Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars44
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2013
Lauryn Hill can sing! She can rap! Lauryn Hill can play guitar all on her own without needing any accompaniment.

Stand up and take a bow Lauryn Hill.

I love your lyrics Lauren.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Amazing compilation however MTV has let is slightly down as far as the quality of the recording goes. Still recommend for those who enjoy avant-guarde gospel music :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
Lauren Hill bravely tells you some truths of the music industry and the world today and I think her lyrics are brilliant and very true. Love her!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 July 2005
This recording is a dramatic contrast to the groundbreaking 'Miseducation of Lauryn Hill' but still works dramatically well for me. These are all acoustic recordings, all written and produced by Lauryn Hill. The raw emotion and ways of communicating a message you get from listening to Lauryn is so rare it is such an amazing thing to experience. There are some very political messages on some of the songs but the way Lauryn communicates this always outstands me; her rhyming ability is truly genius and I really admire her honesty throughout these recordings.

My favourite moment from this CD had to be 'Just Like Water'; the melody, lyrics and guitar riff are truly soothing. You'll also find 'Mystery of Iniquity' here which was made famous by Kanye West when he sampled it on his hit 'All Falls Down'.

Being completely honest, it's a very hit or miss CD and if you are primarily looking for the kind of sounds you got from the Miseducation album, this is probably not for you. If you just love the sound of Lauryn's voice or are looking for some kind of spiritual guidance this album will work better for you.

If you're looking for newer studio recordings to emerge from Lauryn Hill there are three: 'Selah' from 'Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood' soundtrack, 'The Passion' from 'Passions of the Christ: Songs Inspired By' and most recently 'Lose Myself' from the 'Surf's Up' official soundtrack.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2002
Lauryn hill has produced a masterpiece which i think shee would find hard to surpass.the lessons continue from her previous hit,'Miseducation of Lauryn hill' her personal experience and her view of the world of today is beautifully transformed with the help of just her guitar and a wonderful voice.
I'll recommend this album to any music loving person and even those segregative of genre.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
there's quite a bit of talking explaining and introducing the songs which is ok the songs themselves are beautiful she's a great artist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Best lauryn hill album! A must buy
I absolutely love this album!
If your a fan of conscious music you will love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Love this - great unplugged session with Ms Hill. Listening to this makes you feel as though you are part of the audience,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Fabulous cd! only down side is the amount of talking in-between tracks. All in all a great buy and would recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Bought as a gift. I have my own copy previously. Very good album for all Lauren Hill fans...you will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)