldies from the golden age. Great music for vintage fetes, fairs and jumble sales which is what I originally bought this for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
i bought this because i remembered my grand parents singing or whistling the songs, happy songs happy memories i shall be looking at hits of 1940 next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)