Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S THE CRITISISM?
This is the most breathtaking game I have ever seen. The graphics are out of this world, the soundtrack is fantastic, the gameplay is stunning. This game is not suited to us mortals.
You start off the game with an introduction battle, The 'last alliance'. After that, you play as aragorn at Amun Sol, protecting the pathetic Frodo from a 'cruel' death by the...
Published on 5 Mar 2003 by alaingray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Two Towers
I bought this game thinking it would be the same as the first. However, it was completely different with some things worse and others better. This is all down to the film licensing being given to the second game and onwards rather then from the beginning of the series.

Plot: You choose either Aragorn, Legolas or Gimli and guide them through 16 missions closely...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Borry


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two towers PS2 Game, 5 Jan 2003
By 
James Harrison (Ashton-in-Makerfield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
The Lord of the rings PS2 game is one of the best games I have ever played. The characters look extremely realistic and the videos shown throughout the game cleverly flip from game graphics to the movie clips and vice versa! The game has been changed slightly so you may do things in a different way than in the movie. Also the characters can do magical things(Like set people on fire with magical arrows) which is good fun, just a bit on the unrealistic side.
Altogether great fun, I recommend this game to any Lord of the Rings fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought it'd be, 21 Nov 2002
By 
Rob Collins "Bobby C" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
"How can they make a game of the films?" - you may ask. Well, I thought that too. The answer is that this game is 99% action-based. Most of the game has you fighting your way though enemies in battles from the books/films. Films is plural because the game is actually based on the first two films, despite the title.
The game's plot is very closely linked to the films. So closely linked, in fact, that the scenes from the movie blend to in-game graphics and back again as smooth as silk - very original. It's like the developers realised every kid's fantasy by letting them play their hero(es) as if they were in the film.
So what's it like to play? Well, initially it's very exciting. "Yeah, I'm Aragorn and I'm gonna kick some Orc ass". The controls are pretty simple, but there is scope for combos and special moves. You can use ranged weapons too, which comes in handy for the out-of-reach enemies.
This is all good fun to start with, but does get a bit tedious after a while. The camera doesn't help either, quite often there will be characters in front of yours so you can't really see what you're doing. Also, the computer-controlled 2nd hero is really just a gimmick - you do most of the enemy-bashing yourself. You can upgrade your characters after succesfully completing missions, but to be honest these upgrades don't make much difference.
If this game was anything other than LOTR, I would probably only give it 3 stars. However, the game is so successful at recreating the atmosphere of the films, that it just makes 4 stars - the graphics and sound are really superb. It's just a shame that the gameplay doesn't have more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sword slashin game, 11 Sep 2004
By 
D. Reynolds (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fantastic game. Ea games one. Play as Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli or Isiladour which you unlock after you complete it. Lets start with the grapics. Fantastic the graphics are. Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli all look very much like the film but one character you unlock, Isiladour is a bit dodgey with his graphics. There are many kinds of enemys in the films which have been captured in the game such as Goblins, Uruk Hai, Trolls and Ringwraiths which all look very realistic. You do see extra characters which you can't play as such as Gandalf, Frodo and Boromir and they all look very realistic aswell. When theres explosions etc in the game they somtimes don't look very real so overall the grapics equal a 8/10.
Audio.
The audio is a good as it could be because the characters in the film recorded their voices into the game. The orcs, trolls and ringwraiths sound very much like they do in the film. The explosions and other sounds all sound very good. Overall the audio is 10/10.
Gameplay.
There are 13 challenging different missions which go through weathertop, moria, amon hen, fangorn, rohan and helms deep. There is also the battle at the beggining of the fellowship (film) which you play as Isiladour but then have to do all the others with Aragorn, Legolas or Gimli. As you complete the levels your character's level will grow and you will earn experience points which you can use to buy upgrades. When you get your character to level 10 you can do the extra Tower of Orthanc mission which is quite hard. You go through 20 floors of orcs, trolls etc. Your character has a missile (bow and arrow) which you can also upgrade. Aragrorn has 30 arrows, Legolas 60 arrows and Gimli has 30 small axe kind of things. Overall the gamplay is 9/10. This game is aimed at people 10+ because some children below that age may find it too hard and confusing. There is alot more orcs to kill than in the fellowship because you do helms deep so its quite fun to slice em up. Overall a good game but just needed the finishing touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaaahhhh, Beautiful!!!, 25 April 2003
By 
Rob "Rob24" (Sydney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
I must admit, I am no expert as this is my first game on a PS2 I just bought this week but this game looks truly amazing. The graphics and sound are wonderful and it's quite simply a lot of fun.
If you liked the films, this is a logical extension of them with all the music, voices and action.
Level 3 and no regrets (except my inability to kill that pesky cave troll despite understanding the theory!!!), buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of all games!, 2 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers is a fantastic ps2 game, its better than The Fellowship Of The Ring by far.
For example the two towers has better graphics. There're four different characters to choose from, well, three until you complete the game. The three are Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli, then your fourth is Isildur.
You get points on each mission , the more points you earn, the more things you can purchase.With the characters you can purchase moves and upgrades to the weapons, e.g. Legolas can have meethril arrows and a move called Elrond's Gambit. After you complete certain levels you get to see interviews with the stars of the films, e.g. Viggo Mortensen and Orlando Bloom who play Aragorn and Legolas.There're cheats when you have completed the game with Isildur, those cheats are invincibility, maximum damage and slow motion.
This game is one of the best I have ever played on, a definite 5 out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked game, but is it to much?, 13 July 2003
By 
Liam Ginty (Worcester,England) - See all my reviews
I opened my Lord of the Rings two towers practictly jumping with exitement. It is a really good game once you get into it but it soon gets a bit boring. In Balin's Tomb you are involved in a mighty orc battle with is promply mayhem. All you do is fight, fight, fight and you don even know who you are killin! I think it is better than the first because you do not have to be Frodo all the time, but I would like a wider selction of characters. Maybe you could be Gandalf and cast wicked spells on orc and urakai, that would be totally cool. In the end I think this game is good but could be improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Like The Film., 20 Dec 2002
By 
Kris (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
Only a day previous to writing this, I bought the other game in the series ( The fellowship of the ring ) and, although I have hardly even started it, this one certainly seems to be better. For a start it has a lot more fighting. Unless I am mistaken, I thought that this game was based on both films, and, if so, what is the first? I remember something about taking some deeds to someone, and then taking the ring, but as I said, I haven't played hardly any. In this game, you get to pick one of three characters, and for each mission you complete, points are awarded. These can be used to buy upgrades for weapons and for a different combat style. I wish now that I didn't say this game was easy, because it isn't. I got used to the idea of letting the other two do all the work, and on the mission I'm on now, it looks as though I'm by myself. An excellent part of this is how the game changes from itself to the real film, and you can see how closely the two resemble each other. There are a range of weapons that the enemies have, but the best thing to do is simply block each one, and attack when they stop. You also have 'bosses' to content with, and guess what, you usually are by yourself. I thoroughly enjoyed this game, and even if you didn't like the first, I recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing game, but far to short., 13 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
I'll admit that the graphics, gameplay and sound are just amazing, but the lifespan is just poor. It took me one three and a half days to complete with all four characters! (Even the secret character)
The fighting in this is just amazing though, the AI of the enemies in most cases is very good, for example, if you just sit there parrying constantly, after a while the monsters will either trip you up, or kick you to the floor.
Not only is the AI good, the combo system is excellent. After you complete a successful combo, you get a rating in the bottom left of the screen, which is, fair, good, excellent or perfect. At the end of each level it adds up how many fairs, goods etc, you got during the level, and gives you some 'Upgrade Points'
After that it takes you onto a new screen, which lets you buy new combos with your Upgrade Points (You can also by better weapons, and improve your health). When your character reaches levels 2,3,4,6 and 8 he unlocks new combos to buy.
The music and sound effects are just superb! Most (If not all) of the music is taken from the film 'The fellowship of the Ring', and the sound effects are very realistic.
To be honest, it was quite disappointing how you can complete it in just 3/4 days, but still, the game is worth buying, and I would give it:
Graphics: 9/10
Music and Sounds: 9/10
Fighting: 10/10
Lifespan: 5/10
Note: The game also has footage from the film 'The Two Towers' which might spoil the film for you, although it doesn't show much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Feb 2003
By 
Jon (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
With the films being such a massive success, Peter Jacksons Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers game would have to be a work of art in itself to compete. And it is. The characters are freakishly realistic, the missions are beautifully designed and elaborate. I've completed the game but cannot stop playing. I notice something new every time i play, its amazing. A brilliant game, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of The Rings, Lord Of The Games?, 24 Jan 2003
By 
olly (Newcastle,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) (Video Game)
If you've seen the movie and you like it you'll love this. Its action packed and amazingly addictive.You can play with either Gimli, Legolas or Aragon. Gimli being best at close combat, Legolas best at long range and Aragon a good all rounder. The aim of the game being to protect cities and people and the last normal level being to protect the castle of Helms Deep.
I was addicted to this game, the only down side to me being the short lifespan what with some of the levels being very short. A great addition being that they have interviews with all the characters that took part in the game.
It was a great idea to bring in the buying of combos and equiptment. All in all a must have game and despite the reviews,in my eyes this could be more entertaining than Vice City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2)
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews