Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest work of Post Modern Funk
Once again the pair that form Groove Armarda have delivered the goods in what can only be described as one of the best collections of post modern funk. That is given the very distinctive Groove sound....... the re-working of the Frank Sinatra classic, just brings you into the album before hitting you with classic after calssic... all in the style that the have very much...
Published on 5 Jun 2002

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts but not a classic!
I'm a massive GA fan and i think my views on this record are somewhat hampered by this fact, because this really isn't GA's sound. Some parts are excellent and there's some excellent songs, 'Fly me to the moon' and 'Al Green, Truth N Time' were the stand out tracks for me but it really didn't hit the spot. I was also not impressed by the mixing expecting a much more...
Published on 22 July 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest work of Post Modern Funk, 5 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Groove Armada (Audio CD)
Once again the pair that form Groove Armarda have delivered the goods in what can only be described as one of the best collections of post modern funk. That is given the very distinctive Groove sound....... the re-working of the Frank Sinatra classic, just brings you into the album before hitting you with classic after calssic... all in the style that the have very much made their own. All I can say is congratulations on creating an album that will very rarely leave the draw of my CD Player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Armada boys do it again!, 24 Dec 2003
This review is from: Another Late Night - Groove Armada (Audio CD)
Be warned, as with all of their previous albums you won't know what to expect. It takes a couple of plays of the album at first, but once the initial honeymoon period is over you definitely won't want to put this album down! From soulful 70's to modern day chill out, this has it all.
Groove Armada have once again managed to combine all the qualities that make for a truly enjoyable mix of enspiring music. You'll be proud to have this one in your CD collection....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one is a grower, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Groove Armada (Audio CD)
I got hold of 'Goodbye Country Hello Nightclub' and thought it was a bore, apart from the incredible 'Superstylin'. I dismissed Another late when I first heard it. But I dug it out again after a couple of months and I'm listening to it quite a lot. The songs are all very different but they mix smoothly. There are 18 tracks so theres bound to be some filler - but when its good its very good. tracks 5 thru 9 are good and I love the Al Green one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Late Night with Groove Armada, 8 Jun 2009
By 
This is another fine collection of late night listening that can be enjoyed at any time of the day. If you know the Late Night Tales series already, then you won't be disappointed by this instalment. If you are new to the pleasure of rifling through someone else's record collection without any effort, then this is as good a place to start as any. The Groove Armade boys show their 80's roots and for those of us old enough to have worn pixie boots and eyeliner the first time around, it is a little piece of nostalgia (but not in the tacky 'Reflex' vein) Should you be a little younger, then this is a great introduction to some killer tunes. Enjoy the relative silence with your electric friends; it's the things that dreams are made of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - so much variety, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Groove Armada (Audio CD)
This album is a real unique album for blending so many music styles on one CD. I would still call this a dance album but the songs on it all are so vibrant and offer a new viewpoint upon Groove Armada. The cover of "Fly Me to the Moon" sets it off very well and ends with a late night tale of an unusual story that really is a late night offering. I love this album and I own 6 Groove Armada albums. This doesnt have songs rammed of "At the River" kinda stuff but still is a chilled out cat on a disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mis-labeled, 13 July 2008
By 
Matthew L. Stewart "smatape" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
GA deliver again with an eclectic mix of soul, house and indie-tronika. loved it. Have one huge gripe, which will grate on me every time I listen to this mix - not only have GA mislabeled Electronic's 'Free Will' as 'Get the Message' but they also missed the most beautiful part of this nugget of a track, how could they not put Johnny Marr's absolutely gorgeous guitar solo in? A travesty. That aside a fine mix from GA, who just seem to go from strength to strength
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blinding effort, 9 Jun 2008
By 
Gary King "Gudge" (Adelaide) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Up there with the best of this series of compilations flows well from start to finish with some great memories and cutting edits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to the fold, 18 Mar 2008
By 
Adrian Hughes "Adie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a massive fan of th late night tales series. Groove armada are the first artists to be invited back for second showing and they deliver the goods again. Very eclectic but a nice flowing mix. Excellent mix of Midlake's Roscoe and wonderful Groove Armada version of the Gary Numan classic Are friends Electric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first Another Late Night, 4 Mar 2004
This review is from: Another Late Night - Groove Armada (Audio CD)
And it wont be my last. Azuli Records' excellent 'AnotherLateNight' compilation series has become renowned for the breadth and depth of late night listening material compiled by its guest contributors, and this set selected by downbeat dons Groove Armada is another excellent instalment thereof.
It begins with an exclusive instrumental cover version by the group themselves, things soon wander off on a windy path through deep house, downbeat, disco, hip-hop, soul, jazz and everything in between. It's a brilliant eclectic late night mish-mash of influences, obscurities and other cool bitsand pieces.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts but not a classic!, 22 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Groove Armada (Audio CD)
I'm a massive GA fan and i think my views on this record are somewhat hampered by this fact, because this really isn't GA's sound. Some parts are excellent and there's some excellent songs, 'Fly me to the moon' and 'Al Green, Truth N Time' were the stand out tracks for me but it really didn't hit the spot. I was also not impressed by the mixing expecting a much more free flowing album where here in parts its a little jumpy. If your looking for a compilation chill out album may i suggest 'Back to Mine' mixed by Faithless - a faultless album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Late Night - Groove Armada
Another Late Night - Groove Armada by Groove Armada (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews