Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
Awesome music, hands down one of the best cd's of the year! In a period in which everybody's turning to Emo or Metal-Core (Poison the Well like) this cd shows that Southern California punkhardcore isn't dead! this album mixes hardcore and so emocore in a new and different style perfectly but keeping a base of that fastpaced punk that made california famous! If you like...
Published on 24 Jan 2003 by Giacomo Ghezzi

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing to say the least...
I purchased this CD and Dreamweaver's 'Systematic Chaos' at the same time based on customer reviews. Dreamweaver are cosumate musicians who have produced a superb album. However, 'The Illusion Of Safety' is complete dross. If you like 'West Coast Punk' bands who shout a lot and play uninspiring riffs, then buy this album. Otherwise, save your money. I'm using mine as an...
Published on 3 Aug 2007 by Aardvark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Illusion of Safety (Audio CD)
Awesome music, hands down one of the best cd's of the year! In a period in which everybody's turning to Emo or Metal-Core (Poison the Well like) this cd shows that Southern California punkhardcore isn't dead! this album mixes hardcore and so emocore in a new and different style perfectly but keeping a base of that fastpaced punk that made california famous! If you like Strung Out, Good Riddance, Ignite, H20 and even Afi, you should really buy it. Again, AWESOME. Something different from the same old stuff that everyone's playing now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 4 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Illusion of Safety (Audio CD)
Hardcore with catchy melodic vocals. If you like stuff like Bad Religion, Contender, Avail, Thursday, Reach the Sky and H2O you should like this... Catchy vocals which range from screamo to emo in the same track or seperate. Some nice hooks and basslines which albeit being nothing 'outstanding' as such work really well with the mix of vocal styles. The opening track is a belter and one of the best openers I've heard on an album for ages and is perfect for the opener on your HC mix tape. My only gripe is that the drumming feels a little 'stale' and very basic but hey, it still works with the rest of the music. Nice stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a life changing album, 30 April 2003
This review is from: The Illusion of Safety (Audio CD)
This is by far one of the best albums i have heard in along time. In an increasinly stagnating music scene its nice to hear something fresh and experimental, thought provoking and emotionaly engaging. Combining hardcore, old school metal riffs and melodic chorus' this is definetly something well worth worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Illusion of Safety (Audio CD)
Thrice's second album, and a fine follow-up to an almost un-faulted debut. More tightly wound and put together than 'Identity Crisis' but not quite with the consistency found in 'The Artist In The Ambulance' this is not their best work, but it's still excellent. 'The Illusion Of Safety' is a slight change from before, it's heavier, and really pushes Teppei to his limits as far as high-speed, thrashing guitar riffs goes. Once again, Dustin excells himself with his lyrics, and the entire band have put together another excellent record. Stand outs on this album for me are 'Kill Me Quickly', 'See You In The Shallows', 'Deadbolt' and 'The Beltsville Crucible'. This album pushes the band to their full ability, and with the consistency they found between this album and 'The Artist In The Ambulance' they are one of the best around, one of my favourites, and the best of their genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do Your Ears A Favour!, 28 Mar 2004
This review is from: Illusion Of Safety, The (Audio CD)
This is Thrice's best CD so far, up to "The Artist In The Ambulance." It is clear from owning all their three CD's that with each CD they are progressing further and further in their music, but for me this CD packs more emotion than TAITA and is better.
Dustin has a very good voice, both singing and the shouting. The lyrics are very meaningful, without resorting to swearing at any point during the album. If you are a swearing freak, then go and listen to Limp Bizkit or something because Thrice won't be for you. Thrice will be for you if you appreciate clever music.
Teppei does some amazing riffs and plays some beautiful pieces of guitar. Riley is a fantastic drummer, certainly not plain, but not over the top either and Eddie does his job nicely as a bassist. As a group, they work fantastically together.
Songs like "Deadbolt", "Kill Me Quickly", "The Beltsville Crucible" and "To Awake And Avenge The Dead," are fantastic and deserve to be in any music lovers collection. This music isn't easy going, but it is fantastic. It's my favourite album, and if your tastes are in this section of the rock market, then it will quite possibly become yours also.
The sound quality is also very good, something you don't ALWAYS recieve from underground record labels like SUB CITY but on "The Illusion Of Safety" the sound quality definately delivers.
Do your ears a favour and go and buy now! >_<
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awake and avenge the dead, 26 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Illusion Of Safety, The (Audio CD)
Just when you think thrice couldnt get any better they come up with this awsome record.
This record is unbelievable throughout from start to finish and has some tracks that truly blow your mind like deadbolt, see you in the shallows, to awake and avenge the dead etc. in my opinion dustins vocals and teppei's awsome riffs make this band one of the best, largely unknown bands i have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 17 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Illusion of Safety (Audio CD)
I first bought Artist in the ambulance which i thought was good. then i got this and was blown away. get this, it is awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's well good!, 31 Dec 2007
By 
J. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Illusion of Safety (Audio CD)
the illusion of safety is really raw, the production isn't amazing but it works, the riffs are quality and the breakdowns are heavy. For fans of anything from brand new to the dillinger escape plan. i thoroughly recommend it. The standout tune is deadbolt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection., 14 April 2004
By 
This review is from: Illusion Of Safety, The (Audio CD)
This is quite possibly the best album in my collection.It took me a while to get into it and on the first listen I simply heard a lot of noise (albeit very good noise). However, as I listened to it more I noticed the complexity and brilliance of the instrumental side of the music.. I also read the lyrics through and realised how amazingly intelligent and poetic they were. After I had appreciated these two factors I realised just how good what I was listening to was. The fact they donated a certain % of money from sales to charity only increased my pleasure of having bought this album.
My favourite songs on the album were, in no particular order:
- Deadbolt - Very fast, with the greatest intro to a song I've ever heard.
- Betrayal is a symptom - This is just a generally great song and the amazing guitars in the middle only make it better.
- In years to come - Superb lyrics here; "I want to take the bullet, the one aimed straight for your heart, I want to meet the wolves halfway and let them tear me apart".
- The Red Death - Superb chorus. Superb song.
Honestly, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrice- The Illusion of Safety, 8 Sep 2003
This review is from: Illusion Of Safety, The (Audio CD)
A classic emocore album..a must have for any fans or punk and hardcore. Thrice's second offering 'The Illusion of Safety' has definitely succeeded in making this fantastic band's name be remembered. The band mixes melody and aggression perfectly, each song creating a different mood. The guitar riffs are strong and cleverly managed and the lyrics are beautiful. The album includes my favourite 'Kill me quickly' and also the popular 'Deadbolt'. After listening to this album I assure you you will be pleased and completely impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illusion of Safety
The Illusion of Safety by Thrice (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews