Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars171
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.78+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2000
This is one of my favourite 80`s films. It`s a bit under-rated in my opinion. It`s got plenty to keep you interested, and great performances, from the co-stars Bryan Brown and especially Elisabeth Shue, playing Cruise`s girlfriend. It`s got some fanatastic scenes where Cruise and Brown, are doing tricks with the bottles behind the bar - if you ever wanted to be a barman watch this! A good soundtrack, and definitely worth buying.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
I originally purchased the rental of “Cocktail” (starring Tom Cruise) on April 11, 2014 to complement my purchases of two other movies starring Tom Cruise (Top Gun and Jerry Maguire). Tom Cruise stars as a former military veteran named Brian Flanagan who is determined to transition into a successful and prosperous man on a professional scale. Things do not initially go as planned in his job search and educational efforts. He bounces back through trying his hand at employment in a bar after initially making an impression on Dough Coughlin (played by Bryan Brown). Flanagan and Coughlin team up together in the bar and impress some of the most influential people in New York. What sets the tone for the movie is that Flanagan is serious about eventually opening his own business and encourages Coughlin to partner up with him. Obviously, I must avoid saying more to keep in mind those who have not seen the film. However,what also shapes Flanagan’s journey is when he unexpectedly falls in love with a woman who feels the same way about him.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
Movies have a way of glamourising even the most mundane of jobs. I have a friend who's been a bartender most of his working life and I know for sure he would write this film off as total fantasy. Tom Cruise delivers a typical trademark Cruise performance that is in my humble opinion vastly overshadowed by Bryan Brown who seems more of a natural on screen to me. I've always got the feeling from Cruise that he is acting whereas Brown you can almost believe is like that in real life. I'll admit I'm not a Cruise fan and this film makes him just about bearable for me. There are some classic lines here eg Cruise: "They all Hate me", Brown: "Wait till you've given them crabs, then you'll know real hate". At some point in the Jamaica scenes there is a total waste of expensive film footage on some of the longest kissing scenes I've ever scene. I presume this was put in as Cruise was at the peak of his heartthrob days but to me it's just annoying and I end up skipping through it to get back to the story. I do like this film because, as noted by somebody else "it makes you want to be a bartender". I refer you to my first and second sentence in this review. Despite its flaws it is without a doubt a classic with some great music, and some good escapism. I give it Four stars, without Cruise it would have been Five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
The ultimate Tom Cruise film. This has everything you expect from a Tom Cruise film and more. A young Cruise in a familiar role as a character who struggles to acheive a dream and surpasses insurmountable odds to make it. A dramatic surprise twist at the end to a great and inspriring ending. His character in Cocktail is a great follow up to his previous success at that time in Top Gun. Although more grounded in the real world and making it on the streets, a 1988 classic. 5 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
A great film a timeless classic that is still as good now as it was then when it first came out made all the better with the blu ray treatment. That said the picture could have done with a bit more tweaking but with a film this age it really don't matter. I watched it and some of the detail that shines through makes it seem like a new movie. I highly recommend this to anyone especially those of you who love a bit of nostalgia and are now In there mid 30s it'll take you right back
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
Brian heads to the big apple in search of fame and fortune by pushing cocktails onto the city's rich and beautiful. Besides his wonderfully cheesy ode to the cocktail at the swanky nightclub, the best scene is when Brian and Doug artfully toss liquer bottles to the tune of Robert Palmer's classic 'Addicted to Love'. Pure unadulterated 80s pleasure! Some might object to the movie's allusions to souless lifestyles motivated by the pursuit of money and gorgeous women, and this certainly parallels similar patterns in movies such as 'Pretty Woman' and 'Born Yesterday'. This is partly symptomatic of the era in which the film is set, so rather then hissing and booing at the movie's premise it is more realistic to regard its sentiments within context. Furthermore, ultimately just like Melaine Griffith's character in 'Working Girl', Brian rejects the lifestyle ex-business partner Doug succumbs to. 'Cocktail' flirts with serious topics such as alcoholism, over indulgence and the rich/poor divide however at heart it is a feel good movie about triumph over adversity and getting the girl! Make yourself an Old Fashioned, and sit back and enjoy a young and handsome Cruise. They just don't make movies like this anymore and although it is somewhat of a guilty pleasure, it is a pleasure none the less!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
As its got Tom Cruise in it, its bound to be good! I bought this as I have been reliving my youth a bit. Tom doesn't disappoint... well recommended, story line a little predictable toward the end but it does keep you watching. If you're a romantic you will enjoy this film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
Great film to watch if are in the need for some classic 80's nostalgia. Tom Cruise plays a cocktail waiter with all the great pick up lines. As with a lot of 80's films the story is predictable but hey the great music and bad hairdos make it a must see and a must own.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
A surprisingly watchable bubblegum drama charting the fortunes an enthusiastic young Wall Street hopeful who soon finds that his true talents lie behind 'three feet of mahogany'. Tom Cruise plays Brian Flannigan, who's dreams of success in New York lead him to dazzling heights of the cocktail bar circuit.
Considering 'Cocktail' was merely a vehicle in which Cruise could strut his stuff after the success 'Top Gun', this movie is actually very entertaining.
Brian Brown is superb as the fountain of bar-room wisdom who tempts Flannigan into the business, and Elizabeth Shue is stunning in a movie that can actually be watched time and time again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
Cocktail' is at best an average watch. A stereotypical affair.

Cruise plays a talented and ambitious bartender who aspires to working in business and finds love while working at a bar in Jamaica.

Cruise is fantastic throughout. He carries the film on his shoulders, and is the prime reason why this film doesn't bore. Bryan Brown's character & performance are top-notch. Elisabeth Shue is an everlasting beauty, and 'Cocktail' proves that fact once again. As far as her performance goes, she's natural to the core.

'Cocktail' is average work... watch it for Cruise, Shue & Brown's note-worthy performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)