Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£60.99+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2007
If you're a Final Fantasy fan, then by all means get Final Fantasy Anthology. These two Final Fantasy games are much better than the first two, with more interesting characters and storylines, though I feel that the crystals ruin the games; there's the dark knight Golbez attempting to get his hands on the crystals in Final Fantasy IV and the crystals shattering in Final Fantasy V.

Final Fantasy IV

This one is perhaps the hardest Final Fantasy to beat (this or Final Fantasy VIII. Final Fantasy VIII gets hard at the end, where this has constant boss fights, in which half of them are hard to beat, and when I say they're hard, I do mean HARD).

This one is the one that introduces the ATB (Active Time Battle) system. I heard rumours that this was also the first to introduce the summons, but I recently found out that it was actually Final Fantasy III that introduced the summons. This one is filled with many characters, who each have different job classes. There's the dark knight Cecil, who later becomes a Paladin. There's also the dragoon Kain, the summoner Rydia, the white mage Rosa and many more.

This also has two types of chocobo; the ordinary yellow ones, and the black ones (they for some reason appear purple in the game) that can fly, though they can't fly past mountains and can only land in forest areas. Lastly in this game, you can have up to five part members in battle, where in the other early Final Fantasies, you can only have four, but three in Final Fantasies VII, VIII and X.

This one has a very interesting storyline to it. It revolves around Cecil, who starts of as the captain of Baron's Red Wings, but demoted from his job, after questioning the king with regard to why he wants the crystals. He is soon tricked into attacking the nearby town of Mist and learns that by killing the mist dragon (also first boss fight of the game. One of the easy ones too), he killed the mother of a child (Rydia). It is then when Cecil decides to rebel against the king (Rydia joins him, though he has to gain her trust first). It is shortly after when he learns of his replacement Goblbez, who unlike Cecil is evil and the only person who can destroy him is a paladin, which Cecil eventually becomes. He and some other people (some he already knows) group together to stop Goblbez from claiming the crystals at all costs. Good game and fun to play. I must warn you it can be hard to beat. But if you can beat this, you can beat any Final Fantasy game.

Final Fantasy V

This one brings back the job class system, with lots more varieties than Final Fantasy 1. In the first Final Fantasy you could either be a warrior, a thief, a monk or a black or white or red mage. This one includes all of these plus loads more. You don't have the option of being any of these at first, but as you collect crystal shards, you gain different job options. Amongst the first lot is warrior, black and white mage, thief, monk and blue mage. You soon gain others like Red Mage, summoner, Geomancer (a warrior who can cross damaged floors without taking damage), sorcerer (someone who can do sword-magic) and many more.

You begin as a bare, a basic warrior, who can equip anything, and also the weakest, but once you master your warriors, than bare becomes the toughest. As you level up you permanetely gain abilities and the best part is you can equip one you've learnt when you switch jobs. EG. Once you've mastered the first level of black mage, you gain "Black 1", where you can cast level 1 black magic spells like Bolt, Fire and Ice. If you become a white mage afterwards, you (obviously) can cast spells such as cure. But equipping "Black 1" will also allow your party member to cast black magic spells. So your party member becomes a sort of red mage that way. Unfortunately you can only equip one, but as bare you can equip two. Again, this game has a black chocobo, which is exactly the same as the one in Final Fantasy IV, with the difference that it can fly over mountains, but not the white bits on them however. Lastly you only have five party members in total. You begin with Bartz, Reina, Faris and Galuf. Galuf is later on into the game replaced by his granddaughter Krile.

This game begins with the weakening of the wind crystal and the king of Tycoon travels to the wind shrine to investigate. A meteorite crashes and Reina (princess of Tycoon) is knocked out in the impact, having just left Tycoon castle to catch up with her father. Bartz catches a couple of goblins attempting to snatch her, but he rescues her. The two then meet an old man (Galuf), who has lost all memory but his desire to travel to the wind shrine. Bartz joins them in their quest there (Faris joins them on the way). When they reach the wind shrine, the wind crystal is shattered and the other three are in danger of shattering too. If they are all shattered then the world will come to an end, and it's later on when they learn that the shattering of all the crystals would also bring back the evil X-Death; something Bartz and the others have to stop at all costs.

Final Fantasy IV and V are excellent Final Fantasy games to play, which I highly recomend to all Final Fantasy fans. Buy this and enjoy.
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
So here we are. Two more classic Final Fantasy games re-released together, this time as Final Fantasy Anthology for the PSone. We have Final Fantasy IV that was first released on the SNES back in 1991, and Final Fantasy V that was released in 1992, also on the SNES. Here are the reviews for both games.

Final Fantasy IV

You play the role of Cecil, a dark knight who works for the king in Baron and is the commander of an airship army known as The Red Wings. Cecil is forced to turn traitor on his own homeland after the king starts sending him on some not-so-very-polite missions. Other characters in the game include Rosa, who is a white mage and girlfriend to Cecil, and Kain who is a dragoon and Cecil's childhood friend.

FFIV is the first game in the FF series to use an ATB (Active Time Battle) system. The system determines when a move is made during battles, depending on a character's speed stats and how long it takes you to give a command to a character, making for more intense and exciting battles. In FFIV you can have up to five characters in your party at any one time, unlike most FF games that only allow four.

Leveling up your characters is simple in that you just fight, gain EXP and buy new equipment from towns; and if a character can use magic they'll gradually learn new spells as their levels increase. But managing your equipment can be a bit of a chore. Other than the actual names themselves there are no descriptions for any armour or weapons you pick up, which leaves you guessing what they actually do. There are no comparible stats either, meaning that you have to equip and then remove gear just to see whether the stats are better or worse. Also your inventory is limited to twenty slots which only adds to the equipment management nightmare.

FFIV is said to be the most difficult FF game ever. I don't agree with this. I think there are tougher games in the series. But FFIV does provide a fair amount of challenge (mainly from the equipment issues) and is better suited to FF veterans.

Final Fantasy V

A king heads over to a wind shrine and witnesses the wind crystal shattering before his very eyes. Around the same time a meteorite crashes into the ground. These events bring together four people from different walks of life who have been chosen to save the world from an evil dude called X-Death. There's Bartz, a wondering traveler; Reina, a princess from castle Tycoon; Galuf, an old man suffering from amnesia; and Faris, a seemingly stereotype pirate.

FFV features the Job system. This system allows you to give characters different jobs, like a Knight or a Monk or a Black Mage. Each job has their pros and cons in stats, allows you to equip certain items where other jobs can't, and allows you to use certain spells, again where other jobs can't.

But wait, there's more. After a while battling with certain jobs you gain abilities, and these abilities can be equipped with other jobs. For example, if you equip the White magic ability to a Knight, you have a Knight who not only has high attack and defence stats but is able to cast white magic as well. This clever Job and Ability system allows for more flexibility in terms of battle strategy.

The best thing about FFV is that you never get that feeling of hopelessness. No matter how many times you get beaten in a boss fight there's always a way to get around the problem. Maybe your characters' stats aren't quite high enough and you need to fight a few more enemies on the world map; or maybe you have the wrong jobs equipped and you need to try different ones. Whatever, the point is you always have options.

Storylinewise FFV is better than FFIV. It's far more emotionally charged and the music (though old-sounding) matches the scenes really well. Despite this I still prefered the music and stories of Final Fantasy Origins (FF & FFII). Those games had lighter happier moments where as FFV has a fair number of depressing scenes.

So to the final scores. Final Fantasy IV has an annoying inventory, slow loading and saving times, but is still an enjoyable game. Four stars. Final Fantasy V has an overly emotional storyline, but also has a brilliant job system. Five stars. The graphics consist of the old-skool 2D pixilated stuff, but both games are still addictive and challenging, as you would come to expect from any Final Fantasy game. So overall this Anthology set deserves five stars.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
FF have always been good games so worth getting but not at the £300 that it is showing on here!!!!! you can buy a ps3 and download all the FF games on PSN for that and that does include 7 8 9 and 13-2
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2002
All the above reviews sing the praises of Final Fantasy 4 and 5 and they are totally justified in this. I personally have played FF 1-10 (unfortunately not tactics as I have been unable to get a copy) and I think that 4 (especially) 5 rank up there with the best of them.
For those of you whose only experience of the series has been on the Playstation, you really don't know what you are missing. The early games are up to par with the later ones and in many ways are better. Final Fantasy 4 and 5 both have involving stories and great gameplay (the job system in 5 is one of the highlights of the whole series).
But, whilst any RPG player worth their salt will gain much enjoyment from them, I wouldn't suggest them for everyone. If you are not really into the genre, then you may not have the perseverance to stick them through, as they have aged slightly since their release. In this case, you might want to go for a more modern and action oriented RPG, such as Baldur's Gate or the sublime Vagrant Story. Also, if you are into RPGs, but don't have FF6, then I would buy that first. Of all the FF games it is my second favourite and the sheer quality of its story and gameplay makes it the easiest introduction to the older games.
Anyway, 4 and 5 are both top games and you will have difficulty finding a better RPG for your money.
Finally, a word to certain fans of the series. Please will you stop putting FF7 down. Whilst 8-10 are not what they could have been, I rate 7 higher than any of the games in the series. It has (in my opinion) the most invloving story, encompasses the best environments and has better humour, narration and styling than any of the others. Also, Sephiroth would beat Kefka any day...
33 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
Well, it was hard to keep it under the 1,000 word limit but I managed. First off FFV is an extremely underrated game and we all know that FFVII is overrated, so I've given you an example of what I mean here. By underrated I mean that it gets no attention and when it does it is all bad and overrated means it gets heaps of attention and it is normally good. Don't take what I mean bad for fans of FFVII.
So here I go!
GAMEPLAY
First things first - the new ATB (active time battle) system is perfect and suits the mood of the game surprisingly well. More new features are spells and magic classes such as Time Magic and Blue Magic. And the final new instalment on the game is a smart and interesting job system that has been revived from the original FFIII.
Without the job system the gameplay would not be at such a high rating. Using the job system you can now create your own jobs! Simply learn abilities by gaining ABP in battle and that ability stays with the character who learnt it and can be equipped (without any cost) to make a new job or make a certain job more useful. This is an extremely addictive and fun part of the game by getting to know how the job system works you can make a White Mage be a master at both white and black magic. Or you can have a Mime be a master at mimicking, summon and time magic and mugging. The options are unlimited.
The game starts off slowly until you get the first jobs (which hold an important part in the plot of the game) then it boosts off and runs smoothly through.
As you follow the plot and go to new places your characters level up slowly and gain job abilities (generally) and start to master jobs. When each job is mastered some things (such as attributes, characteristics, and abilities) are automatically equipped to the weakest job in the game, Bare. Once you master all jobs the weakest job of the game becomes the strongest, having many abilities already equipped!
Apart from the near-perfect job system there is decent difficulty. Instead of having easy enemies and hard bosses (play the newer FF games for a great example) FFV has both an equal amount of easy and hard enemies, and it is the same with bosses. In almost every dungeon there are basic enemies who (with a critical hit) can take a quarter of HP from a party member. And the occasional strong-enemy of the dungeon will appear who can take half of HP off a party member with a normal attack and kill them with a critical! Thus, bringing strategy to the game.
-99%
PLOT & CHARACTERS
An extremely over-looked plot (which is really sad) - considering I'm not mentioning spoilers I can't say much. Four people are on a journey to stop the crystals from shattering, save the world, and stop Enuo's plan from being complete.
Character develop is rather low, and is FFV's weak point (all games have one). At the start of the game the characters seem to just meet up, and if it weren't for a later event in Moore Forest the game for me would really, really suck. All up, the Moore Forest saves this clearly making it higher than I make to think during the first sentence of this paragraph.
-94%
GRAPHICS
Graphics for me don't matter and I don't care. But considering other people do I will be gullible. For 1992 the graphics are honestly fairly bad. But during the end of the game they get noticeably better. Again, I don't rate on graphics.
-72%
LIFESPAN
Whoa! Saving the day for FFV is the Lifespan! There a plenty of other sub-quests and things to try and do such as complete all jobs, obtain all magics, play all pianos etc. etc.
Another thing that many people do is re-play the game using different job combinations and jobs. And like in all FF games with jobs you can try and complete the game with the whole party using only one job! So even if the game only lasts around twenty-five hours of plot play you'll be working for around fifty hours more to complete all jobs and get that pleasant LV 99!
Worth many times through.
-92%
OVERALL
Stunning... absolutely stunning! I think SQUARE made their best FF game when they made FFV. But if you have the time could you ask them for me, "Why did you have to start making bad games?"
-97%
xP
So that's that! I explained FFV but as for FFIV well, I thought it was kinda.... boring... I never played it really - so all 5 stars go to FFV!
Definetely worth the buy (just cause of FFV).
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2002
Well, just about every Final Fantasy fan will tell you that their favorite FF has got to be Seven. I can't say that I don't say this. But often, the FF fans rate Eight or Nine next. Where have they been?
True hardcore FF fans will have played the leendary Final Fantasy 4, 5, and 6. But here in the UK this has been almost impossible.
Squaresofts decision to release the three games in Britain has got to be one of the smartest. I have played 4 and 5 and I have to say that 5 rivals my top spot for Final Fantasy's, but then I've played 12 different ones.
I think all true fans should buy this and see what Final Fantasy is all about!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2003
As mentioned above these earlier Final Fantasy games are on a different level all together to the ones on the Playstation. The Generation raised on the Playstation editions will at first take sometime to get used to the difference in sound and graphic quality, however due to enhancements you'll barely notice after an hour or so. Playing the post Playstion Fantasys is in every way as enjoyable and involving as playing the later games, as each Fantasy, despite there age, have amazing soundtracks and storylines that will drag you in and involve you in the story just as much as it did for those who first started off with Final Fantasy 7.Personaly having played Fantasy's 1-10, i've got to say, and any true fan would agree, that each Fantasy is unique and amazing in its own way, whether it be for its atmosphere or characters. I would say though, don't simply buy the games for the sake of having the set to date, each must be played to conclusion and enjoyed to the end.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2003
I would definitely recommend getting these games if you are a fan of the other Final Fantasy titles. If you've not played any Final Fantasy games other than 7-10, then I would suggest getting FFVI before FFIV and V though.
All in all, great remakes of the Nintendo classics. A great purchase for any fan of the series. While not on par with Final Fantasy 7 (which some people put down in a futile and childish effort to make themselves appear more knowledgable in all things Final Fantasy, yet it is clearly the best in the series), they are still two great games that will enhance anyone's gaming collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2002
Everyone knows that Final Fantasy 7 was the best video game to hit the playstation, later Final Fantasy 8 and 9 both brilliant sequels earning the right to be called the best games. Final Fantasy 10 looks great and is coming out ont the ps2.
Many people may have forgotten, that Final Fantasy started out on nintendo consoles. Squaresoft has now after much hassle has made games prior to Final Fantasy 7 avalible on the playstation, with added video sequences.
Final Fantasy Anthology may hav outdated graphics but for all true Final Fantasy Fanatics it is a must buy game. For all those who have yet to enjoy the wonders of Final Fantasy,Where have you been!?!?! buy this game get a feel for it and then move on to the later games, i promise you will spend hours playing this game.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2004
Firstly I began playing FFIV. I really enjoyed this game as I found the characters to be very likable (I especially loved Rydia (a summoner) and Edge (a ninja)) and I found the storyline enjoyable, particularly the whole Cecil/Kain/Rosa story. (Not gonna say anymore on that because I don't want to spoil anything.) Usually when I play FF games it is the storyline rather than the other features which make me enjoy it more.
The gameplay is OK, I liked the way that at some times you could have five people in your party, although it didn't make battles any easier, it just gave you more to work with. I also liked the fact that if you wished you could have two players, sharing the gameplay between the two of you (which pleased my little brother!)
FFV however was completely different. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into this game... it seemed like a huge chore to complete it. Some of the characters were pretty cool, especially Faris (a pirate) and Reina (a princess) But to me, the main character, Bartz was pretty dull. The storyline was so-so, with the quest for the four crystals of earth, wind, fire and water. I was also a little disappointed that there were few playable characters in this game (only 5)
The gameplay was perhaps more enjoyable. I loved the whole 'job' setting, whereby you could actually choose whether you wanted a character to be a black mage, or a knight, or a chemist, or whatever you wanted and level them up within that job. (Kinda like the 'dress-spheres' in FFX-2)
All in all, FFIV was great but I found FFV to be disappointing.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)