Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The entire LP lives past all expectation
It's true! And this is coming from a guy!! *NSYNCS 3rd LP "Celebrity" has gone past any expectation I could ever have from these lads. When I heard "a different direction" I groaned a bit.....Oh how wrong I was!
"POP" - The 1st single taken, not the best on the album but one of them. It has become an athem like song if there's ever a TV...
Published on 6 Aug. 2001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY
i thought after the brilliant first single, pop, the album would be filled with electric, beaty, meaty pop. i couldnt have been more wrong. out of 15 songs the only decent song is their first single pop and that soon grows old. i thought after doing so well on no string attached they would keep getting better but theyve gone down hill and hit rock bottom....its weaker...
Published on 29 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The entire LP lives past all expectation, 6 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
It's true! And this is coming from a guy!! *NSYNCS 3rd LP "Celebrity" has gone past any expectation I could ever have from these lads. When I heard "a different direction" I groaned a bit.....Oh how wrong I was!
"POP" - The 1st single taken, not the best on the album but one of them. It has become an athem like song if there's ever a TV show about pop music as a whole. Excellent words by Justin and Wade, brilliant sound and it highlights their vocals in the catchy chorus. Why was it only #9 though?!?!?
"CELEBRITY" - The title track. What can I say? Definately has a good meaning with lines like "If I wasn't a celebrity would you be so into me?" After a while it becoms catchy and I can see this as a single. Good achievement.
"THE GAME IS OVER" - Unfortunately this is the only let down of the album. Some may say "could be massive" but i must disagree. Catchy song yes, however it makes you wanna hold your ears as you can barely hear them all sing. Rather the loud banging of computer effects.
"GIRLFRIEND" - The first real start of their change of direction starts here. A very good R&B style song that is very enjoyable to listen to. Another good achievement.
"THE TWO OF US" - Another R&B Jordan Knight style song. Very very good and one of the best on the album. You can just picture the carnival.
"GONE" - The 2nd release for the guys is this incredible ballad. An extrememly catchy chorus, excellent work by Justin and it was pretty obvious they'd release this. One of the best on the record.
"TELL ME, TELL ME, BABY" - The word WOW comes to mind. Loads of special effect sounds added here, a brilliant tune, should be released as a single, no reason not to, it can get anyone umping up.
"UP AGAINST THE WALL" - A whole new tune again from the guys. Brilliantly done and a disco lovers dream. And surprisingly catchy!
"SEE RIGHT THROUGH YOU" - A "hip-pop" style song here. Don't get me wrong it is excellent, more vocals coming out. However not as catchy. Ah well.
"SELFISH" - The 2nd ballad here. Not brilliant verses however a terrific chorus that is also, again, very very catchy and sticks in your head. I'd put "Gone" infront of this although it's hard to decide.
"JUST DONT TELL ME THAT" - Excellent. Another 1 of the best on the album. Very powerful, not as big a change in direction yet there is R&B beats in there. Brilliant track.
"SOMETHING LIKE YOU" - Stevie Wonders guest harmonica on here really saves this song. the 3rd ballad, probably the worst of the 4, although a good song, does let the ballad side of the LP down.
"THAT GIRL(WILL NEVER BE MINE)" - Bonus track?!? Written by the same people who brought us Bye Bye Bye this is one of the best on the album returning to the good ol' *NSYNC pop. A brilliant track which can easily be a single.
"FALLING" - Another brilliantly done ballad. A great chorus that can up-lift you but yet, is a bonus. Written by Chris Kirkpatrick, this could be the ballad single, yet wont.
"DO YOUR THING" - The final track, another "change of direction" sound, whilst good, not as good as the others. We'll leave it there.
All in all this album lives up to what "No Strings Attached" set for it. You must admire that *NSYNC have changed, and aren't the old loud-pop boys anymore. If you can look past that, you'll enjoy this. I was definately shocked! A terrific achievement with "Pop", "Celebrity", "The Two Of Us", "Tell Me, Tell me...Baby" and "Gone" standing out most. On this album you can really appreciate the contributions Lance, Joey and Chris add to the group in the chorus' if you ever wondered why they were there. A brilliant vocal group who shine in this album. Definately well worth your money if your an R&B/pop/NSYNC fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If i wasn't a celebrity....would you buy this album., 23 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
This album is full of many, pop, r n b and some quite hip hop tracks. The album would appeal to anyone who liked the second album, 'No Strings Attatched' but not so much '*Nsync'
Track one Pop This song is wicked. if you've bought the single this version is slightly different. The dance instrumental in the middle is longer and has more special effects. infact this song is the song they play on the vid. it has Justin mouth bit at the end. It's full of alot of flava and is a cool opening track
Track Two Celebrity This song is completely different from every other song on the album. If anyone has the Janet Jackson album 'All For You', this songs chorus reminds me of the bit in 'sun of a gun' when she goes 'ha ha ho ho thought you'd get the money to. Greedy muther f****** tryin to have there cake and eat it too'. This ahs alot of wicked camera special effects. This is not the best though
Track Three The Game Is Over This song again has some wicked sound effects and is very catchy. I think that this could be a single because it's got all the flava to be a massive hit. If it was i would think it would get high in the charts. Well done boys
Track Four Girlfriend A more slow song than the first three songs. This one is very catchy and almost has a P. Diddy kind of beat in the background. This is wicked. It's about the only song without any special effects.
Track Five The Two Of Us When I first heard the start of this song it sounds like Jordan Knight's song 'Give it to you', and i still do. I like it though. It's got a very catchy pop chorus and I think this could be a possible single aswell.
Track Six Gone This is a very nice sweet ballad. Not much else really to say
Track Seven Tell Me, Tell Me...Baby If any song in the whole of music history gets an award for the most special sound effects then this song would get the award. It has a wicked beat and an amazing chorus. This should be but won't be a single. It's too different from the rest of N Sync other releases. It's like the second album. 'No Strings Attatched' was the best song but they wouldnt have, and didnt realse it because it was too different
Track Eight Up Against the Wall I like this. its got a nice pop sound and it has alot of sticato in it. The chorus is very poppy and it is very good. It actually brings in a bit of rap too.
Track Nine See Right Through You The most darkest song on the album. It has a very lowfat beat and is the most catchiest song on the album
Track Ten Selfish This is soo nice.........I'm Gonna cry. No it's nice and is one of the three actual real ballads on the album
Track Eleven Just Don't Tell Me That This is so cool. It's very direct and you like it on the first listen. You have to listen to it to understand
Track Twelve Something Like You This is the second ballad and is very nice. (Repeat of Track Ten)
Track Thirteen That Girl (Will Never Be Mine) This soundslike a thing from a cowboy film at the start then after four secs it turns into a hard pop r n b song. God only knows why its a bonus track
Track Fourteen Falling I havn't really listened to this but it's the third and final song on the album. This is a skipper
Track Fifteen Do Your Thing This is a soft pop ending and gives the album a good end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grown up sound for grown up listeners, 8 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
This album is definately my favorite *Nsync album. I have their first and third albums (*Nsync and No Strings Attached) and this one is definately more them. They've written about 80% of this album and so it shows just how much they've changed and matured since NSA (where they wrote about 45%). You can really tell the direction they want to go in and, musically, it's ambitious. They're trying to break out of the boy-band mould. And they've succeeded! They sound in control and, moreover, they sound grown up. They seem to have avoided the trap most boy bands fall into - their audience grows up and they don't. And I'm so glad, 'cos they'll be around for ages now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interest in this is justifiable, 10 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
I'd like to recommend this to anyone who, like myself, hadn't heard of Justin Timberlake until he released his solo album 'Justified.'
*N SYNC produce a good, upbeat sound similiar to that of the Backstreet Boys. This album contains some excellent catchy beats in 'Pop' and 'Celebrity,' some more emotional material in 'Girlfriend' and 'Gone.' The album should be of particular interest to Timberlake fans as he's actually co-written 7 of the tracks which appear here.He also does the majority of singing and it's interesting to see how his style has developed.
If you're not into J.T and all you want is good pop, you'll find it here, plus a couple of ballads and some rnb type numbers. There are pieces to make you smile, sing and dance. Whatever you preference, interest in this is justifiable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 23 July 2001
By 
melanie epstein (London, Bushey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
It seems like years snice Nsync released their 3rd album "No Strings Attached" which sold 2.4 million copies in the first week of sales so there were high expectations of "Celebrity". Celebrity is a great follow up to NSA and this time round the boys have written a lot more of the material themselves. They've tried to do something different yet they still have that slight touch of "ByeByeBye", and "Its Gonna Be Me" in some songs so if you liked them you'll deffinetly like this. The ballads on the album are touching and will make tears run down your face. This is perfect for the die hard fans of Nsync, and even if you dont like them, the fast songs are excellent and will always get you up on your feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best "pop" album about, 15 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Celebrity: Special Edition (Audio CD)
This album is quite simply fantastic, from start to finish, each track will leave you wondering what the next one will sound like. From the fantastic singles "pop" and "Girlfriend", and the groundbreaking ballad "Gone", to other equally impressive songs "Up against the wall" and "The two of us" this album starts at a high level and keeps it there right till the end.
Please note though, it is obviously a POP album, if you don't like pop, you probably won't like this. If you do however, you won't find anything better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Pop' tastic, 5 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
With their first album 'No strings attached' being a huge hit both state side and in europe the boys have been heading for a great career. However, I did find it hard to believe that their new album would be able to follow in the large foot steps of 'no strings attached', but I was pleasently surprised.
With their new hard hitting single 'Pop', which see's the lads hit a whole new level of commercial music, is set to be a sure thing, and their album 'celebrity' not far behind.
This is a must for every age, sex whatever. It combines 'New' pop and old alike to cater for all audiences. The boys have managed to widened the ever growing gap between them and the likes of A1, and Westlife. Whilst our British boy bads may be what the public like, they lack that certain something which the Orlando boys seem to have to a T. There music is ever changing as is their image, and I found it hard to compare one song to another as they all have there own original and unique sounds.
The title track 'Celebrity', and 'Pop' are two of my favorites with there upbeat sound. Or if you prefer, there are still the classic boy bad melodies that all the girls love, like 'something like you' and girlfriend'.
... What more could you possibly ask for, so thake my advise and buy 'Celebrity' even if it just for curiosity, belive me you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *N SYNC's Celebrity!, 17 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
as a huge fan of *N SYNC anyway, i couldnt wait to hear the album....and when i did, i was not dissapointed! it is a fantastic album, even for "non- fans", as *N SYNC have a whole new sound. GONE, are the days of Bye, Bye, Bye, and Tearin' Up My Heart. Some might find this a little discerning - DON'T! its a fantastci album for all...and it makes great party background music too! if u buy one album...make sure its this...or No Strings Attached...which i would give 6 starts if i could!...what are u waiting for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh its good!!!, 20 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
This is by far N'sync's best effort to date. The songs on this album are amazing. They have a good variety of upbeat pure pop songs, a couple of ballad's and even a few rnb type songs. Their voices are amazing, even though it is mainly JC & Justin singing the other guys harmonize very well. If you liked NSA then i'd say you'll love this one. Best song on the album has to be 'The game is over', very upbeat and a great opportunity for the guys to make a wicked video!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A raw pop cd which made me turn my head and think WOW, 28 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Celebrity (Audio CD)
im not really a big fan of n sync the only song that turned my head was girlfriend, but when POP came out i was struck by there not so boy band image .
I found i couldnt get enough of this song so i brought the album and i now own 2, i autographed which stays in my house and 1 for the car.
Trust me this album is worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celebrity: Special Edition
Celebrity: Special Edition by 'N Sync (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews