Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars namco have done it again.
Tekken 4, the true sequel to tekken 3 has finally arrived. First off, this game looks great and very different from tekken tag or tekken 3. The character designs are a lot different(if only they had used anti ageing cream!) though still very good and all of the main characters are there including two new fighters.
As usuall with tekken, extra features come in the...
Published on 23 Sep 2002 by mike_trev

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!!!!
A new century of fighting the game says, I really hope not if this is now the standard we are going to receive, please don't get me wrong I am a huge fan of fighting games going all the way back to the original street fighter and had high hopes that Namco would correct the annoying problems that plagued Tekken Tag. In some ways they have, the backdrops are wonderful...
Published on 18 Sep 2002 by nyc-flc


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing update, 1 Nov 2002
By 
C. Wells "ex.one UK" (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tekken 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
We all know that Tekken is a fantastic beat 'em up franchise but this new update of the series has really not made much of an impression on me at all. It's hardly moved on since Tekken 3 at all.
Admittedly the graphics are lush and brilliantly animated but when I was playing it I felt this disturbing feeling of emptiness. There was absolutely nothing new to this game that I could find and nothing gripped me into this game.
Don't get me wrong, it IS a good game and for anyone who may be new to this series, you might want to start with this one, by all means. It's just as a follow-up it appears cold and soulless. It needed more attention to it to grab me and I'm a beat 'em up fan. It's not bad at all, it's very disappointing as a follow-up...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Virtua Fighter Pretender, 21 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. A. C. Smith (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tekken 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
As Virtua Fighter 4 and Tekken 4 were announced for the PS2, the comparisons could be made for the first time on the same console. One of the games evolved. One didn't.
Tekken 4 features little new features over other fighting games, aside from a tacky scrolling beat-em up that can be completed using two moves. As with the rest of the Tekken series, the main focus in the fight is how many stupidly complicated moves you can remember - it doesn't usually matter how they are used, as most will hit the opponent regardless of their positioning.
As per usual, the dull 3D fighter heavily relies on the story, which, whilst good, isn't enough to make you forget about the unfair fighting game. It has barely any learning curve, and is very short-lived.
Get Virtua Fighter 4 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken 4, 18 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tekken 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
in years long pasted came a fighting game called street fighter. it was new to us and set a standard. then a series for a sort time came through this was virtua fighter, the first beat'em'up to use polygons. but with the playsttion came a game to grace the human race a game still setting stadards for others, this was tekken!
its graphics were great the gameplay was great. in fact it was so great it hasn't changed once since its release. then came tekken 2 also as brillant.
but then came tekken 3 "...the mother of all fighting games...". it was then tekken tag, that was a sorry excuse fo a tekken game.
but now we have come to tekken 4. is this the grandmother of all fighing games or is it just another tekken tag.
Tekkn 4 is the true sequel to tekken 3 and it does a good job. all the charcters are here from Jin to Nina and another two new charcters have also shown up like the Vale tudo fighter Craig Marduk and the British boxer Steve Fox. both have there owe fighting styles and stories.
some say that the dead or alive series was just a shallow game. well tekken is anything but shallow. the story is great and the characters all have there own story for you to get involed with.
the game play is all there except jumping an ducking will be replaced with sidsteping. this is a great new feature and is really easy to get to grips with.
on top of this "tekken froce" mode is back and this time its 3D.
overall Tekken 4 is the best beatem'up soon to be and it beats all others hands down. it is not as shallow as dead or alive and is a lot more fun than virtua fighter 4
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 31 Jan 2003
This review is from: Tekken 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
I love Tekken.
I bought my PS2 system for the sole purpose of playing Tekken.
Tekken 3 was great and I absolutely loved Tekken Tag.
I am very dissapointed with Tekken 4.
Its very cartoonish in appearance as compared to its predecessors.
There are fewer players to choose from.
Only the new boxing character Steve is any good. He has some awesome moves and punches and is fun to play with. Jib Kazama with his new Karate moves is also stylish and graceful, but not powerful or fast. Hwoarang has a nice new military outfit but for some reason has become weaker than before and has the same moves as before. Christi (Eddies replacement) is dissapointing. Yoshimitsu is horrible. The story line movie sequences are nice and much better and fuller than ever before. But thats about it.
All in all, I am extremely dissapointed with Tekken 4.
I hope Tekken 5 is better or I'm switching to Mortal Kombat or Virtua Fighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars had more fun washing the care, 8 Oct 2004
This review is from: Tekken 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the worst, absolutly most terrible game i have ever, ever played. The graphics in the videos are pretty good but then are pathetic in the actual game. It actually tries to have a story line which is the biggest mistake that a arcade beat em up can do. pathetic sci fi backgrounds for the characters, things that a seven year old could come up with in just a few seconds. Tekken is suposed to be the best beat em up on the market but even the beat em up side to it just fails as much as the rest of it. Absurd levels of power,really powerful people that are so slow you never get a hit in, lightning fast characters that can do absaloutley no damage at all, and then theres the guy who can move as fast as any and knock you out in one punch. Where is the challenge?! i've been playin it for about 3 weeks now and the button bashability is so much i dont even know the controls! you don't need to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT A GREAT SUBSTITUTE FOR TEKKEN 3, 18 July 2004
By 
A Harrington "Racing Driver" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tekken 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is not a great substitute to TEKKEN 3. I have demos of this and TEKKEN 3. I can do the game but it has terrible gameplay. but nice graphics. Tekken 3's graphics are not that great because it's on PsOne but it has FAR better gameplay. Anyway it is a crapy game and is not worth buying and has only few characters from Tekken 3. Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tekken 4 (PS2)
Tekken 4 (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews