Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celestron T-Adapter with EQ130 telescope
I found this product well made and a high precision item. The inner end takes a standard 1.25" filter. The chromed part also unscrews leaving a male thread of the same size. The end away from the telescope has a thread to take a T Ring adapter for an SLR camera. The inside will take 1.25" eyepieces or other similar size cylindrical item and has a locking thumb screw...
Published on 30 Mar 2011 by Gina

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not For Smaller Telescopes !
Good quality product, well machined & fits snugly to the T-Ring for my camera & slots nicely into the telescope. The problem is that it 's too long for smaller telescopes (60mm Celestron in this case) & cannot be focused. Celestron must know this & should give advice or a warning when selling this product.
Published 17 months ago by Tim


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celestron T-Adapter with EQ130 telescope, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
I found this product well made and a high precision item. The inner end takes a standard 1.25" filter. The chromed part also unscrews leaving a male thread of the same size. The end away from the telescope has a thread to take a T Ring adapter for an SLR camera. The inside will take 1.25" eyepieces or other similar size cylindrical item and has a locking thumb screw. I've found this useful for an adapted webcam as image sensor (minus its lens).

I am using this T-adapter with a Celestron EQ130 (MD) telescope but to use with a DSLR (without lens), a diverging lens such as a Barlow is needed to move the prime focus further outside the focus tube, to enable the image to focus on the DSLR image sensor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well with one caveat, 6 Mar 2010
By 
B. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
A high quality adapter. I hooked this up to my Celestron Nexstar without any problems and it worked fine (when coupled with a Canon EOS T-Ring and the Canon camera itself) The only thing that bugs me about it is that the small diameter handle thumbscrew can become quite uncomfortable on your thumb and index finger to squeeze when fastening or loosening (Cold weather makes it a lot worse). I recommend replacing the screw with one with a bigger outer diameter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says., 17 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. B. F. Attfield "Stren" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
Does what you would hope. Fits into any 1.25 inch telescope eyepiece socket and allows you to screw a t-ring to it. You will need to buy he appropriate t-ring for your make of camera (just search for t-ring cannon etc) and the ring slots onto the camera body. This adapter then fits to the ring. Allows different cameras to be used with the same adapter via the t-rings. Made of aluminium, good thread, works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not For Smaller Telescopes !, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
Good quality product, well machined & fits snugly to the T-Ring for my camera & slots nicely into the telescope. The problem is that it 's too long for smaller telescopes (60mm Celestron in this case) & cannot be focused. Celestron must know this & should give advice or a warning when selling this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice equipment, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
I needed this adapter to attach the barlow lens to have more space between the telescope and the camera to have the right focus for the objects i'd like to photograph. It does its job very well. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T-Adapter which I use with Canon T Ring, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
I use this to connect my Canon EOS camera to a 900mm focal length refractor telescope and it works a treat. No issues to report so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for my Nexstar, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Ajay Clare (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
This T-Adapter is well made and slots nicely into my Nexstar 4SE. I've experienced no issues with it so cannot recommend it highly enough. For those that don't know, you will also need to buy a T-Ring for your camera as well (e.g. Canon EOS T Ring by Revelation is perfect for use with my Canon 550D).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but is this actually what you want?, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
This T-adaptor is for the larger Celestron telescopes and not the small spotter-scopes, and is only relevant to SLR cameras that have removable lenses.

Most Celestron spotter-scopes (all those I have seen anyway) already have a screw-thread around the eyepiece socket where you can screw on a T adaptor for your specific SLR camera type (remove the diagonal adaptor if you have one first!). That said, the spotter scopes have a relatively low focal length (the Travel Scope 70 is just 400mm) so you may be better off buying a 500mm lens for your camera.

If you are using a larger 'scope, then you will need this and the relevant T-adaptor for your camera. This adaptor replaces the barlow lens in the eye-piece, effectively giving you a camera lens with the focal length of your telescope. The camera will need to be set to a manual mode (Tv or Time Variable on my Canon) and you will have to play with the shutter speed to get the best results, but you can get some fantastic pictures with the right settings. The 'scope manual will provide you with both the focal length and apature size for calculating exact shutter settings.

The adaptor is well made - as good as the rest of the Celestron kit. The biggest issue I found is as noted in another review, where a heavy camera can move around a little if the adaptor is not tightly screwed in place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid product., 22 Feb 2013
By 
L. Dowling (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
A good quality, solid, T-Adaptor.

The only problem, not related to any deficiency in the product itself, is that most reflector telescopes (including some Celestron models) won't be able to bring the focus-point of the telescope past the eyepiece socket (and, thus, into this adaptor) with even the best of cameras on their own. That's just simple physics, where the focus-point is actually inside the eyepiece socket tube and is only extended by eyepieces with lenses, or Barlow lenses. You'll know this is the case for your telescope if holding the camera on the empty eyepiece means you can't focus your camera enough to get a clean image.

Celestron sell an equivalent to this adaptor with a Barlow lens integrated which solves the problem, which is also available on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4", 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4" (Electronics)
Does whatr is says on the tin. Very good quality and functionality. We would recomend this product to others. Good stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celestron T-Adapter, Universal 1-1/4"
20.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews