Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2004
If you are a fan of Bob Marley or like any of his music, then this CD is for you. I have been a Bob Marley fan for years but have never really strayed too far into other similar artists until I was introduced to this album. It is relaxing, peaceful, happy and very harmonious. Make sure the next nostalgic reggae album on your list is this one, Pete Tosh is simply superb - PEACE & LOVE!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 November 2007
Peter Tosh's greatest skill was his ability to write uplifting, happy and catchy reggae music yet at the same time marry such arrangements with pretty powerful lyrics. Never on 'Bush Doctor' do you feel you are being 'ranted at' or complained to (unlike so many other more actively aggressive artists), but Tosh pulls no punches either. Peter Tosh simply presents his views to you in a palatable and accessible way in order to get his message across. While a lot of the tracks on this album are of similar pace, lots of nice saxophone, harmonica, guitar, bass or flute touches along with great female backing vocals and harmonies keep the album from sounding repetitious. Best track of all is the very unusual, sound effects riddled, acoustic strummed 'Creation' which can really take you off to a beautiful island shore! Mick Jagger turns up on the minor hit single from the album (You Gotta Walk) Don't Look Back and surprisingly the unusual partnership works very well. Tracks 10 to 15 are extra tracks not on the original album and are mainly made up of extended or different versions but final track 'Tough Rock, Soft Stones' is worthy of note for collectors as it is a previously unreleased song. Truly the classic that Amazon describe it as.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
One of my favourite Peter Tosh albums, Bush Doctor is a huge leap forward from Tosh's first two albums in both production terms and showmanship as Tosh attempts to breakthrough into the international market with this debut release on Rolling Stones Records.

Tosh's backing band, Word Sound And Power, really come into their own, the female harmonies adding great depth as demonstrated on "Them A Fe Get A Beatin'", the drum and bass duo of Sly & Robbie keep a tight reign on proceedings throughout.

Stand out tracks include "Pick Myself Up", "Soon Come", "Stand Firm" and of course the mighty title track. It also features Tosh's duet with Mick Jagger ("Don't Look Back") and the biblical epic "Creation".

The remastered edition includes the fantastic studio outtake "Lessons In My Life" alongside some extended versions and an instrumental take on "I'm The Toughest" entitled "Tough Rock Soft Stones".

A great edition to the Peter Tosh catalogue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
This music is amazing, it has depth, I love it, I had the vinyl along with Dread or Alive some years ago, now I have them both on CD, I keep on playing them, am so pleased to find them on Amazon market,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Not as good as the first 2 albums. Some great tracks like 'I'm the Toughest' and 'Pick myself up'.
Some of the tracks are not so good. Some members of The Rolling Stones were involved in the production of the album and Mick Jagger features on the first track, maybe they should not contributed as much as they did.
I would only recommend this album to die-hard Peter Tosh fans
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
Classic reggae/rock fusion mix, a little kitchy in parts, but it was one of my favourites when on vinyl. good to hear it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Having lost my copy of this on tape a long while ago, it was great to get this. Enjoying it immensley
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
This album is beautiful co-produced with Mick Jagger (Rolling Stones) Who does not have to buy it worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)