Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to a class act
This is a great priced intro to one of punk's most underrated bands who are always overlooked in retrospective critiques of the late 70's early 80's scene. Probably because of their gonzo cover of the 'Banana Splits' theme song they've always seemed tarnished as being a "joke" band. Far from it, The Dickies are a class act and can hold their own with the likes of the...
Published on 6 Oct 2006 by 9ftneil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic US Punk
The Dickies are a great band with amazing energy. This is a timeless collection of the best in origianl US punk.
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by MudtownSlosher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to a class act, 6 Oct 2006
By 
9ftneil "9ftneil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
This is a great priced intro to one of punk's most underrated bands who are always overlooked in retrospective critiques of the late 70's early 80's scene. Probably because of their gonzo cover of the 'Banana Splits' theme song they've always seemed tarnished as being a "joke" band. Far from it, The Dickies are a class act and can hold their own with the likes of the Ramones in the speed and snot stakes as this excellent trawl through their most noteworthy singles clearly demonstrates. If you want punk with wit, attitooood and firey thrashey guitars cranked to overdrive then the likes of 'You Drive Me Ape (You Big Gorilla)', 'Manny Moe & Jack', 'Hideous' and 'Got It At The Store' can match anything off the Ramones 'Rocket To Russia' no question. Add the Dickies extraordinary simple one-trick gonzo speed thrash take of choice "classic pop" covers and you have a recipe for pogo irreverance and mayhem. If you're not grinning from ear to ear as they massacre hippy classics 'Nights In The Satin', 'Sounds of Silence' and 'Eve of Destruction' then you must be dead! Add to that their frenetic speedkill take of Sabbath's 'Paranoid' - which almost singlehandedly invented thrash metal - the bubblegum fairground wurlitzer sounds on 'Water Slide', the melodic joys of 'Fan Mail' and the blistering guitar mosh of 'Gigantor' and you have both sides of the Dickies, pop and punk with bags of energy and fun that any fan of the Ramones will instantly recognise. You can't go wrong with the Dickies if you want something that will always make you smile and drive faster then start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so fast, if you blink you will miss a song, 16 Sep 2007
By 
Robert P. Splaine "mrbobsltd" (pattaya) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
O my The Dickies. I found them on Youtube, and it jogged my memory to listen to them again.
If your after Ballard's,Romance, romantic voices, easy listening don't come here. This is fast PUNK, and in my top 20 of Punk groups.
I don't think there is a track above 2 and a half minute's. They speed up every song, Nights in White (Harlem), Paranoid (Sabbath),
the time for these songs is about 2 minutes! it's unbelievable. My daughter has just seen the video of them, and she said
The Ramones. While yes l would agree there are similarities (Bear in mind The Ramones are one of my favourite groups), but the act on stage is FUN FUN FUN. To go and see The Ramones (which l did several times) and The Dickies, it was 2 DIFFERENT SHOWS. The Dickies lead singer (Leonard)voice was/is like chalk to cheese, you could not compare their voices, they had 2 things in common, the punk era, and speed.
But The Dickies were astoundingly funny watch, but you didn't have time to laugh because you were pogo'ing.
If you have never heard of them do yourself a massive favour go listen to them on youtube then come back here and buy it. But get ear plugs.
Again, l'm 50 and l was tapping everything in site.
If you were a true Punk, you should have heard of the Dickies, so try them again for size. They were well ahead of their time then.
As a byline The Ramones actually liked the Dickies music, and vice versa
but neither were influenced by each others music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old fun punk from the Dickies, 4 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
The Dickies are one of those bands that you just can't help liking. There a band who don't take things too seriously and there is a certain element of fun to there songs.
On this album they specialise in punk cover versions, witch includes Black Sabbath's 'paranoid'. But the mix of punk covers and there own stuff works well,
So i recommend this to any punk fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dickies smash!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
with humour, sarcasm, irony and a lot of (non)sense, these guys know how to make punk rock and get the people jumping, screaming, shouting and pogoing. Superb compílation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Jan 2013
By 
D. Quibell "quisic" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
a great band a good best of . a great listen what more can you say about the dickies mad as hatters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ah,this takes me back, 23 Jan 2013
By 
E. J. Waters "Emmsie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this album is great , we saw the Dickies supportiimg the Damnedand they were great - a real fun album to listen to- the songs are so short you will never get bored - love the banana splits song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The dickies collection., 8 Sep 2012
By 
Paul Calpin (York, North Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
A great album each song performed at 100mph. The covers are fantastic the dickies give a new twist to some classics. A great introduction to a very good band you can't go wrong you would be bananas (splits) not to purchase this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dickies, 27 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
All my Dickies albums/singles are on vinyl and although I do prefer that format to all others, it's great to get them on in the car, I don't recommend pogo'ing whilst driving! Great fun, great tracks and still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic US Punk, 20 Sep 2011
The Dickies are a great band with amazing energy. This is a timeless collection of the best in origianl US punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dickies album review, 5 Sep 2011
This review is from: Punk Singles Collection (Audio CD)
A quality album at a quality price. It provided me with a lot of good memories from my youth, as I grew up listening to the Dickies. The band have a very distinctive sound with Humerous lyrics on their own material, e.g Bedrock Barney. This is coupled with fast paced covers of old classics, such as Eve of Destruction and Nights in White Satin. It's well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punk Singles Collection
Punk Singles Collection by The Dickies (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews